Fair Play To Mickey Harte

Started by LegalEagle, August 04, 2007, 06:19:24 PM

Quote from: Naomh Éanna on August 05, 2007, 01:02:28 AM
didnt see it myself Ziggy. Wonder was it the wee lad Caldwell who needs the operation in USA to survive. They are trying to raise £250000 for him.

never heard about that. who is the youngfella? how are they raising the money and any relation to joanne?

Quote from: laceer on August 05, 2007, 02:05:15 AM
Quote from: KIDDO on August 05, 2007, 01:10:28 AM
Greencastle minor Daniel Mc Dermott  will be  a new addition to the Tyrone minor panel for their game with Kerry in Tullamore, today.
does he play chb for your seniors zig?

the young fella's name was patrick trainor

Yeah, he started playing for the seniors this year. Brilliant player

KIDDO

Back from Tullamore, Daniel Mc Dermott from Greencastle  came on in the 2nd half   and performed well , in what was a terrible overall performance from Tyrone , who only registered 2 points in the entire 2nd half.

What happened Kiddo after the bright Tyrone start where Radio Kerry reckoned the Kerry lads were living off scraps? Kerry management made the right calls and Raymond the wrong ones?

Are you sure that Danny got it? Didn't hear it on the radio and he wasn't listed as one of the subs used in any of the newspapers.

Mickey is,has and always will be a gentleman - he always says the right things at the right time, to the right people - he's a great manager.

Sandy Hill

Quotehe always says the right things at the right time, to the right people

So did Richard Nixon.
"Stercus accidit"

Mickey Harte is a true gentleman and I have always liked him.  As I said in another thread about managers a few weeks ago he does not start throwing things out of his cot when he gets beaten.   When Laois beat Tyrone in Portlaoise last year Mickey was interviewed and he said (despite having to play with a lot of lads lost through injury) that the best team won on the day.  No gripe or swipe at anyone.  I think it gave our lads a bit of a lift and we went on to draw with Mayo and only get beaten by the smallest of margins.  Better than telling our lads "I don't know how they are going to lift themselves for the next game"

Mickey is a gent who always displays dignity and class.

agorm

Quote from: LegalEagle on August 04, 2007, 06:19:24 PM
Just saw Mickey Hartes  post match interiew with Joanne Cantwell. He had no excuses and said the better team won. Nice to see there are some managers who can be gracious in defeat unlike managers like Jack O Connor and Billy Morgan

Must have been a different interview to what I remember. In the one I saw he was talking about their wides when Meath had as many. He did say that Tyrone should have been further behind at half time but he did not congratulate Meath or say that the better team won in what I saw. That said, I still like the guy and reckoned at the time that it related to the disappointment of losing rather than any unsporting behaviour.

I read Colm Coyle's interview in the paper on sun and if true, Coyler said that the ref gave everything to tyrone during the game!
Colm still playing th eold mind games and the 'no one likes us' card.
Its part of what has motivated and re-generated meath this year.

IMO Meath were by far the better looking team , still tyrones endurance kept them in it - I am not sure how.
I thought there were three bad decisions regarding frees in the first half that ended up with meath points, with at least one in the second half added to two occasions where Darren fay picked the ball clean off the ground.

In spite of so many dreadful wides (from easier scoring positions imo) by tyrone, they could have won the game which they lets face it - did not deserve based on the entertainment and play during the game.

Meath need to tighten up their defence if they are going to win the All Ireland - which now is not beyond them in a one off game (most likely v kerry), given that cork look like a clueless team and meath should easily get to the final.

Poor ref, one incident in particular summed it up for me: Cavlan and Fay had tangled quite a few times in racing for the ball, with Cavlan invariably ending up on his arse on the turf. Nothing given, fair enough, six of one and half-a-dozen of the other.

The first time, the very first time, Fay ends up arseways, with Cavlan racing through unchallenged on to the ball, he blows up for a free out. It's the fecking inconsistency of it all, and I repeat, his performance was not material to the result.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 07, 2007, 01:30:58 PM
I read Colm Coyle's interview in the paper on sun and if true, Coyler said that the ref gave everything to tyrone during the game!

IMO Meath were by far the better looking team , still tyrones endurance kept them in it - I am not sure how.
I thought there were three bad decisions regarding frees in the first half that ended up with meath points, with at least one in the second half added to two occasions where Darren fay picked the ball clean off the ground.

In spite of so many dreadful wides (from easier scoring positions imo) by tyrone, they could have won the game which they lets face it - did not deserve based on the entertainment and play during the game.

Meath need to tighten up their defence if they are going to win the All Ireland - which now is not beyond them in a one off game (most likely v kerry), given that cork look like a clueless team and meath should easily get to the final.

Curse those handsome devils! ;D

Quote from: Jinxy on August 07, 2007, 01:47:03 PM

prob true in both senses !

I mean ...ryan mcmenamin ! :o

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 07, 2007, 01:53:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 07, 2007, 01:47:03 PM

prob true in both senses !

I mean ...ryan mcmenamin ! :o

Ryan not your type then lynchboy!? :o