Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

J70

It wasn't a foot block. McBrearty should have done much better though. He had all the time in the world and also the option of squaring it.

gallsman

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on June 15, 2025, 10:33:03 PMWhat makes it not a foot block?

McBrearty is not prevented from kicking the ball. The foot block rule refers to blocking or attempting to block a player from kicking the ball from the hand. It's about blocking the kick, not blocking the ball.

trileacman

Quote from: gallsman on June 15, 2025, 10:39:13 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on June 15, 2025, 10:33:03 PMWhat makes it not a foot block?

McBrearty is not prevented from kicking the ball. The foot block rule refers to blocking or attempting to block a player from kicking the ball from the hand. It's about blocking the kick, not blocking the ball.

As said earlier, there must be some foot to foot contact or potential for foot to foot contact for it to be a foul. Reape blocks the ball with his foot but there's no potential for Paddy to lash the ball and break his foot off Reape.
Fantasy Rugby World Cup Champion 2011,
Fantasy 6 Nations Champion 2014

theticklemister

Here's one......

A ref blows a whistle, and realizes it's a mistake. For example, blows a free thinking the fella was inside the arc and received the ball from a kickout, but he was wrong and he was outside. He realizes his mistake and tells everyone he made a mistake.

He still gives the free against the team because he said he made a decision and has to stick to it.

Is this correct?

Stickittotheman

Quote from: trileacman on June 10, 2025, 11:38:12 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 10, 2025, 03:42:56 PM
Quote from: trileacman on June 10, 2025, 02:29:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 10, 2025, 10:26:50 AMCan't captains talk to Refs?

It simply doesn't work in GAA. It's fine in Rugby where the vast majority of the players are along the scrimmage line and so a captain is usually only a few metres away from any infringement. Plus restarts in Rugby take far longer to organise such a scrums or penalties so captains have time to approach refs and make their case or enquire as to foul.

The idea that after a foul the fullback would run out to MF or half-forward line and ask the captain to come in and ask the referee what the foul was for is ridiculous. It's a rule that looks o so clever on paper, in reality it's just bollocks.
Surely any decent ref will let any player ask the question, as long as it's done respectfully obviously, would need to be some p***k of a ref to enforce that rule to the letter. Haven't seen it myself thankfully, most refs don't care who asks unless they're getting roared at, in which case move the ball as far as you like.

There's enough rules in the book that are routinely ignored by all of us without adding more of them. It's 2025 FFS.

Quote• Teams will nominate a designated player (i.e. captain or his deputy) for the purpose of seeking clarification of a decision made by the referee.

That's the official wording of the rule. So it either has to be enforced or ignored, neither is a proper solution.


I never understood giving lip to the ref. The decision is not going to change because you are throwing a Hissy fit.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: theticklemister on June 16, 2025, 08:15:06 PMHere's one......

A ref blows a whistle, and realizes it's a mistake. For example, blows a free thinking the fella was inside the arc and received the ball from a kickout, but he was wrong and he was outside. He realizes his mistake and tells everyone he made a mistake.

He still gives the free against the team because he said he made a decision and has to stick to it.

Is this correct?

Yes and no

Common sense tells the ref to get the keeper to retake the the kick or give a hop ball.. but if a ref has indicated a free and given it, then by rule book must carry on..

Different if the ref blows for an obvious free for one team and mistakenly raises hand the other way, but waves it back straight away
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Smokin Joe

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2025, 08:21:42 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 16, 2025, 08:15:06 PMHere's one......

A ref blows a whistle, and realizes it's a mistake. For example, blows a free thinking the fella was inside the arc and received the ball from a kickout, but he was wrong and he was outside. He realizes his mistake and tells everyone he made a mistake.

He still gives the free against the team because he said he made a decision and has to stick to it.

Is this correct?

Yes and no

Common sense tells the ref to get the keeper to retake the the kick or give a hop ball.. but if a ref has indicated a free and given it, then by rule book must carry on..

Different if the ref blows for an obvious free for one team and mistakenly raises hand the other way, but waves it back straight away

2023 All Ireland final Kerry are in possession and the ref gave a free to Kerry on the 14 for off the ball fouling on Clifford.
He went in and spoke to the umpire, and he then changed his mind and instead hopped the ball after yellow carding both him and Fitzsimmons.  As always, I guess the application of the rules are up to the ref on any given day.


Armagh18

Quote from: Smokin Joe on June 16, 2025, 10:45:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2025, 08:21:42 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 16, 2025, 08:15:06 PMHere's one......

A ref blows a whistle, and realizes it's a mistake. For example, blows a free thinking the fella was inside the arc and received the ball from a kickout, but he was wrong and he was outside. He realizes his mistake and tells everyone he made a mistake.

