MAYO STAR HEADING TO OZ????

Started by Shrewdness, July 31, 2007, 01:14:05 PM

Quote from: muppet on October 09, 2007, 01:14:34 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on October 09, 2007, 12:41:37 AM
[
Ballagh is only in Ros now. 
I knew ye clowns were living in the past  :D Ballagh is in Ros since at least 1898 ;D ;D

QuoteYou're an Elizabethean county boundary man then. Well there goes Ballina back to Sligo.

While I might have been consider a Lizzy man and all that headbanging slowed my history intake I still reckon that Elizabeth the 1st was a little before the foundation of the Gaa.

Turlough O Carolan

Quote from: muppet on October 10, 2007, 11:16:02 PM
QuoteYou're an Elizabethean county boundary man then. Well there goes Ballina back to Sligo.

While I might have been consider a Lizzy man and all that headbanging slowed my history intake I still reckon that Elizabeth the 1st was a little before the foundation of the Gaa.

But you do see the paradox in your theory. The area that is Ballaghaderreen only became part of Mayo when the Tudors redrew the county boundaries in the late 16th century. It was actually in Roscommon before that. It was only in Mayo for a few years of the GAAs history, and has been in Roscommon ever since, after Dillon decided to redraw the countary boundary in 1898. Buried also in that early history of the GAA is the fact that the Ballagh GAA club went through some different iterations and did actually play in Roscommon as Faugh a Ballagh for a short period, before reverting back to Mayo again. Anyway that's besides the point. Roscommon people only want the option of playing for their own county, Ros, while still representing their own parish, Ballagh. No one is saying the club itself must transfer to Ros. They just want a choice to opt for Ros as Ballagh players, or else be allowed to set up a second club in the town.

Whilst I suppose I can be sympathetic to the notion of Roscommon people in Ballagh wanting to play for the Sheepstealers, fact is that it's probably not going to change anytime soon.

The only reason I got involved in this thread was to point out that  if the likes of Hanley/Andy Moran were that desperate to play for Roscommon they could.

The clamour that this produced (any sign of Ryano the shite talker ;)) has yet to convince me that any of these players are 1)Roscommon supporters & 2) Happy to play for Roscommon if given the choice.

This going to sound arrogant ,and it probably is, but without any evidence it's fairly obvious that most of these lads want to play for Mayo because they are, by and large, a better team with more chance for success. There will be times when Roscommon beat us as is the nature of these things, but in the main Mayo players have more chance of success and playing at the highest level

spectator

[quote author=stephenite link=topic=4027.msg176353#msg176353 date=1192072948

Whilst I suppose I can be sympathetic to the notion of Roscommon people in Ballagh wanting to play for the Sheepstealers, fact is that it's probably not going to change anytime soon.

Good man stephenite, you can now see that current GAA rules discriminate against Ballagh people playing for both their home club and Ros. I take my hat off to you for your honesty. :)

Quote from: stephenite on October 11, 2007, 04:22:28 AM

This going to sound arrogant ,and it probably is, but without any evidence it's fairly obvious that most of these lads want to play for Mayo because they are, by and large, a better team with more chance for success. There will be times when Roscommon beat us as is the nature of these things, but in the main Mayo players have more chance of success and playing at the highest level.

Given that Mayo are the more attractive county to play for - and i don't dispute that for a moment - what have ye to be afraid of in Mayo, through doing the right thing and giving the few lads that do want to play for Ros the right to choose to do so?

If your county board did agree to free choice, it would only confirm the respect i have for the vast majority of Mayo GAA people as fair-minded and sporting people.

The county boards could have a little chat and sort this thing out in no time, if they wished.

Nicky Brennan will bw asking for compensation for lost players - only right too !