euro finals 2012

Started by the waffler, November 14, 2011, 01:51:22 PM

the waffler

anyone for the finals and best way ta travel

Hashtag

Buy a transit. Throw a matress in the back and drive to it.
Accommodation sorted.

the waffler

thinkin bout that alright im sure be a bit o craic

Mate of mine is investing in a motorhome - im getting ideas.
calais - warsaw 913 miles gdansk 892 Poznan 728 Wroclaw 769 - dunno about the ukranian venues although Lviv is only just over the Polish border. Would be driveable in 2 days i suppose.

dont get carried away lads, Ireland are not through yet!!  :o

Quote from: sammymaguire on November 14, 2011, 03:54:46 PM
dont get carried away lads, Ireland are not through yet!!  :o

Even they couldn't manage to f**k it up from here.

HiMucker

Quote from: maddog on November 14, 2011, 03:32:02 PM
calais - warsaw 913 miles gdansk 892 Poznan 728 Wroclaw 769 - dunno about the ukranian venues although Lviv is only just over the Polish border. Would be driveable in 2 days i suppose.
Boy I work with goes over to poland a fair bit, and when he said he was going across the polish border into Ukraine for a day trip, the polish folk he had befriended nearly had a heart attack.  They told him it was not safe at all.  This was couple of years ago so not sure what it would be like now.

Would recommend a bit of planning lads.  Calais to Donetsk approx 1,800 miles

Quote from: HiMucker on November 14, 2011, 04:01:37 PM
Quote from: maddog on November 14, 2011, 03:32:02 PM
Boy I work with goes over to poland a fair bit, and when he said he was going across the polish border into Ukraine for a day trip, the polish folk he had befriended nearly had a heart attack.  They told him it was not safe at all.  This was couple of years ago so not sure what it would be like now.

Had a similar reaction when travelling around Romania a few years ago when we asked a few people about going over the border into Ukraine just for half a day. They thought we were mad! Really hope we get put in Poland, not too worried about who we get (England of course would be fun).

From what I can see it seems if you don't look like a foreigner, don't walk anywhere, especially at night and carry only a small amount of local currency (enough to bribe the police if necessary) you'll be grand in Ukraine.

Oh, and watch out for the wallet scam.

Heard about this wallet scam.  The would be tief swaps your finest leather wallet with 100 euro in it for a cheaper version with only 20 Euro in it. 

When is the draw for the groups?

SHEEDY

nil satis nisi optimum

Quote from: Hardy on November 14, 2011, 05:19:41 PM
From what I can see it seems if you don't look like a foreigner, don't walk anywhere, especially at night and carry only a small amount of local currency (enough to bribe the police if necessary) you'll be grand in Ukraine.

Oh, and watch out for the wallet scam.
Exactly. The same was said when I was going to mexico from california a few times, heard all these stories and it was grand. Take about two weeks to drive a camper across, I did route 66 before and thats what it took.Group A with england and we're laughing!