All Ireland Final 2007

Started by LegalEagle, July 02, 2007, 08:31:22 PM

I am basing it on the championship and league of the last few years. Tyrone are a very good team and I am the first to say they are the side that can beat kerry,my point was Mayos record against tyrone.I am not sure what you want me to say, should I change my opinion to suit you?
I can change my opinion but not the results and you should have a look at them.

Quote from: mannix on July 03, 2007, 10:33:26 AM
I am basing it on the championship and league of the last few years. Tyrone are a very good team and I am the first to say they are the side that can beat kerry,my point was Mayos record against tyrone.I am not sure what you want me to say, should I change my opinion to suit you?
I can change my opinion but not the results and you should have a look at them.

Don't think that the League has any real bearing this year (or 2005), i.e., Donegal disposed of yourselves in the NFL final without too much trouble, and that didn't help much against ourselves, and we didn't exactly set the League alight in 2005. Likewise, Donegal had something of a hoodoo over Mickey Harte in the Championship, but... ditto.

Well we will have to see about that, good luck for the rest of the year.

Indeed, time will tell, I'm just hoping the Donegal game was a corner turned for ourselves. Good luck to yourselves, good to see Ronan Mc Garrity back playing again.

QuoteTyrone are unsteady when green and red are on the field with them, a bit like mayo with kerry except mayo would not be as cocky about it.Tyrone will not be certain of progressing against a mayo side managed by jom.

You're basing that on 2004, when we were going to win nothing anyway, and your victory over us, with respect, was nothing like Kerry's over you, on those two recent occasions. You were worthy winners on that occasion in 2004 against us, but just about.

And do you really think this Tyrone team would have the wobbles against this Mayo team? Just ask the Donegal lads.

Agree Fear.  A Tyrone team who had just lost their captain a few months earlier and who were socialized out after celebrating their all-ireland win were never going to win Sam in 2004, although if the upright hadn't been struck a few times then Mayo wouldn't have followed the yellow brick road to humiliation.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: nrico2006 on July 03, 2007, 01:43:51 PM
QuoteTyrone are unsteady when green and red are on the field with them, a bit like mayo with kerry except mayo would not be as cocky about it.Tyrone will not be certain of progressing against a mayo side managed by jom.

You're basing that on 2004, when we were going to win nothing anyway, and your victory over us, with respect, was nothing like Kerry's over you, on those two recent occasions. You were worthy winners on that occasion in 2004 against us, but just about.

And do you really think this Tyrone team would have the wobbles against this Mayo team? Just ask the Donegal lads.

Agree Fear.  A Tyrone team who had just lost their captain a few months earlier and who were socialized out after celebrating their all-ireland win were never going to win Sam in 2004, although if the upright hadn't been struck a few times then Mayo wouldn't have followed the yellow brick road to humiliation.

I really do think people are a bit cruel to Mayo when they discount our victories, sure the Dublin lads where saying the same about us in 2006, I even heard Fermanagh lads saying they would have beaten Kerry in 2004, a come on.

Anytime Mayo beat a team we get this baloney how if Mayo hadn't beaten them(whoever is giving out @ the time) they would defo had won Sam that year.  Its a bit unfair to discount a County that has played in 5(including 1 replay) Finals in 11 years not to mention several other Semi's & Quarter Finals, last few years finishing in @ least the top 3 of the toughest League Group, reaching several semi's of the League, winning 1 & losing one League Final. Consistent almost annual appearances of their underage teams in Finals not to mention our Club teams, & just discount us as Lucky.

If I was a Mayo man I wouldn't be fancying playing Tyrone. A win in '89 and a win in '04 do not a hoodoo make.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: magpie seanie on July 03, 2007, 01:53:53 PM
If I was a Mayo man I wouldn't be fancying playing Tyrone. A win in '89 and a win in '04 do not a hoodoo make.

Well Im hardly talking about 1989, I am talking about in general in the last 3 or 4 years in competitive football, we generally get the better of them, I actually would not like to play them yet either. I really think he will do well to avoid any strong teams for a few rounds. We need to get the lads fit, players back & our team more structured.

Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 02, 2007, 10:20:58 PM
Quote from: LegalEagle on July 02, 2007, 08:31:22 PM
If Tyrone beat Monaghan on Sunday will Tyrone avoid meeting Kerry until the final?

Best way for Tyrone to avoid Kerry is by playing Mayo  ;D

Well here's hoping Mayo don't meet Kerry first! ;D

loughshore lad

I dont think the current Tyrone managemenent and squad would have any great fear of playing Mayo. I actually think it would be the opposite and they would really embrace the challenge. There is no doubt Mayo have enjoyed the upper hand in recent clashes but dont forget only one of those was in the championship -  2004. Both teams are a long way off worrying about facing each other down the line anyway in my opinion. Tyrone have to show everyone (probably the players included) that one victory doesnt suddenly turn them into world beaters while Mayo have to recover from what was a bit of a pasting by Galway.

A bit early in the summer for thoughts of the AI final. It wont be long now until Fearon books the hotel.

Yeah, for the 23rd of September  :D

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: loughshore lad on July 03, 2007, 04:14:30 PM
I dont think the current Tyrone managemenent and squad would have any great fear of playing Mayo. I actually think it would be the opposite and they would really embrace the challenge. There is no doubt Mayo have enjoyed the upper hand in recent clashes but dont forget only one of those was in the championship -  2004. Both teams are a long way off worrying about facing each other down the line anyway in my opinion. Tyrone have to show everyone (probably the players included) that one victory doesnt suddenly turn them into world beaters while Mayo have to recover from what was a bit of a pasting by Galway.

Nah don't worry about us we only we where only trying to build up Galway so they could have a great fall  :D

Seriously if Mayo & Tyrone where to meet @ this very moment I fear ye would hammer us, but one or two games under our belt and I think we might be up for it.

Never liked playing Mayo - they seem to break your heart when you least expect it. Memories of '89, '04 and the crucial league game (last year?) are all too raw.

in fairness mayo as a football team shouldn't fear any team bar kerry, i know people give the team stick especially after 2004 and 2006 defeats but i honestly think its a mental thing with kerry  "i'm fecking mental going to the all irelands" .Personally i feel we have a chance against all the other teams and on any day we can beat any one of the top teams tyrone,armagh,cork,dublin, donegal ect and should fear no one ,mayo has been one of the most consistent teams over the last 4/5 years both in League and championship we have a great club championship and some good young players coming through and one day hopefully Sam we cross the borders of mayo,its just a pity Kerry wouldn't concentrate on the small ball for the next 100 years or so and give us a chance ;) ;)