Loch Garman v Longfort - Div 3 Rd 1

Started by Model Hammer, January 29, 2008, 12:38:04 PM

Model Hammer

Well it's back down to Earth for the Wexford footballers after a few heady years flirting with the big boys at the top end of the National League. It was depressing to say the least to be relegated based on "scores for" after beating Meath by 7 points on the last day when we needed 8.

But in reality there's not much between the teams in Div 2 and Div 3, and looking thru our league fixtures, no game looks particularly easy, least of all this weekend's outing ...

O'Byrne Cup Finalists Longford come to Wexford Park first. The last few encounters were in New Ross so at least our guests will see a nice ground for a change.

I'm glad of the home fixture for openers, but I'd be a bit afraid of the opposition. Ideally, Longford would have been coming as O'Byrne Cup Champions, in which case I would have fancied us to bring them down to Earth. As it happens I imagine they'll be treating this weekend's fixture a bit more seriously than the Final. I'm sure Longford people remember only too well the excitement and delirium that gripped the county with their previous O'Byrne Cup title when they beat Westmeath in Mullingar. It wasn't exactly followed by any notable league or championship glory ....

The extra couple of games will have helped Longford, especially considering the quality of opposition they have overcome. Wexford's build-up has been quiet, and there's still some experimentation to be done at least in the early phases of the league. The spirit is good though, and initial scepticism about Jason Ryan's appointment seems to have abated and the early indications are of a happy camp.

But who's going to keep tabs on Brian Kavanagh? Nobody springs immediately to mind, and I think we'll have to try to cut out the supply. Our midfield is a work in progress and I don't expect to dominate there.

So it could be a high-scoring game, and Wexford Park in Februaury usually means a vicious wind blowing toward the town goal. Whoever makes the most of it will probably win.

Defeat would not be disastrous for either team, but Wexford will be only too aware of the potential consequences of an opening day defeat, after last year's fiasco in Dungarvan. Hopefully that'll be enough of a spur, and maybe one or two Longfordians might spare themselves a bit for the telly on Saturday-week  :)

QuoteI'm sure Longford people remember only too well the excitement and delirium that gripped the county with their previous O'Byrne Cup title when they beat Westmeath in Mullingar.

It's always nice to win something (apparently) and the win wouldn't have been as 'popular' had it not been for the opposition.  I think we've better forwards now than we had then, and I'm pretty confident our middle third is a lot better.  The fullback line, however, is another day's work.  A close game, with not more than a point or two in it, I'd be thinking.

True, I do remember some God-awful trips to New Ross.

Model Hammer

Longford include newcomers
30 January 2008
From HoganStand:

The Longford team to face Wexford in the first game of the NFL Division 3 includes a number of players new to league action.

The three Farrell brothers from Colmcille start their first league game together having impressed during the O'Byrne Cup, while Sean Connollys man Paddy McDonnell at corner back and Longford Slashers corner forward Stephen Phillips will also make their league debuts.

Longford (NFL v Wexford)- Damien Sheridan, Dermot Brady, Diarmuid Masterson, Paddy McDonnell, Shane Mulligan, Arthur O'Connor, Noel Farrell, Liam Keenan (capt), Enda Farrell, Declan Farrell, Paul Barden, Paddy Dowd, Stephen Phillips, Brian Kavanagh, Frankie McGee.

-----

Our ever-present CHB David Murphy is unavailable, so Brian Malone will probably move from the Full Back Line to face the arduous task of marking Paul Barden. Malone is a fine young footballer, but this will be a serious test for him. I've no idea who will be at no. 3 for Wexford. Again Philip Wallace has been ever-present for the last few years, but a few new lads have been tried there this year, and again, I don't see anyone who I would be confident could do a job on Kavanagh.

So we're going to have to kick a lot of scores at the other end!

North Longford

Pretty much the Longford team that played the last O Byrne cup match with the only addition being Paul Barden who is just back after a knee op so may not be at full tilt yet.
Glad Paddy McDonnell is getting another chance as he was very good against DCU.
Not so sure about Stephen Philiips. Not overly impressed the last day and if the conditions are poor he's a bit lightweight I think, although there is lots of running in him. Not sure if he'll over trouble the scoreboard.
Intersting to see how Enda Farrell gets on in the midlle in his first real competive game. Has been going well so far and hopefully can keep it up. A serious man to cover ground for his size.
Not overly confident as I know little about Wexford under the new man but they have been a step above us for the past few years.

