Planning

Started by Wee Roddy, September 26, 2007, 03:24:48 PM

Wee Roddy

Anyone on here know what the state of play is for planning. I bought a house recently but if planning was relaxed i would sell it and by a site. Anyone any concrete info?

Quote from: Wee Roddy on September 26, 2007, 03:24:48 PM
Anyone on here know what the state of play is for planning. I bought a house recently but if planning was relaxed i would sell it and by a house. Anyone any concrete info?

It has been deemed illegal, but the planning restrictions have not yet been lifted.

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: ziggysego on September 26, 2007, 03:25:31 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on September 26, 2007, 03:24:48 PM
Anyone on here know what the state of play is for planning. I bought a house recently but if planning was relaxed i would sell it and by a house. Anyone any concrete info?

It has been deemed illegal, but the planning restrictions have not yet been lifted.

as ziggy said.  PPS14 was judged to be illegal because it was produced by the DRD and not by the DOE.  The content however was found to be fine.  Planning service have put a stop on all applications which fall under PPS14 and are awaiting further instructions from the top.  Further problems arise because PPS12 ( which deals with housing in settlements) was also produced by DRD. 

so the shit could really hit the fan.

The next step is tricky for planning because if the policy is totally scrpped and it goes back to the old policy before a new one is brought in, there will be an influx of thousands of panick applications.

I wouldn't count my chickens just yet

im very good friends with a fella who deals with this daily. He says it will not change. It was deemed illegal as the wrong dept implemented it. They stand by PPs14 and what it stands for.

All applications have to be iby tommorrow if want considered under the new ruling/ old sheme. However as planning service still implements the ideals of pps14 it is very very unlikely that any previous decisions will be overturned !

Sandy Hill

QuoteAnyone any concrete info

Haw, Haw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"Stercus accidit"

I was chatting to a guy I know that works in the Omagh and he told me a few things.

The current line is that any application that is recommended or decided for refusal solely because of PPS14 is being withheld pending a final decision from the High Court tomorrow. Any application currently submitted will still be assessed under PPS14 as it stands. Some people are not yet aware of this. In the past couple of weeks there has been a massive increase in applications coming in, something like fivefold. However quite a few of these have been withdrawn once its been clear that it would be refused under PPS14. There is though quite a significant backlog of applications already starting to build up, not helped by local councillors telling people to submit them as "PPS14 is as good as gone" but nobody is 100% sure what will happen. If it happens that the policy itself is fine but was just submitted by the wrong department and then reimplemented, then Omagh District Council's victory will end up being a very small one as its unlikely they'll be able to present a similar case if a policy similar to PPS14 is presented by the DoE. Personally I reckon this is going to get messy whatever happens.

umgolaarmagh

Spot the town planners on the site, talking about ps2's and ps3 etc etc

too the ordinary lay man thats a computer gamev ;D

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: umgolaarmagh on September 27, 2007, 07:59:15 AM
Spot the town planners on the site, talking about ps2's and ps3 etc etc

too the ordinary lay man thats a computer gamev ;D

you know exactly what we're on about umgola.  Don't be playing that oul game with me  ;)

Hank Everlast

el cuervo, ye'd think with u knowing so much about this stuff that you wud get a planning job!!! ;D  :P

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: Hank Everlast on September 27, 2007, 08:36:43 AM
el cuervo, ye'd think with u knowing so much about this stuff that you wud get a planning job!!! ;D  :P

ye would think wouldn't you.  It's much better craic doin the oul appeals.  nice wee lift in the pocket ;) ;D

Hank Everlast

At today's Court Hearing the Judge reserved his judgement on dPPS14.  The situation therefore remains unchanged.  The planning service will hold all applictions that would fall to be determined under dPPS 14.

The final judgement is now expected next week

So there you have it the lads have it sussed....As for concrete ideas i think you should use 35 Newton ;) :D