Booze at GAA games

Started by Truth hurts, May 12, 2025, 09:50:04 AM

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 14, 2025, 07:41:29 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 14, 2025, 06:32:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2025, 06:31:24 PMWhen did this Brigin buck post on GAABOARD before this week?
A while ago. I was off socials for about 6 months. But the man is getting played here I feel.

Genuine question here mate. Have they actually fixed fighting in the FAI? I lived in England a long time and kept hearing the same thing. And while fighting in stadiums was by and large stopped, it just moved it to organised fights in other olaces. One I got caught up in and it wasn't pleasant at all
To the best of my knowledge pretty much. I have some chums who are loi regulars who would say that incidents were blown up by the red tops, but clubs are turning punters away now, any mischief and you are gone. They don't need your €15 anymore. The Guards are more clued in and working with clubs to enforce bans across the board.

I understand the derby in the Aviva went off without a hitch. That wouldn't have been the case 5 years ago.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 14, 2025, 09:32:47 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 14, 2025, 07:41:29 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 14, 2025, 06:32:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2025, 06:31:24 PMWhen did this Brigin buck post on GAABOARD before this week?
A while ago. I was off socials for about 6 months. But the man is getting played here I feel.

Genuine question here mate. Have they actually fixed fighting in the FAI? I lived in England a long time and kept hearing the same thing. And while fighting in stadiums was by and large stopped, it just moved it to organised fights in other olaces. One I got caught up in and it wasn't pleasant at all
To the best of my knowledge pretty much. I have some chums who are loi regulars who would say that incidents were blown up by the red tops, but clubs are turning punters away now, any mischief and you are gone. They don't need your €15 anymore. The Guards are more clued in and working with clubs to enforce bans across the board.

I understand the derby in the Aviva went off without a hitch. That wouldn't have been the case 5 years ago.

Good to hear

Not clever enough to do the point by point quoting carry on

You clearly don't know what a 'straw man' argument means

Your basic premise is that 'soccer has it sorted' whereas the GAA has a problem

I show numerous incidents still ongoing in soccer (even with the massive policing presence, segregation etc etc at any game which could be remotely contentious) - most of a more serious nature than the GAA incidents

You still bleat that soccer has it sorted

So here's the thing - if one isn't a problem, then neither is the other

If your position is that both have a problem, then the soccer lads need to be increasing policing yet further to stop the scum from scrapping as the evidence presented shows that they clearly don't have it fixed

Your inconsistency on this affirms your shit stirring motives

It obviously grates you massively that the GAA can stage massive games and sustain intense rivalries by-and-large without the hooliganism

Whereas your groundball mates reach for the knuckledusters for every derby fixture

And no amount of hyperbole from you here is going to convince anyone that an equivalence exists between the 2 sets of fans

How this will play out

You'll say that the GAA lads are putting their heads in the sand regarding a supposedly huge issue - and I'll point you to my first post on the topic.  You'll say that the GAA need to go further and I (and anyone else without an agenda) will say you're just plain wrong.  You'll disagree

That's a situation I'm happy with

And I'll be happy in the knowledge that I can attend any big GAA fixture this summer without worrying for my safety if I happen to wander into the 'wrong' area (NB - these don't exist at GAA games - no matter what team's shirt you're wearing)

You won't be able to say the same for the flare and flick knife brigade

Quote from: RedHand88 on May 14, 2025, 09:47:30 AMhttps://x.com/KellyMatshall/status/1922352149058478234

Drunken brawl at the Balmoral Show.

Clearly there is an issue with farmers at the show and we need to send in the riot police to arrest and ban those responsible.
That's an old video, 3/4 years old.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on May 15, 2025, 12:26:04 PMNot clever enough to do the point by point quoting carry on

You clearly don't know what a 'straw man' argument means

Your basic premise is that 'soccer has it sorted' whereas the GAA has a problem

I show numerous incidents still ongoing in soccer (even with the massive policing presence, segregation etc etc at any game which could be remotely contentious) - most of a more serious nature than the GAA incidents

You still bleat that soccer has it sorted

So here's the thing - if one isn't a problem, then neither is the other

If your position is that both have a problem, then the soccer lads need to be increasing policing yet further to stop the scum from scrapping as the evidence presented shows that they clearly don't have it fixed

Your inconsistency on this affirms your shit stirring motives

It obviously grates you massively that the GAA can stage massive games and sustain intense rivalries by-and-large without the hooliganism

Whereas your groundball mates reach for the knuckledusters for every derby fixture

And no amount of hyperbole from you here is going to convince anyone that an equivalence exists between the 2 sets of fans

How this will play out

You'll say that the GAA lads are putting their heads in the sand regarding a supposedly huge issue - and I'll point you to my first post on the topic.  You'll say that the GAA need to go further and I (and anyone else without an agenda) will say you're just plain wrong.  You'll disagree

That's a situation I'm happy with

And I'll be happy in the knowledge that I can attend any big GAA fixture this summer without worrying for my safety if I happen to wander into the 'wrong' area (NB - these don't exist at GAA games - no matter what team's shirt you're wearing)

You won't be able to say the same for the flare and flick knife brigade

What a contradictory mess you are.

