Clerys O'Connell St is no more

Started by armaghniac, June 12, 2015, 09:10:36 PM

Quote from: armaghniac on June 13, 2015, 07:10:35 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 13, 2015, 05:58:39 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 13, 2015, 12:15:53 PM

Shame to see Cleary's go under. Been there a long time and 'Under Cleary's Clock' is where manys a romance started.

I met a young one one night and arranged to meet her under Cleary's Clock the next day. This was life before mobile phones. I was under the clock when I thought maybe it was Eason's clock, I then spent the next half an hour running between the two clocks. Fecking bitch never turned up!

I met this young one under the Irish Times clock and she was giving out yards that some waster from the midlands hadn't shown up. I had to comfort her.

The Irish Times Clock was the meeting place for the gay scene.

There were no gays before mobile phones.

To think we'll never again say 'Meet you under Clery's clock'. Sad times. What the Jaysus will all of us do on the 8th of December? There'll be culchies roaming around the streets of Dublin in a panic.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 01:15:08 PM
To think we'll never again say 'Meet you under Clery's clock'. Sad times. What the Jaysus will all of us do on the 8th of December? There'll be culchies roaming around the streets of Dublin in a panic.

Plus ca change........