eBay to close its facility in Dundalk.

Started by T Fearon, August 25, 2016, 08:58:55 PM

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2016, 07:43:07 AM
Quote from: general_lee on August 26, 2016, 07:35:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2016, 07:32:49 AM
It was a joke. A shit joke but a joke. Some people need to lighten up to fcuk.
The reason it is shite is because it's about people being made redundant
It's not though. He isn't mocking people. He made an ironic reference to a timer on the company's website.
Folk will see what they want to see I suppose.
I didn't say he was mocking them. It's a reference to people losing their jobs and it is in poor taste. I'm sure if 150 jobs went on the G road he wouldn't be as chirpy

Quote from: Boycey on August 25, 2016, 09:56:36 PM
I appreciate Tony is an insufferable troll but some of you guys are trying way too hard to be offended now :). You're a bit like the "You ok Hun" girls on Facebook .

very good :)

Lads, if ye are so easily wound up by that kind of post from him, just use the ignore function. It's brilliant.

But that was not offensive in my view, I actually thought it was clever enough.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 26, 2016, 09:35:03 AM
Thought it strange that eBay couldn't find office space in Dundalk for 150 people, with a year to do it.

Thought the same when I saw it yesterday but it's seems that they've been told the jobs won't be kept in Ireland whatever happens. Unless of course this is a ploy to get more favourable terms somewhere else. There is also the distinct possibility that a lot of the people losing their jobs will get employment from PayPal if they expand on the same site, I'd say the skill sets required are similar?

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 26, 2016, 10:18:04 AM
Lads, if ye are so easily wound up by that kind of post from him, just use the ignore function. It's brilliant.

But that was not offensive in my view, I actually thought it was clever enough.
It is one thing to defend Tony but you are crossing the line here when you encourage him ;D

Yes that will encourage increased output!