Kilmacud 7s 2014

Started by ONeill, September 20, 2014, 12:16:17 PM

Its been a great ride and hopefully we can win another Antrim championship this year. But the lads will tell you Cross are the only team that can be mentioned as being know as the best!!

It would be interesting Milltown to see the medal tally for lads like Sean Kelly and Zinedine McGourty from minor, U21 and senior. Must be well into the teens.

Fair play to ST Galls for playing away with hurling and footballing championships still ongoing.

Is kevin Mc Gourty still playing or is he done?
How many Mc Gourtys are likely to play for Antrim next year?

Kidder81

Quote from: ONeill on September 20, 2014, 10:53:31 PM
That St Gall's side deserves to be mentioned when the great club sides of all time are discussed.

A right few of them are preparing for the county hurling final too.

Really? Are you factoring in their 7s record? It is irrelevant, the 7s is a social gathering with a bit of football thrown in.

Quote from: Kidder81 on September 21, 2014, 08:57:11 AM
That St Gall's side deserves to be mentioned when the great club sides of all time are discussed.

Really? Are you factoring in their 7s record? It is irrelevant, the 7s is a social gathering with a bit of football thrown in.

Youre right Kidder, a social gathering, first drinks usually after the first match, water bottles are actually contain whiskey and they are only down for the craic. How many social gatherings have you played in?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2014, 11:07:40 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on September 21, 2014, 08:57:11 AM

Youre right Kidder, a social gathering, first drinks usually after the first match, water bottles are actually contain whiskey and they are only down for the craic. How many social gatherings have you played in?

The one time I played in the 7s, it was certainly more social than football.

cockahoop

Quote from: ONeill on September 20, 2014, 11:21:29 PM
No doubt about that but up there in the top 3 of all time from Ulster (in my time). Burren probably second.

Too young to remember Scotstown and Clanns.

Ulster Club football roll of honour

1   Crossmaglen Rangers   10   
2   St. Mary's Burren   5   
3   Bellaghy                   4     
        Scotstown                   4     
5   Clan na Gael           3     
        St. Gall's                   3     
        Ballinderry            3   

Cross obviously the stand out team from ulster but i remeber that great burren team well,fantastic outfit,being a derry man i know Bellaghy and ballinderry well and this past 10 odd years ballinderry have been outstanding,Bellahys titles are more spread out over the decades and shows they are a great club who have great tradition,St galls in the modern era are up there,maybe not to the level of Cross but id put them 2nd in recent times,in fact joint 2nd with Ballinderry.