Tyrone v Sligo Sat 1st August 2015 Croke Park - 13 years on

Started by Fuzzman, July 19, 2015, 03:54:37 PM

Quote from: CD on August 01, 2015, 10:50:30 PM
Was at the game and just got back in the door. Tyrone definitely had another gear there! Three of Sligo's late points came from handling errors by Tyrone subs and the wrong player was on the end of the two goal chances. The game was really flat, a combination of the cavernous empty spaces and the fact that the teams were so unevenly matched. The Sligo goalie had a tough afternoon. He kicked long for the first 15 minutes and Sligo didn't win a single ball so then he was instructed to kick short and had trouble finding his man. Same scenario as the Mayo game.
McCurry did a lot of good things and some really poor things - Although he'll get the plaudits for eight points, most of them were kicked in acres of room and the beaut he scored came from a poor kick out!! Still a very positive performance and there's more to come from him. McAliskey was very quiet today.

Was at game, Tyrone came out in second half like they were preparing to play Monaghan next week, ie they had 14 behind the ball v a very very limited Sligo team.
Made no sense. They were so lethargic/ appeared not to give a shit in second half
I took Tyrone -6, by the grace of God/ a crossbar that a Marden missed a last second free
I would say a ton of Tyrone punters seriously pissed off tonight
They should have won by 10 minimum

Surely tyrone are doing the right thing by sticking to their system even when they don't have to?? You can't play gung ho in one match and expect to use your defensive system when it suits.

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2015, 08:45:40 AM
Surely tyrone are doing the right thing by sticking to their system even when they don't have to?? You can't play gung ho in one match and expect to use your defensive system when it suits.

This is what I can't understand, is it asking too much for a team to have a plan B of sorts to tackle a different type of opposition or game situation.

Surely it wouldn't be too earth shattering for Tyrone to have left three up the field (or at least 2 forwards loitering around the wings on the opposition 40) to provide a more attacking options when play broke down. What if we find ourselves 4-5 down against Monaghan with 15 minutes to go. Our current (set in concrete) game plan more or less guarantees that we will lose 99/100 of those games.

Also, it appears that our forwards are being instructed to avoid going for goals when game still in the melting pot. This could come back to haunt us next week.

Would that system not already be reasonably familiar to the players? And chances are the defensive system is what is going to be needed to beat the top teams.

Agree about going for goals, they're not suddenly going to be able to start taking those chances when it counts

As an aside, how would tyrone folk rate this season? There have been some rumblings about MH after each of the last few seasons, will it be the same this time? Or has there been enough progress to keep ye happy? How much depends on the result against monaghan?

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2015, 09:42:05 AM
Would that system not already be reasonably familiar to the players? And chances are the defensive system is what is going to be needed to beat the top teams.

Agree about going for goals, they're not suddenly going to be able to start taking those chances when it counts
2 penalty goals in 4 qualifier matches for Tyrone.

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2015, 09:54:21 AM
As an aside, how would tyrone folk rate this season? There have been some rumblings about MH after each of the last few seasons, will it be the same this time? Or has there been enough progress to keep ye happy? How much depends on the result against monaghan?

The main aim was to be playing football in August, so that box is ticked and we have a shout of making a semi final. However, Mickey's contract is up for renewal at the end of this season so I would say that no matter what happens he'll pull the plug. There's been a good bit of tension behind the scenes with county board as well.

Fair play to the man for still going after all he's been through over the years.

CD

Quote from: omagh_gael on August 02, 2015, 10:31:45 AM

The main aim was to be playing football in August, so that box is ticked and we have a shout of making a semi final. However, Mickey's contract is up for renewal at the end of this season so I would say that no matter what happens he'll pull the plug. There's been a good bit of tension behind the scenes with county board as well.

Fair play to the man for still going after all he's been through over the years.
+1 on the Mickey Harte comments
If someone had told me at the start of the season we would have a decent chance of a semi final I'd definitely have taken it. Tyrone have definitely improved over the course of the season and some of the young lads introduced are going to gain excellent experience. Meyler, Brennan and particularly Bradley didn't look out of place yesterday. As a whole, the team are nowhere near as talented as the bunch we had in the noughties but teams like that come along once in a generation.
The availability of Justy, Cathal McCarron and big Clarke could be important against a physically intimidating Monaghan team.
I think we've definitely got the better day's football ahead. Monaghan v Tyrone and Mayo v Donegal are two excellent fixtures and it's genuine hard to pick favourites there. I've a feeling today's games could be over at half time.
Looking forward to another day out at Croker - it is expensive, it is a bit of a drive and I understand some of the woes expressed, but at the end of the day, it's Croke Park and I'd rather be there than anywhere else on all Ireland quarter final day. You just never know when you'll get a chance to go again!
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

sligoman

Felt we were desperate yesterday and Tyrone could have won by whatever margin they wanted but were fairly content with just beating us. Impressed by Tyrone I must say, didn't give us a sniff of a goal chance and McCurry looks a class footballer.

Quote from: CD on August 02, 2015, 11:09:21 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 02, 2015, 10:31:45 AM

+1 on the Mickey Harte comments
If someone had told me at the start of the season we would have a decent chance of a semi final I'd definitely have taken it. Tyrone have definitely improved over the course of the season and some of the young lads introduced are going to gain excellent experience. Meyler, Brennan and particularly Bradley didn't look out of place yesterday. As a whole, the team are nowhere near as talented as the bunch we had in the noughties but teams like that come along once in a generation.
The availability of Justy, Cathal McCarron and big Clarke could be important against a physically intimidating Monaghan team.
I think we've definitely got the better day's football ahead. Monaghan v Tyrone and Mayo v Donegal are two excellent fixtures and it's genuine hard to pick favourites there. I've a feeling today's games could be over at half time.
Looking forward to another day out at Croker - it is expensive, it is a bit of a drive and I understand some of the woes expressed, but at the end of the day, it's Croke Park and I'd rather be there than anywhere else on all Ireland quarter final day. You just never know when you'll get a chance to go again!

Good man, very well said.

An Watcher

Well done Tyrone and good luck the next day.

Depressing stuff from us interspersed with one or two bright spots. Management have not got a clue. They stumbled upon a formula that got us playing decent football in Division 3 but was never going to work against teams of a higher standard than that (Roscommon were lower D3 standard the evening we played them). Sligo GAA is a mess. Too many people who have not got a clue have too much say. Before this game, the clamour for Gilmartin to start as if he was some sort of saviour is just another example. We have some decent young lads coming through but the handling of some of them leaves a lot to be desired.