11 (19.3%)
The Usual
36 (63.2%)
Cork
10 (17.5%)

Total Members Voted: 55

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 21, 2007, 10:09:53 AM
It's all down to Brian Crowe if the CCCC ask him to reconsider (which they now have the power to do), i.e., if he feels that he dealt adquately with the O'Leary incident at the time that's it, case closed; alternatively if he feels he was remiss in some respect of his actions at the time the CCCC have retroactive power to act on O'Leary.

Can't see Crowe opening it up again though, and as Hardy (magnanimously) says, it would hardly be fair given some of the worms that are currently crawling around in refereeing cans already this year.
The CCCC have made the decision to look at the Noel O'Leary case (according to the Irish Times). That decision being made, I can't see how O'Leary avoids a ban unless the CCCC make a balls of things.

Once the CCCC check the video, they have no choice but to ask Crowe to reassess his decision. He then will have no choice but to say - "should have been red". Then the CCCC will have no choice but to ban him from the final. I think thats written in stone. Then the Cork appeal will start and who knows how (or where) that'll go.

neutral

I believe the GAA needs dublin to win an All Ireland just like in 1995.  Lets make it happen refs.

Quote from: Hound on August 21, 2007, 10:44:56 AM
Once the CCCC check the video, they have no choice but to ask Crowe to reassess his decision. He then will have no choice but to say - "should have been red". Then the CCCC will have no choice but to ban him from the final. I think thats written in stone. Then the Cork appeal will start and who knows how (or where) that'll go.

Cue Frank Murphy...  ;)

If he got a month for a gentle kick in the Munster final he'll definitely get a month for the punch.

The Subbie

Kerry ,

Word on the street has it that Frank Murphy is putting a case together to get G Geraghty banned for an unprovoked headbutt on O'Leary's hand :o

Pray that it's Cork and dread it'll be Dublin.

Frank Casey

Quote from: The Subbie on August 21, 2007, 04:11:46 PM
Kerry ,

Word on the street has it that Frank Murphy is putting a case together to get G Geraghty banned for an unprovoked headbutt on O'Leary's hand :o

From todays Evening Langer (Echo)

By MARK WOODS

REFEREE Brian Crowe holds the key to Noel O'Leary's fate following the much publicised punching incident with Meath's Graham Geraghty. The Cavan official, who didn't witness the off-the-ball incident because he was dealing with another matter on the other side of the pitch, showed a yellow card after the intervention of a linesman. But the GAA's Central Competitions Control Committee was meeting this afternoon to review the weekend's games and studying video footage. And they have the authority to ask Crowe to look at the incident again and decide if a ellow
card was the right action. If Crowe, who refereed last year's All-Ireland final between Kerry and Meath, believes it was a red card offence then
O'Leary could be in danger of missing the final on September 16. The matter would be revisited by the CCCC who have the power to impose a suspension. This is the second time this summer that O'Leary has attracted Croke Park attention. He missed the All-Ireland qualifier against  outh after he received a one-game ban following an incident with Paul Galvin in the Munster final defeat by Kerry. The referee took no action
against the Cork defender, who is enjoying a brilliant season, but the CCCC intervened after studying video evidence. Cork selector John Corcoran said: "We believe no action should be taken because it was a thing of nothing really. "There was minimal contact if any. We also reckon it would be harsh in the extreme to reviewit. The referee dealt with the incident on the day and it should be left at that. "James Master suffered a broken jaw in an off-the-ball incident against Sligo and the culprit only got a yellow card." O'Leary has the support of Meath boss Colm Coyle, who described it as 'mere handbags stuff.' "The linesmen had a better view than I did and the referee booked him for it. It was an early settling down period in the game, so these things happen." Geraghty himself refused to be drawn on the incident and instead
indicated that it was part and parcel of the game.
KERRY 3:7

... Crowe, who refereed last year's All-Ireland final between Kerry and Meath ...

Jays that's even better progress than I thought we were making.

Frank Casey

Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2007, 07:04:43 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 21, 2007, 06:54:15 PM
... Crowe, who refereed last year's All-Ireland final between Kerry and Meath ...

Jays that's even better progress than I thought we were making.

Thats the evening langer for you.
KERRY 3:7

Aye Hardy I know the CCCC (can with the permission of the official) look at such incidents again, what I meant was if they decided to impose a ban, I could see this one being appealed successfully.  Im basing this on conversations I had with Liam Keane and Jack Anderson (two of the top guys in the DRA) around the time I was doing the research project into the role of the DRA.

Apologies David - didn't know I was telling the priest how to say mass!

Are the lads saying, though, that whatever the CCCC and the CHC decide in any case, the DRA will always side with the original decision of the officials?

Talking to them they were more into the technicalities of it on a number of grounds and compared to other sports that find it very difficult to retrospectively punish an incident already dealt with.  There main bug bears as far as I can remember were that all matches are not apparently viewed by the cccc in the same way, as in some are watched directly after the game some are watched once the report comes in etc (or potentially once the Sunday Game highlights the incident).  They were concerned that this could cause due process issues.  Also they were concerned that because its the CCCC asking the ref to re-examine the issue and not the ref asking the CCCC this could also cause undermining and possibly duress issues. Have to say though Im no legal expert and it was early drafts of the rule changes we were talking about at the time but I don't think they changed that dramatically.  I suppose we will only know how water tight they are if an appeal is taken against them.

To answer your question, the DRA as is my understanding will in all but extreme cases not look at what happened on the field and will instead look at the procedure used.  At the time they seemed to think that would mean most appeals would support the ref (even if video evidence exonerated a player who was red carded because such an appeal would need to be look at before then)

It's the Usual Suspects for me.
I'm really looking forward to the semi final.
Kerry defence to teach manners to the cheeky Dubs.

I don't know why Kerry are so good,
naturally gifted?
nothing else to do since they started to use milking machines?
In school, the choice is read Peig or play Gaelic?