Jack O Connor a whinger or just trying sell his book

Started by Davitt Man, June 26, 2007, 01:09:35 PM

There's a thread in the Hurling forum about it Croi.

Quote from: seanaglis on June 29, 2007, 01:44:41 PM
Fear,

Is that article from the times written by a well known poster on this board? ;)

Who could possibly say seanaglis...  ;)

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 29, 2007, 01:43:52 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 29, 2007, 01:33:36 PMFarrell was speaking at the launch of Bainisteoir - Hurling, a PC game similar to the soccer version called Championship Manager.

Designed by Nenagh brothers Pádraig and Fergal McDonnell of software company Tailteann Games, it is endorsed by the GPA, which enables player names and images to be used.

Also present was GAA national hurling director Paudie Butler and former Tipperary player and manager Nicky English. A fraction of the profits from the game, now available for €29, will be funnelled back to the GPA.

Off topic but never heard anything about this game. If it's anywhere near as good as Championship Manager it'll be a winner. Wonder will they be bringing out a football version???

Is the hurling game going to have professionalism & intercounty transfers, I really don't see how the game would work without a part with a committee coming down to inspect your accomodation or a copy of your P60 to see do you actually live or work in that county, will teamsheets & transfers have to be presented as gaeilge, will bans be recended, and will their be personalty element, ie overbearing fans in the football such as Mayo & Dublin, paranoid county boards like all of Ulster, Dublin & Cork. Will there be an in or out option for Kilkenny? Will the hurling league allow a protest facilty for Offaly, such as sitting down on the pitch if you lose to Clare or complain your way back into div.1 if you get relagated. Will the game have a 15 minutes start late option for the Dubs, or a sudden drop in form for Donegal or Roscommon if the computer AI @ random points because the players go on the lash, or will you lose random players to America if you get sent to the Tommy Marren Cup. Will you have to play hurling in a swap & blizzard if you playing with a week county but can wait for fine weather if you playing with Cork or Kilkenny?

QuoteI reserve my venom for those who fully deserve it Sheehy, and you do.

Likewise, I reserve it for mouthy windbags like you. Its pretty pathetic how you lads are so jealous
of Kerrys sucess that you have to constantly try to demean it.

Unbelievable -  not happy with waltzing through the most uncompetitive province for the guts of 60 years, alienating Ulster support for their once-great county (I have a Kerry top since 1992. Burned her yesterday), beating up managers, texting nasty things to each other, not phoning each other, O'Connor/Kerry have now blown the whistle on the amateur status we hold dear to our hearts.

Kerry should now be painted over or, in order to save face, renamed Greater Rebel.

They should paint over Tyrone and call it Great Br.....oh, hang on

I was in Easons today in Langerland looking for Jack's book , but it's not on sale until Monday.

However I picked up a copy of Weeshie Fogarty's "Dr Eamonn O'Sullivan - A Man before his Time". So not wanting to start another Kerry book thread I will tag it on here.

To those who dont know, Dr Eamon was the legendary trainer of 8 Kerry All Ireland winning teams, 1924, 1926, 1937, 1946, 1953, 1955, 1959 and 1962 which given the time span was an incredible achivement.

He developed training and diet requimes that were innovative for their day when little or no training was done by intercounty teams and he wrote extensively on Gaelic Football.

The back of the book has the line "a fitting tribute for the man whose methods changed the art and science of Gaelic football forever". (Which I am sure will go down well in Ulster  :P )

Of course the book will be heavily weighted in bias towards Kerry but it should be an interesting read for anyone with an interest in the history of football from the 20's to the 60's.

Just flicking through it there are some great old photos of great Kerry teams and players of old, the likes of Con Brosnan, Joe Barrett, John Joe Sheehy, Miko Doyle and Mick OConnell were all trained and developed under Dr Eamonn.

Eamonn was also one of the masterminds behind the construction of Fitzgerald Stadium which was built in grounds of the Killarney Mental hospiital St Finians where he worked.

I heard about it when it was launched a few months ago but had forgotton about it. Am actually now looking forward to reading this more than Jack's book. Fair play to the great Weeshie from Radio Kerry for putting this historical review down in print,

Anyone else read it recently?

QuoteThey should paint over Tyrone and call it Great Br.....oh, hang on

Not wishing to demean a Kerry fella's undoubted rock solid grasp of the political situation in the North but I presume you mean "call it United King.............." (for the sake of accuracy you understand)

then again you've prob forgotten all about that wee bit of land yis helped donate to the British............................................ ;)

Anyhow.......I quite like Kerry football, there I've said it, no mistaking it, I quite like it. And whats more I have an awful lot of respect for many of the kerry legends.

QuoteI have an awful lot of respect for many of the kerry legends.

Weeshie's book is for you so...

I have to say that no matter whether he is whinging or not this is a hugely enjoyable read. Due in no small measure to the hand of Tom Humphries I'd say.....however I came across a cracking line in it last night.

When J O'C was a Kerry selector under Páidí and when he was back home after another controversial game when Mo Fitz was once more used very sparingly he ran into an oul lad in the bar one evening. The oul fella's name was Murphy and he was a big hunting man who had a beagle called Rover. He started giving out to J O'C about them not using Mo Fitz...J O'C told Murphy that he'd be better off back at the hunting and to leave the football to him and Páidí.

Murphy's parting shot at J O'C was a humdinger.

"Thats alright Jack.. but I don't keep Rover in the boot of the car when I go hunting."

Classic