Des Bishop dies (on stage) in Armagh

Started by Apple Top, June 08, 2008, 10:46:19 AM

QuoteThe man is definitely funny otherwise how can he sell out so many shows in Vicar Street every year?

That's one of the problems nowadays....people go to a show because they think it is the 'in' thing to do, whatever appears to be cool is what people will attend.  Selling out Vicar Street does not mean you are a great act, it just means that you are the 'in' thing at present.

Feck, when I read the title of the thread first at a glance, I thought he had died suddenly.

Quote from: balladmaker on June 09, 2008, 08:54:36 PM
QuoteThe man is definitely funny otherwise how can he sell out so many shows in Vicar Street every year?

That's one of the problems nowadays....people go to a show because they think it is the 'in' thing to do, whatever appears to be cool is what people will attend.  Selling out Vicar Street does not mean you are a great act, it just means that you are the 'in' thing at present.

Not that i'm saying this is necessarily the case here, but there's a saying that the simple are easily amused.

Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 09:20:33 PM

Not that i'm saying this is necessarily the case here, but there's a saying that the simple are easily amused.

Very true and it's regularly demonstrated on this board.

Apple Top

Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 09, 2008, 09:22:07 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2008, 09:20:33 PM

Very true and it's regularly demonstrated on this board.

For once I can agree.  ;)

mhacadoir

des bishop got a girl up on stage to video him doin that song, so that it could be put up on youtube. he was speaking about the irish language beforehand and how he wasnt sure whether to sing that song with a good amount of protestants there. he told the audience to look shocked and not to react, just to see what people online would say. lo and behold..........

when he left the stage after this he got a standing ovation. my brother was working at it and he was telling me about it on saturday night.

Leo

Feck, when I read the title of the thread first at a glance, I thought he had died suddenly.

Agree. The lack of genuine talent comedy in Ireland means that tools like Jason Byrne (unfunniest man ever to walk on stage outside of a DUP rally), Neil Delamere, etc. get over-hyped for (mainly Dublin) gigs and local promoters think they must be good and book them to venues where they always die. Bishop is only slightly better than some of them but most are sh**te and I wouldnt take a free ticket for any of them But hey look, that's only me and these people are on TV so they must be good!
Fierce tame altogether

Whatever lads comedy is probably the most subjective thing in the world. You just have to look at Roy Chubby Brown. To me he's the most unfunny, racist and vulgar character on the planet yet he is able to sellout plenty of places.

I agree with Jason Byrne as in I don't find him funny at all either "Ah I'm mad I might call you a name there down in the front row because I'm so mad". I find Neil Delamere and Andrew Maxwell extremely funny though.

To each his own I guess.

Star Spangler

Maxwell and Bishop are out there on their own with a big gap back to the rest imo. 

Jason Byrne is a comedian??  I often wondered about that.

I would have them ordered like this...

Tiernan
Moran
Bishop
O'Briain
Maxwell
Delamere
Murphy
O'Kane (Jake not Deirdre... a funny woman? Not too many about!)

These would be the comedians I would watch. If I got offered to see anyone else it would be a no! (Ed Byrne's a smug wee yellow teethed git which is why he's not in there)

Candyman

Quote from: screenexile on June 10, 2008, 10:08:24 AM
Whatever lads comedy is probably the most subjective thing in the world. You just have to look at Roy Chubby Brown. To me he's the most unfunny, racist and vulgar character on the planet yet he is able to sellout plenty of places.

I agree with Jason Byrne as in I don't find him funny at all either "Ah I'm mad I might call you a name there down in the front row because I'm so mad". I find Neil Delamere and Andrew Maxwell extremely funny though.
To each his own I guess.

Totally agree....

Maxwell and Bishop aren't bad but not as funny as Neil Delamere and Colin Murphy. Jason Byrne is almost as funny as Tommy Tiernan, which is not a lot at all. For comedians them two take themselves way to seriously.

dodo

For me Delamere is good, Maxwell is hit and miss, Tommy Tiernan can be great at times. Not gone on either of the Byrnes ( Jason and Ed). Biggest pain of the lot is that Colin Murphy, not funny and arrogant to boot.

One man's comic is another mans fake.

Bishop looks more himself, I don't know if he is a good comic, a smart lad or even a likable lad but he looks "normal"  whereas most other comics are trying their best to be somebody else with varying degrees of funnyness.

I dont find Tommy Tiernan the slightest bit funny.

there, I've said it.

I saw your man Maxwell doing a show the other week called Conflict Revolution or something like that where he did a gig on the Shankhill and Falls Rds on the same night. It was about as funny as cancer.