Not sure O'Connor at CHB is the best option available, though I suppose he will bring experience - I'd hope Noel Farrell will be there when Declan Reilly is fit.

I dunno about Philips either - Slashers' best forward is young Smith, is he not getting a run yet, he was very impressive in the County Semi-Final.

The forwards have an uneven look about them - the shape's all wrong.  Farrell's a FF, placed here on the 40, and Paddy Dowd's a midfielder.  Unless the plan's to evacuate the 40 to leave a lot of space for Kavanagh and McGee, and for Barden to run into.

North Longford

I doubt if O Connor will there later in the year but he was good against DCU and he has lots of experience.
I would love to see Noel Farrell given a run in the position but I don't think he's gotten any time there at all yet in his couple of years with the county.
Mark Smith is on the panel I think. He has been involved with the U21's. He was very good in the semi final...has a great left foot on him and he's turning into a big lad which is no harm but he's still quite young. The only thing for Philips is that he was being marked by Noel Farrell in the semi who had about his best game of the year that day so it was a tough afternoon for Philips.
The one thing I'd say for Declan Farrell was that he surprised me against DCU. My thoughts would have been exactly the same as your own before that game. Indeed he played a wee bit centre forward for his club last year and tended to get bottled up a bit, taking a wee bit too much out of the ball in very crowded positions. I thought though against DCU he was great outlet, worked very hard, won a lot of ball but most significantly used the simple and wise ball most of the time. His one problem in the full forward line is that despite his ability to win almost everything put in to him his shooting can be a bit inconsistent thus often he or the team don't get as much scores as they should from the possession they have. If he wins as much ball in the half ward line and uses it wisely he could do a job.

SS senior will be there. Unfortunately, due to a sick chavvie with strep throat, I won't.

I look fwd to, awh Sweet Jesus, Shannonside on-line with Willie "historic day" Hegarty pulling himself off over Roscommon as the main feature while we wait, with, well, baited breath, for Flakenews from Waxford.

I anticapate a win.

Lays the euro on it now.

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 03, 2008, 12:37:14 AM
SS senior will be there. Unfortunately, due to a sick chavvie with strep throat, I won't.

I look fwd to, awh Sweet Jesus, Shannonside on-line with Willie "historic day" Hegarty pulling himself off over Roscommon as the main feature while we wait, with, well, baited breath, for Flakenews from Waxford.

http://www.southeastradio.ie/listen_live/index.php

Only one county to cover, and thence Hegartyless (assuming that the big ball game isn't benayth them).
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Model Hammer

Couldn't make it to the game in the end, so had to settle for South-East's "coverage" meself. Spratt is always good for a laugh, like when he forgave the new lads for some mistakes due to their "lack of inexperience" ....

Sounds like Longford were mis-firing all over the place. The second goal was a real sucker punch, and 8 points was a big lead to pull back all of a sudden. It sounded ominous when that lead was down to 3 after just 5 minutes of the second half, but fair play to the lads they settled down. Then a bit more good fortune for the 3rd goal (deflected off a defender) and that was more or less it.

As usual indiscipline almost proves our downfall again, and two straight reds for boxing lads in front of the ref is just inexcusable. The two Clongeen lads making their debuts were just a little too pumped up I guess. It's something Ryan will have to address for the year ahead. Our indiscipline in recent years is killing us. We were at sea then for the last 7/8 minutes when Longford could have rescued it.

But we'll take the 2 points and head to Markievicz in a fortnight in confident mood. Sligo will hardly be as generous though ....

I hope none of ye laid the money on a Longford win.

SS senior was aghast at 2 sloppy goals conceeded (WTF was Damien Sheridan doing out on the 45 soloing leaving the net empty) and 3 certain goals missed by Longford in the second half.

Mattie Forde destroyed Longford and did someone say he was carrying an injury  :o

See ye all on Fri evening behind the church in Donnycarney. If us Longfordians cluster together Setanta may focus on us.

Speaking of which did any of ye see the interviews after the Donegal v Kerry game.

Who was a mad auld Kerry wan that had her beak in all the interviews?

I'd always treat SS Senior's analysis with a hint of scepticism.  I see Kavanagh didn't score at all, and apparently we owned the ball in the second half but couldn't score.  After what Donaghy did to us two years ago, it looks like every county has decoded that there's only one tactic they need to consider employing against us (and it looks like they're right).