This is very, very simple. We had 2 incidents of crowd trouble over the weekend.

Some posters on here see a pattern and discussed what should be done. I pointed out how soccer has all but eliminated crowd violence in FAIland.

You object to that notion and trawled the internet and found 2 incidents, one serious enough, one handbags, post Covid.  You have enthralled us all with your soccer is scum, so therefore we don't need to have any discussion about the issues in the GAA routine. No problem with crowd trouble in the GAA because <insert mad shit about flicknives, knuckle dusters and pub closures>. Case closed.

If you don't believe that there is a problem, fine. But you need to do a lot better than whataboutery, especially since it's really shit whataboutery.

Your position is that tedious GAA exceptionalism that we can't quite shake off. There is no problem because admitting a problem would make us the same as the soccer, lets hope it doesn't get out of hand and we end up with another Seamus Braid. The ingrained boys will be boys culture is becoming a serious issue. We can't search people going to the Hill or issue bans, because we are the GAA and the rules don't apply. We do it our way. See also intercounty players getting off jail time or lads being snuck out of the country before the cops arrive. It's the same attitude and we need to ditch it.

;D  ;D

That's some rant.  With a rage like that you'd fit in well in elite cafe-chair throwing hooligan circles

The 2 incidents were in the last 10 months - thereby rendering your oft repeated assertion that 'soccer has fixed it' as utter nonsense

What's also nonsense is that I think there's no discussion to be had.  Basic comprehension fail on your part.  I suspect the rage is the issue here

What I objected to is the hyperbolic crap - your first post on the issue mentioned riot cops  ;D  ;D 
 - and you then went on to outline how the problems in the GAA are worse than soccer in this regard.  Why don't you ask some of the riot cops on duty at the next big game as I, on the other hand, won't be able to canvass opinion in this way

Anyway, having foolishly let myself get drawn into this debate (for the second time) with you I realise that I should lend exactly zero weight to your opinion here

Away outside and enjoy the sunshine - do try to resist the urge to throw the garden furniture

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on May 15, 2025, 04:11:39 PM;D  ;D

That's some rant.  With a rage like that you'd fit in well in elite cafe-chair throwing hooligan circles

The 2 incidents were in the last 10 months - thereby rendering your oft repeated assertion that 'soccer has fixed it' as utter nonsense

What's also nonsense is that I think there's no discussion to be had.  Basic comprehension fail on your part.  I suspect the rage is the issue here

What I objected to is the hyperbolic crap - your first post on the issue mentioned riot cops  ;D  ;D 
 - and you then went on to outline how the problems in the GAA are worse than soccer in this regard.  Why don't you ask some of the riot cops on duty at the next big game as I, on the other hand, won't be able to canvass opinion in this way

Anyway, having foolishly let myself get drawn into this debate (for the second time) with you I realise that I should lend exactly zero weight to your opinion here

Away outside and enjoy the sunshine - do try to resist the urge to throw the garden furniture

So 2 incidents in 10 months - soccer is a war zone. 2 incidents on the same day in football- nothing to see here.

You aren't university material, are you?

Truthsayer

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 15, 2025, 04:14:59 PM

So 2 incidents in 10 months - soccer is a war zone. 2 incidents on the same day in football- nothing to see here.

If I may.. was one of the incidents not in a shop? The other 3-4 lads 'boxing' on Hill 16?.. are we really in a crowd crisis?
Soccer crowds in England are segregated and the animosity between them is toxic.. tragedy chanting ffs! Lines of police on horseback to keep them separated on the streets.
I was in Croke Park on Sunday and the atmosphere with over 65,000 in attendance was fantastic and no hostility between supporters... albeit those couple eejits on the Hill. If that was a Premiership soccer game dozens would have joined in. Put thousands of Premiership fans from opposing teams on a terrace like that to see what happens.. is no comparison.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Truthsayer on May 15, 2025, 05:08:52 PM

If I may.. was one of the incidents not in a shop? The other 3-4 lads 'boxing' on Hill 16?.. are we really in a crowd crisis?
Soccer crowds in England are segregated and the animosity between them is toxic.. tragedy chanting ffs! Lines of police on horseback to keep them separated on the streets.
I was in Croke Park on Sunday and the atmosphere with over 65,000 in attendance was fantastic and no hostility between supporters... albeit those couple eejits on the Hill. If that was a Premiership soccer game dozens would have joined in. Put thousands of Premiership fans from opposing teams on a terrace like that to see what happens.. is no comparison.

Agreed. Which is why nobody is making that comparison.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 15, 2025, 06:01:52 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on May 15, 2025, 05:08:52 PM

Agreed. Which is why nobody is making that comparison.
Good! One wouldn't want hysteria over a few gobshites on The Hill...