He still gives the free against the team because he said he made a decision and has to stick to it.

Is this correct?

Yes and no

Common sense tells the ref to get the keeper to retake the the kick or give a hop ball.. but if a ref has indicated a free and given it, then by rule book must carry on..

Different if the ref blows for an obvious free for one team and mistakenly raises hand the other way, but waves it back straight away

2023 All Ireland final Kerry are in possession and the ref gave a free to Kerry on the 14 for off the ball fouling on Clifford.
He went in and spoke to the umpire, and he then changed his mind and instead hopped the ball after yellow carding both him and Fitzsimmons.  As always, I guess the application of the rules are up to the ref on any given day.

 
I'd rather a ref did that and hold his hands up and admit he was wrong as follow a daft rule like not being able to change his mind.

blanketattack

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 16, 2025, 11:10:50 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on June 16, 2025, 10:45:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2025, 08:21:42 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 16, 2025, 08:15:06 PMHere's one......

A ref blows a whistle, and realizes it's a mistake. For example, blows a free thinking the fella was inside the arc and received the ball from a kickout, but he was wrong and he was outside. He realizes his mistake and tells everyone he made a mistake.

He still gives the free against the team because he said he made a decision and has to stick to it.

Is this correct?

Yes and no

Common sense tells the ref to get the keeper to retake the the kick or give a hop ball.. but if a ref has indicated a free and given it, then by rule book must carry on..

Different if the ref blows for an obvious free for one team and mistakenly raises hand the other way, but waves it back straight away

2023 All Ireland final Kerry are in possession and the ref gave a free to Kerry on the 14 for off the ball fouling on Clifford.
He went in and spoke to the umpire, and he then changed his mind and instead hopped the ball after yellow carding both him and Fitzsimmons.  As always, I guess the application of the rules are up to the ref on any given day.

 
I'd rather a ref did that and hold his hands up and admit he was wrong as follow a daft rule like not being able to change his mind.

Seems to have sorted things out. Coached the London hurlers who ended up winning the Christy Ring Cut.
Is also a scratch golfer.

Lamps

Quote from: Smokin Joe on June 16, 2025, 10:45:51 PM2023 All Ireland final Kerry are in possession and the ref gave a free to Kerry on the 14 for off the ball fouling on Clifford.
He went in and spoke to the umpire, and he then changed his mind and instead hopped the ball after yellow carding both him and Fitzsimmons.  As always, I guess the application of the rules are up to the ref on any given day.
Usually it's the other way around. The referee accidentally whistles against Clifford, realises his mistake and sends off the other fella.

David McKeown

Quote from: trileacman on June 15, 2025, 10:41:35 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 15, 2025, 10:39:13 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on June 15, 2025, 10:33:03 PMWhat makes it not a foot block?

McBrearty is not prevented from kicking the ball. The foot block rule refers to blocking or attempting to block a player from kicking the ball from the hand. It's about blocking the kick, not blocking the ball.

As said earlier, there must be some foot to foot contact or potential for foot to foot contact for it to be a foul. Reape blocks the ball with his foot but there's no potential for Paddy to lash the ball and break his foot off Reape.

The rule seems to change subtly on a regular basis. When I was involved many years ago the rule was to block or attempt to block, with the foot, a ball kick from the hand.

Now it's To block or attempt to block with the boot when the opponent is kicking the ball from the hand.

Of course the rule book doesn't define block but it does refer to blocking free kicks and that's an offence. So if you're applying consistency you could make an argument that is a block with the boot. He wasn't trying to control the ball he was trying to block it.

That said very little is applied consistently so I can understand why those aren't given.
2022 Allianz League Prediction Competition Winner

GTP

50n penalty gone for the midfield mark, will insread be a free, from a harsh punishment to an incentive to foul and slow the game down.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: GTP on Today at 07:14:26 PM50n penalty gone for the midfield mark, will insread be a free, from a harsh punishment to an incentive to foul and slow the game down.

Can you still move it 13 meters though? As per old rule?

Asking for a friend...
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

tyrone08

Quote from: GTP on Today at 07:14:26 PM50n penalty gone for the midfield mark, will insread be a free, from a harsh punishment to an incentive to foul and slow the game down.

I prefer the 50m free rather than the new free. You will see some amount of fouls now slowing the game down

thewobbler

Quote from: tyrone08 on Today at 07:45:11 PM
Quote from: GTP on Today at 07:14:26 PM50n penalty gone for the midfield mark, will insread be a free, from a harsh punishment to an incentive to foul and slow the game down.

I prefer the 50m free rather than the new free. You will see some amount of fouls now slowing the game down

Sort of.

With tap and go in place, the slow-them-down foul is more difficult than before. Go too easy, and they're getting 8 steps unopposed, go to hard and it's a card.