Started by Shrewdness, September 15, 2015, 09:06:21 AM

Quote from: PW Nally on September 19, 2015, 04:27:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 19, 2015, 04:08:30 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 19, 2015, 04:06:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 18, 2015, 11:51:03 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 18, 2015, 03:28:37 AM
Another thread that has quickly digressed into the typical mayo v Roscommon sledging.

Take it outside lads and do us all a favour.

Doing a bit too much complaining and not enough reading if you'd post that.

Really.  I suggest you read it again with the blinkers off and explain your comment.  I'm not complaining I'm explaining the majority of what this thread consists of like many others.

The sledging you are referring to was well over when you stuck your nose in. But don't let that stop you.
Just STFU every now and again and don't see every post as a personal message to you. :)

??

sligoman2

Another thread that has quickly digressed into the typical mayo v Roscommon sledging.

Really.  I suggest you read it again with the blinkers off and explain your comment.  I'm not complaining I'm explaining the majority of what this thread consists of like many others.

The sledging you are referring to was well over when you stuck your nose in. But don't let that stop you.

It's never over with ye.
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

Quote from: sligoman2 on September 19, 2015, 09:22:31 PM

It's never over with ye.
Arra, I wouldn't lose any sleep over it if I were you.
There's feck all going on here but a bit of good-humoured banter, plain and simple. I don't think anyone on either side of the fence takes anything personal out of the exchanges. If they do, they're bigger idiots than I thought.       
While I'm at it, this thread was started by a Rossie asking us Mayo heads to conform or deny rumours about unrest in the Mayo camp so if we can't tell them to go back and sort out their own mess and not stick their noses in ours, I don't know what too say.
By the same token, maybe you shouldn't get too worried about this thread or its contents. There are 17 others on the front page of the GAA section for you to choose from so there is no need really to bother yourself about this one.

Shrewdness

Lar Naparka is correct. Nobody should pay much notice of this thread, because the Mayo posters are only making the occasional 'guest' appearance on here and giving very little info. But anyone who wants to know what the Mayo's really feel, why not visit the Mayo thread in the 'Local Gaa' section, where they are holding their own little conclave.

inferiority complex
noun
an unrealistic feeling of general inadequacy caused by actual or supposed inferiority in one sphere, sometimes marked by aggressive behaviour in compensation

Perhaps we should cut H+C some slack... Afterall they didn't shoot the bad wides in the third quarter of the drawn game. Would we be partying for the next year had we won the first game, we'll never know, but the way Kerry played today maybe we would. It's useless trying to surmise it all now, but I am sick to the back teeth of been beaten by the eventual winners.  :(

Shrewdness

Fair play to you Farr, a rock of common sense as always.

Strange feelings being a Mayo man after today's game, can't help feel a sense of optimism .

To the rossies hoping for the worst, I can't blame ye in fairness but it's not goin to happen next year , we will win Connacht and it's a sure thing , two games due in castlebatr too if drawn against Galway / Ross , not a hope of an upset in mchale park even if we have no team and the county champions have to represent us.

Quote from: larryin89 on September 20, 2015, 09:31:02 PM
Strange feelings being a Mayo man after today's game, can't help feel a sense of optimism .

To the rossies hoping for the worst, I can't blame ye in fairness but it's not goin to happen next year , we will win Connacht and it's a sure thing , two games due in castlebatr too if drawn against Galway / Ross , not a hope of an upset in mchale park even if we have no team and the county champions have to represent us.
Didn't the Mayo county champions lose to Corofin in MacHale Park last year.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 20, 2015, 08:29:00 PM
Perhaps we should cut H+C some slack... Afterall they didn't shoot the bad wides in the third quarter of the drawn game. Would we be partying for the next year had we won the first game, we'll never know, but the way Kerry played today maybe we would. It's useless trying to surmise it all now, but I am sick to the back teeth of been beaten by the eventual winners.  :(

I'm fed up too if I want to go down that road. It's a downer that we lost two straight semis to the eventual winners. We could moan about Mikey missing a sitter in the drawn game this year or about Cillian missing that pressure free that would have settled matters against Kerry last year but the fact is we were six points ahead of Kerry coming into the home straight and we blew it. This year we were all over Dublin towards the end of the first game and then four points up with 20 minute to go in the replay and we still couldn't beat the hoors. I guess we don't deserve any sympathy from anyone.
In spite of the back up resources, sports psychologists and the likes, the lack of mental toughness so evident under Horan has carried over and has led to us being dumped out of the championship once again.
Feck it, anyway, this side, the attack especially, were better on paper than last year's crew so I think the issue lies in the dressing room. Maybe Laurel and Hardy aren't the only ones to blame but they are the ones in charge so the buck stops with them. They were dead men walking when they took the gig and they have to take their full share of the blame if things have gone pear-shaped in the squad.
Dunno what's going on but if Buckley jumps ship you can be sure the situation is serious. If it is and nothing is done about it, we can forget about Sam for the foreseeable future.  You can't expect the regulars to come back year after year and put the same huge effort in every time. Certainly not if the two bucks have lost control and insist on staying on.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2015, 09:41:26 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on September 20, 2015, 09:31:02 PM

Didn't the Mayo county champions lose to Corofin in MacHale Park last year.

Ohh I don't know tongue n cheek seems lost on some . Look watching the Sunday game here , sick of discussing Mayo football all night, we will Connacht in 16 , sin e. It will be thirty fookin years since Ross beat us there , yet it's the same shi te we here every year comin out of Roscommon . This was the year (once again) they were goin to come of age and then Sligo came along , the league will see them face some harsh realities next year.

I see ye're Secretary V Nearly us denying there's any unrest.
He would say that wouldn't he? ;)
And in more good news the one and only Tanman is after the U21 job .