Do you ever speak Irish any time?

Started by seafoid, February 19, 2016, 02:32:56 PM

cicfada

I'm a native speaker and speak in it exclusively to my three boys . Herself hasn't a clue about Irish but thankfully is positively minded towards the language . They don't speak back to me in Irish but that'll happen down the road, I suppose. There's a few lads in the faaib that I speak to as gaeilge  and my siblings and mother but that's about it. Of all the parents of the children in the Gaelscoil where my boys attend I would say that there are only 4 or 5 parents they would speak it fluently, out of 80 or 80 sets of parents . It's great to see the Unionists of east Belfast learning the language as well btw. It helps destigmatise the language in my opinion. Oiche mhaith folks !

Quote from: cicfada on February 25, 2016, 04:48:46 AM
I'm a native speaker and speak in it exclusively to my three boys . Herself hasn't a clue about Irish but thankfully is positively minded towards the language . They don't speak back to me in Irish but that'll happen down the road, I suppose. There's a few lads in the faaib that I speak to as gaeilge  and my siblings and mother but that's about it. Of all the parents of the children in the Gaelscoil where my boys attend I would say that there are only 4 or 5 parents they would speak it fluently, out of 80 or 80 sets of parents . It's great to see the Unionists of east Belfast learning the language as well btw. It helps destigmatise the language in my opinion. Oiche mhaith folks !
I was in Galway looking for the book tacar Danta by Mairtin O Direain. I went into Charlie Byrnes and asked the lady behind the counter "do you have tacqr danta?". and she replied  as Gaeilge . She was maybe 25. I was so pleasantly surprised at that. I think with TG4 and the gaelscoileanna the old attitudes of shame and ignorance are getting left behind. Thank Christ

I went to a RnaG political soiree last week featuring  8 of the candidates in the election in Galway West and it was all done though Irish and very impressive. Cois Fharraige has something very special.

Quote from: cicfada on February 25, 2016, 04:48:46 AM

Surprised you didn't use the native tongue when getting the old black hacks from Bridge Street out to UUJ back in the day!!  ;D

Quote from: thejuice on February 24, 2016, 11:58:32 PM
I forgot to mention I sing this to the young lad everyday  ;D

Istigh sa Sú,
tá Babaí Cangarú,
Léim anois,
Léim anois,
Léim anois go luath.

Istigh sa Sú
tá Mamaí Changarú...
Léim anois,
Léim anois,
Léim anois go luath

Istigh sa Sú
tá Daidí Cangarú...
Léim anois,
Léim anois,
Léim anois go luath.
We used to sing gugalai gug
http://new.futafata.ie/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=162

Spoke it from I was about 6 in school up to A-level and then never kept it up.  I loved it and have decided to head back to classes to get back at it and help the young lad who is doing it at A-level as well.  I called in today to the Cumann Cultúrtha Mhic Reachtain on the Antrim Road and was chatting to the lad in there about things.  I was telling him about what we studying in respect of A- level Irish Drama and he told me that is the level they are now doing for degrees!!  Has it got easier?  We covered Cith is Dealán,  a play and the 16th century poets,  he couldn't believe that we went into that depth. 

Looking forward to getting going again

Quote from: hardstation on February 25, 2016, 01:57:16 PM
Maybe easier but certainly ever changing. Standard of prose literature would still be similar to Cith is Dealan. Plays and poetry are still there. They only do one piece of literature now though (or will do from next year). They have replaced these with other things and movement is towards examining current environment, society, careers etc rather than the ramblings of a court poet in the bardic era.

FWIW, I covered the same book at A Level & degree level so there can be crossover.

yeah,  i get that impression.  He's doing stuff on drugs in sport for his course work so it is more 'relevant'.  Ye can't bate a bit of Art Mac Cumhaigh and Peadar Ó Doirnín though!!! 

Quote from: hardstation on February 25, 2016, 02:17:03 PM
Two gurning feckers who couldn't move with the times. The Brits are here, nobody needs you to praise them anymore so go and get a real job, you pompous clown.

Go and bite me shite McCooey boy!