Abusive language FROM referees

Started by B, August 19, 2016, 03:09:03 PM

B

There are plenty of rules, regulations and punishments regarding foul and abusive language towards referees, but does anyone know anything about (or have any experience of) the ref using abusive language towards a player? And a juvenile one at that??

Yeah, he must give himself a black card   ::)

Never heard a ref using abusive language towards a player myself.
Lord knows they were entitled to on plenty of occasions.

A fella I used to play with always went by the Irish pronounciation and spelling of his names. He was getting booked one day and the ref told him that if he didn't give him his name in English he'd send him off!

Quote from: Jinxy on August 19, 2016, 06:00:15 PM
Never heard a ref using abusive language towards a player myself.
Lord knows they were entitled to on plenty of occasions.

I frequently have

When a referee calls one player by their first name and another by their number, it creates a bias.

I had a yellow card issued without a referee even taking my name a few weeks ago.

You cant expect a referee to take abuse from a player without the ref saying, feck off you dickhead!! You should see their face when you give them some back!!

You cant say that, they say, well nob head if you are going to question my parentage you'll get it back... Followed by a black card ;D

passedit

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 19, 2016, 06:21:24 PM
A fella I used to play with always went by the Irish pronounciation and spelling of his names. He was getting booked one day and the ref told him that if he didn't give him his name in English he'd send him off!
Teammate got sent off for that very reason many moons ago. Caused an awful rumpus. There was also a court case years ago where a ref laid into one of our players.
Don't Panic

Quote from: passedit on August 20, 2016, 12:04:47 AM
Teammate got sent off for that very reason many moons ago. Caused an awful rumpus. There was also a court case years ago where a ref laid into one of our players.

Why a ref would get wound up over that is beyond me, take his name, says it in Irish and ask him to spell it .... Correctly!!! The look on their face... Besides their number will be on team sheet... So pointless getting annoyed

That has got to have been Sludden??

Walt Jabsco

Give Respect Get Respect   Give Abuse Get Abuse   simple ;)

passedit

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 20, 2016, 12:18:26 AM
Quote from: passedit on August 20, 2016, 12:04:47 AM

Why a ref would get wound up over that is beyond me, take his name, says it in Irish and ask him to spell it .... Correctly!!! The look on their face... Besides their number will be on team sheet... So pointless getting annoyed

Same boy would have had no problem as he filled in the team sheet, wasn't being cheeky either just living up to his 'true Gael' status. Only time I can remember him being booked either. As I said big rumpus.
Don't Panic

Isn't the leagan Gaeilge the only official name?

I'd rather a referee abuse me verbally than throw some of the decisions that arrived at my door on Sunday. The Wicklow lads were on to something with their boots so they were.

Quote from: Rossfan on August 22, 2016, 11:11:39 PM
Isn't the leagan Gaeilge the only official name?

Tá an ceart agat. I remember filling out the old style carbon copy teamsheets and there was no english on them at all.