Sad day for Gaa

Started by beer baron, February 27, 2015, 05:01:30 PM

beer baron

http://www.joe.ie/sport/ballybodens-junior-b-side-rant-against-management-in-facebook-post/486562

Seen this link on Joe.ie and i know it's not exactly a credible source coming from a mans Facebook page but it's shocking if true and goes against everything the Gaa is meant to stand for. Has anyone ever had this kind of situation or know for sure if  this is true  ????

Quote from: beer baron on February 27, 2015, 05:01:30 PM
http://www.joe.ie/sport/ballybodens-junior-b-side-rant-against-management-in-facebook-post/486562

Seen this link on Joe.ie and i know it's not exactly a credible source coming from a mans Facebook page but it's shocking if true and goes against everything the Gaa is meant to stand for. Has anyone ever had this kind of situation or know for sure if  this is true  ????

Yeah that's fairly desperate stuff if true.

If it is true, you'd really hope that whoever in Ballyboden was responsible/sanctioned this was asked to stand down from any involvement in club affairs going forward.

Well I wouldnt jump to conclusions lads. Has this team being paying their way, membership etc. Some clubs forgo membership but you are expected to sell a season lotto ticket. This is being painted as an issue of a club disregarding the lesser players within their members but it could also be that these lads havent contributed anything financially and we all know it is expensive business to run a club. I have no idea what the truth is but I'm sure there are two sides to the story.

They're giving their f**king time to represent the club. The officials should be incredibly grateful for that, without the players a GAA club would be a glorified weekly raffle and pub.

Quote from: Syferus on February 28, 2015, 01:25:12 PM
They're giving their f**king time to represent the club. The officials should be incredibly grateful for that, without the players a GAA club would be a glorified weekly raffle and pub.

That post just shows your total lack of understanding of the GAA club. No money = no club at any level. I've seen a club close because people who want to play but will refuse to contribute anything financially. Who pays for the buses, the jerseys, cutting the pitch etc etc. I'm not saying that is the case in this instance - I just don't know. It costs in the region of 15-20k per annum to run a small club say with 150 members and underage. If you think its ok for players to show up to training and pay nothing at all then you are living on a different planet to me. Everyone contributes and club stays alive in my book.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 28, 2015, 02:18:47 PM

That post just shows your total lack of understanding of the GAA club. No money = no club at any level. I've seen a club close because people who want to play but will refuse to contribute anything financially. Who pays for the buses, the jerseys, cutting the pitch etc etc. I'm not saying that is the case in this instance - I just don't know. It costs in the region of 15-20k per annum to run a small club say with 150 members and underage. If you think its ok for players to show up to training and pay nothing at all then you are living on a different planet to me. Everyone contributes and club stays alive in my book.

You're the one who pulled "maybe they didn't pay their membership and they have to play the lotto instead" out of thin air. I don't think you're one to talk.

What they did was bad-minded and stupid - simple as that. Someone needs to pay the price for punishing a team for not buying enough tickets to a fundraiser. It makes Ballyboden look like a shower of cowboys.

I had a degree of sympathy until he said, 'Enda Kenny would be proud of them'.
Now I just think he's a bit of an eejit.

Quote from: Syferus on February 28, 2015, 02:45:22 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 28, 2015, 02:18:47 PM

You're the one who pulled "maybe they didn't pay their membership and they have to play the lotto instead" out of thin air. I don't think you're one to talk.

What they did was bad-minded and stupid - simple as that. Someone needs to pay the price for punishing a team for not buying enough tickets to a fundraiser. It makes Ballyboden look like a shower of cowboys.
I don't know what happened yet, same as everyone else here but I'm inclined to agree with you.
One or more on the official side make a petty and vindictive decision.
It seems the bucko who posted this rant and his team mates were taken completely by surprise.
So they would have had no advance warning that the  game was going to be cancelled if they didn't buy enough tickets for the dancing competition.
Were they told that this would happening  if more of them did not buy those tickets?
Can't be certain but it seems they were caught by surprise. Bad form by some official or other.
But that's not the whole of it.
What about those who did buy those blasted tickets and still had their game cancelled at short notice? Seems pretty hard on them, doesn't it?