ALL IRELAND- Music for a nation

Started by An Fear Rua, October 25, 2007, 09:52:26 PM

I look forward to the day when "Back home in Derry" is played as our county song in Croker.   Having set up shop here I can particularly relate to the reference to Van Dieman's Land as being the place where the climate is raw (and the gun makes the law).  It's not even November and it's already in the 40s.

behind the wire

Quote from: Mac Eoghain on October 25, 2007, 11:22:53 PM
Transit Van. Author unknown.

Transit Van is by a man called Seamus Moore as far as i know. think we should keep it to the culchies thread though.
He who laughs last thinks the slowest

Candyman

Transit van is indeed by Seamus Moore who is from the Keady area i believe??? Its about smuggling activities that happen around the border areas... :D
http://bebo.com/watch/4426563049

stpauls

for us orange men there can only be one song, The Boys from the County Armagh!

Rma13

Sean Mone from Keady had a song entitled "Transit Van", not sure if this is the same song though.

Quote from: Declan on October 26, 2007, 08:23:37 AM
Molly Malone or Dublin in the Rare Ould Tiimes.

AFR have a section on this - [
url=http://www.anfearrua.com/story.asp?id=1004]http://www.anfearrua.com/story.asp?id=1004[/url]
Summer in Dublin is great too on a Sunny day

Of course the Offaly Rover for us. Long time since it got a belting in a big game at Croker, so 'twas nice to hear it at the All IReland for the anniversary lads.

A Rover I have Been, and a Rover I will stay
But to my faithful county dear, I will return some day...

Quote from: Aerlik on October 26, 2007, 08:56:35 AM
I look forward to the day when "Back home in Derry" is played as our county song in Croker.   Having set up shop here I can particularly relate to the reference to Van Dieman's Land as being the place where the climate is raw (and the gun makes the law).  It's not even November and it's already in the 40s.

Would have to agree with "Back Home In Derry" as our neighbour's choice. Derry seems quite spoilt for numbers - I like "The Gem of The Roe", but wouldn't be in any way fond of "The Town I Loved So Well".

Indeed, I don't like many of the standards like "The Boys From the County Armagh" or "The Mountains of Mourne".

From those mentioned above "The Green And Red Of Mayo" and "The Mountains Of Pomeroy" are excellent choices. I would also add "The Hills Of Donegal" (with Paul Brady on vocals) and "Follow Me Up To Carlow" to the mix.

I had the Mountains of Pomeroy going down the aisle.

The GAA book of lists:

ANTRIM - GREEN GLENS OF ANTRIM
ARMAGH - BOYS FROM THE COUNTY ARMAGH
CARLOW - FOLLOW ME UP TO CARLOW
CAVAN - MY CAVAN GIRL
CLARE - MY LOVELY ROSE OF CLARE
CORK - BANKS OF MY OWN LOVELY LEE
DERRY - THE TOWN I LOVED SO WELL
DONEGAL - MARY FROM DUNGLOE
DOWN - STAR OF THE COUNTY DOWN
DUBLIN - MOLLY MALONE
FERMANAGH - FAREWELL TO ENNISKILLEN
GALWAY - FIELDS OF ATHENRY
KERRY - ROSE OF TRALEE
KILDARE - CURRAGH OF KILDARE
KILKENNY - ROSE OF MOONCOIN
LAOIS - LOVELY LAOIS
LEITRIM - LOVELY LEITRIM
LIMERICK -LIMERICK YOU ARE A LADY
LONGFORD - COUNTY LONGFORD
LOUTH - TURFMAN FROM ARDEE
MAYO - MOONLIGHT IN MAYO
MEATH - BEAUTIFUL MEATH
MONAGHAN - THE TOWN OF BALLYBAY
OFFALY - OFFALY ROVER
ROSCOMMON - MEN OF ROSCOMMON
SLIGO - SALLY GARDENS (she walked up the aisle to this)
TIPPERARY - SLIEVENAMON
TYRONE - O'NEILL'S MARCH
WATERFORD - BHI SE LA PORT LAIRGE
WESTMEATH - LOUGH REE OH LOUGH REE
WEXFORD - DANCING AT THE CROSSROADS
WICKLOW - AMONG THE WICKLOW HILLS

QuoteLONGFORD - COUNTY LONGFORD

WTF! No idea what this is.

No - the definitve Longford song is 'The Blue and Gold' written about the 66-68 team.

Have any of ye heard Frankie Kilbride's version. Laureleye refused a copy on cd as did Billy.

Philisteins.

QuotePhilisteins.

Is that Frankenstein's cousin?

Quote from: Aerlik on October 26, 2007, 08:56:35 AM

All well and good, until the singer entertains us with the story of a ship sinking on Lake Superior.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99rOzMVtcx4

Chrisowc

Down down deeper and down
Get down deeper and down
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!