FAO Laoislad or any elecie techies

Started by Bud Wiser, December 17, 2007, 11:21:16 PM

Anyone in the elec game know anything about the newest thing we will be swarmed with in 2008 in the form of white light from LED's and already used in CCTV cameras to replace the Infrared yokes.  My own research tells me that we will have no more light bills other than little ones and the traditional bulbs and downlights that turn the meter wheel faster than Peter Canavan will be a thing of the past.

Anyone used them or tried them as I believe you can get them in corresponding watts to light any room?

Aye, and the come with a ten year or nearly lifetime guarantee and work off 12V DC

Yeah i have seen them and installed them in a few places,Actually used them myself in two outside spotlights i have..
I know they are expensive enough to buy though

The one in the pic above is only 14 euro.  I am doing structural cabling now that I am back at work and I buy a lot of tools and bits and bobs from Glen Agencies and d'other day I bought a head lamp, the yoke that you wear like a miner, or if you were going around down home in Laois at night looking for medals, the thing you wear working on a panel in the dark. Anyway, it had seven little white led's worked from three little batteries and be jaysus you could pick locks from Dublin to Cork with it and it would still light up a room.

I have downlights in the kitchen and they keep blowing with a big bang every other week, and from the heat from them I'd say they are spinning the meter on me fairly fast.  These yokes are supposed to last for years. 

Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 17, 2007, 11:31:59 PM
The one in the pic above is only 14 euro.  I am doing structural cabling now that I am back at work and I buy a lot of tools and bits and bobs from Glen Agencies and d'other day I bought a head lamp, the yoke that you wear like a miner, or if you were going around down home in Laois at night looking for medals, the thing you wear working on a panel in the dark. Anyway, it had seven little white led's worked from three little batteries and be jaysus you could pick locks from Dublin to Cork with it and it would still light up a room.

I have downlights in the kitchen and they keep blowing with a big bang every other week, and from the heat from them I'd say they are spinning the meter on me fairly fast.  These yokes are supposed to last for years. 

€14 euro is dear enough the ordinary 50watt halogen are only €1
Are they 220v downlights you have or the transformer type ones? If there the transformers ones then throw them out and get 220v

No, they are 220V's.

I'm too lazy to do the figures but it takes six of them to light the kitchen so at 60 watts thats 360 watts and they are burning away from 4pm and all night so my little white lights would pay for themselves in no time at all, or , am I gone cuckoo altogether?  I think I will mail order a few of them, shur if they are no use I can connect them to a car battery and use them for poaching the salmon over the weekend!

Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 17, 2007, 11:41:18 PM
No, they are 220V's.

I'm too lazy to do the figures but it takes six of them to light the kitchen so at 60 watts thats 360 watts and they are burning away from 4pm and all night so my little white lights would pay for themselves in no time at all, or , am I gone cuckoo altogether?  I think I will mail order a few of them, shur if they are no use I can connect them to a car battery and use them for poaching the salmon over the weekend!

Stay away from the Erkina!

Got one of these types up in woodies 2 weeks ago, f**king unless ,would of been better of lighting a candle .

LL how does yours compare to standard bulbs. Could you replace them all with these if cost wasnt an issue , also was the colour tone like , the one i got had a bluey hue to it .

Speaking of halogen bulbs, have recessed lighting in my gaff, transformer at every bulb. Bought a 20W pack in B&Q hungover one day and the kitchen now resembles a disco as the lights are flashing intermittently. Think the original bulbs were 50W, what would the reason for this be???

The dimmer is also gone in the living room (just on and off working), do I have to replace the whole switch or is there a specific part I need to buy???

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 19, 2007, 11:38:29 AM
Speaking of halogen bulbs, have recessed lighting in my gaff, transformer at every bulb. Bought a 20W pack in B&Q hungover one day and the kitchen now resembles a disco as the lights are flashing intermittently. Think the original bulbs were 50W, what would the reason for this be???

The dimmer is also gone in the living room (just on and off working), do I have to replace the whole switch or is there a specific part I need to buy???
it sounds llike the bulbs are over loading your tansformers in the kitchen,change them back or you will burn out the trafos. As for the dimmer switch,the complete unit has to be changed. You shuold buy MK Logic or Logic plus, they are a bit more expensive but are well worth it in the long run especially if you are switching a large load.

Back to the White Light issue,  just found thuis article and this boyo was able to produce a light twice as strong as a 60w bulb from 1 L.E.D. !

I would not mind the fact that the one bought in Woodies doesn't work, Toshiba are supposed to launch millions of them into the market.

Does anyone know a lighting shop where a man can buy them. Fifty years without changing a bulb, twice the light and 80% cheaper appeals to me anyway.

http://www.theinquirer.net/en/inquirer/news/2005/10/24/real-white-light-led-discovered

Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on December 19, 2007, 12:42:33 PM

it sounds llike the bulbs are over loading your tansformers in the kitchen,change them back or you will burn out the trafos. As for the dimmer switch,the complete unit has to be changed. You shuold buy MK Logic or Logic plus, they are a bit more expensive but are well worth it in the long run especially if you are switching a large load.

Thanks. Forgot to say, another bulb isn't working, have replaced the cable connecting to the transformer to no avail. Is it likely the transformer has burnt out & needs replacing? No real access to it apart from the hole for the bulb...

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 20, 2007, 01:41:07 PM

Thanks. Forgot to say, another bulb isn't working, have replaced the cable connecting to the transformer to no avail. Is it likely the transformer has burnt out & needs replacing? No real access to it apart from the hole for the bulb...

The whole fitting should clip out of the ceiling,If i was you though i'd replace them all with 220v downlights

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2007, 06:59:35 PM

The whole fitting should clip out of the ceiling,If i was you though i'd replace them all with 220v downlights

Is it a simple matter of removing the transformers and connecting the supply straight to these 220v downlights? Is there one specifically for dimmers or do they come as standard???

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 21, 2007, 11:56:10 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 20, 2007, 06:59:35 PM

Is it a simple matter of removing the transformers and connecting the supply straight to these 220v downlights? Is there one specifically for dimmers or do they come as standard???

Yep its as easy as that! And all  GU10 bulbs(220v downlighters bulbs) can be put thru a dimmer switch as far as i know