GPA - The Player

Started by AZOffaly, May 28, 2008, 01:55:27 PM

As most of ye know, I'm not one of the GPA's biggest fans. My opinion on them is that they have done good things in terms of focussing the mind on player welfare in the bad old days, while I am, at the same time, deeply suspicious of the motives regarding financial compensation for their members.

Having said all that, I took a look at their 'official' magazine (The Player) which was free with the Independent today, and I have to say it is very good, and a credit to them. Of course there are several references to 'professional preparation', 'financial burdens', etc etc, which is to be expected, but when you accept that they are always going to emphasise that aspect, the magazine itself is very interesting, well written, and I'd imagine it's very practical and useful for GAA players, GPA or not.

So, to the Executive Editor (a Mr. D. Farrell :D), I say well done on this magazine. It raises my opinion of the GPA.

If you are interested, the contents are :

Advertisement/Features related to sponsored initiatives endorsed by the GPA or GPA members, such as Show Racism the Red Card, Opel's Kit promotion, The La Manga golf charity event and a team 'weekend away' company being run by Ronan O'Connor from South Kerry.

Article espousing the benefits of eating fish, and the health advantages thereof.

Article explaining the benefits of a tailored conditioning program, specifically for GAA players, with example sessions.

Article regarding a GPA initiative to 'pair up' a weaker county in hurling with a stronger one, allowing the weaker teams to learn about methods, skills etc from the stronger one. It looks very interesting, and Sligo have been paired with Offaly, so I hope we learn a lot from them :D

Article regarding the benefits of Iron in a balanced diet, complemented by rest, to help combat Chronic Fatique in young footballers.

Brian Corcoran's 3 young lads to watch in hurling. (Joe Canning, John Lee and Paudi O'Sullivan)

Article regarding proper preparation for a Job interview, aimed towards GAA players, and advocating the GPA's partnership with the Communcations Clinic

Liam Hasset's 3 young lads to watch in football. (Daniel Goulding, Tom Parsons, Diarmuid Connolly)

Interview with Padraig Harrington, and his GAA roots. (Lots of 'I don't know how they do it', and 'I can't believe they are out of pocket' soundbites)

An article by 'Dr. Tim Butler', who I presume is some sort of horticulturalist or grounds expert, on the problems of poor playing surfaces and how clubs and counties could improve the quality of their pitches.

Feature about CLub Energise Ad, featuring Ken McGrath, Damien Hayes, Pa Cronin, Cha Fitzpatrick, Alan Brogan, Declan O'Sullivan, Conor Gormley and Tommy Freeman.

Advertisement feature about a residential training camp for boys and girls up to 16, run by Dermot McCardle.

A feature about the Sports Surgery Clinic, and Ray Moran the orthopaedic surgeon.

An article about Wii - Fit.

An article about Shane Wakelin about Grassroots, Aussie Rules style.

A feature on good and bad DVDs for rent.

An interesting feature by Dr. Liam Hennessy on reducing training in the run up to games. Peaking at the right time essentially.

as I say, I found it very interesting and very appropriate to their audience. Fair play.

Ive read a few copies of it and it is for the most part, very good

Seen the last few issues with the Independant. Always well presented, well written and a great variety on stories. Especially like their stories on Irish sports personalitiles like Padraig Harrington, Denis Leamy and so on and their thoughts on the GAA and experiences from the past as players, especially their reasons for often drifting away from the games. Awful lot of fitness/dietary/injury advice.
Has to be said it loks very professional.
Did anyone notice the Patron Programmes 2008?
Companies can sign up for the Gold Star programme for 25,000 quid for the year. Gets you four full page adverts in the magazine, two player appearances for promotional events, VIP seat at Gaelic Player Awards night, signed team of the year jersey, the right to use the GPA logo on any promotional material, access to GPA membership and branding space on GPA website. Good value?

Very good point Offaly.
Read through it quickly myself earlier and brought it home with me. Very well presented overall and clearly focussed articles. The one on periodised training was very impressive.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 28, 2008, 01:55:27 PM
Article regarding a GPA initiative to 'pair up' a weaker county in hurling with a stronger one, allowing the weaker teams to learn about methods, skills etc from the stronger one. It looks very interesting, and Sligo have been paired with Offaly, so I hope we learn a lot from them :D

Dessie Farrell will be talking to Des Cahill about this on Radio 1, 18:30.

Bought the indo just because saw the free gaa magazine banner on the top

No mention of the gpa until i got on the train!

Though the Wakelin interview was very good, always like to hear how the lads are doing down there

There was/is a definite problem with players being exploited - eg them getting a few quid for being seen with club energise, when to get that kind of publicity should cost thousands. There was a need to tighten the whole thing up, and at least this seems to be some regulation. I'm no expert in this field, but if you ask me e25,000 is still too little. Advertising and publicity costs big bucks. But then again, there is the fact that supporting the GPA can be divisive ie it could turn away as much custom as it brings in. If it was an official GAA thing, I'd expect twice that.