Fish Hook Mickey Burke

Started by squire_in_navy_slacks, July 20, 2014, 08:18:06 PM

O'Dowd must have been lying so. Surely he should apologise to O'Gara now

If this were Armagh & Tyrone (or Galvin), they'd be getting bans all over the shop.

Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2014, 06:42:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 23, 2014, 06:40:34 PM

Quote from: Jinxy on July 21, 2014, 05:25:02 PM
Why is Bernard Brogans face circled?

Clearly he is orchestrating the whole thing and should be immediately placed on the Sunday Game Panel as punishment. In fact Paul Flynn and MDMA should be there with him.

The above punishment should end only when until Mayo are out of the Championship.

So they won't missing any matches so?

If they are on TSG panel, they will be lucky to see the highlights.

Ohtoohtobe

Quote from: INDIANA on July 22, 2014, 04:05:31 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 22, 2014, 03:57:35 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 22, 2014, 01:49:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 22, 2014, 10:57:18 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 21, 2014, 09:54:41 PM
I'm fairly indifferent to the whole thing tbh but O'Gara 'started it' as you say by doing what he always does i.e. throwing his weight around.
He fouled Kevin Reilly then held him down on the ground.
That's why the other players ran in.
That's the long and the short of it.
And then it looks as if he sunk his teeth into a loose leg.
If so, there are no excuses for that deranged action, provocation does not justify it and definitely not when he was an instigator in the whole scene.
Also it doesn't matter how gutless Meath were in the game, they have every right to highlight the accusation.

There is no allegation regarding sinking his teeth into somebody's leg thus far. This is the type of bullshit we have to put up with it.

Yes, the poor Dubs, people should stick to talking about the three real cases of biting they've been involved in

No they should stick to the one case that's been proven while Mayo should maybe ask for a transfer of a few forwards.

It's four if you count the footage of Philly McMahon having a nip of a Cork forward's shoulder.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2014, 03:42:14 AM
I'm fairly indifferent to the whole thing tbh but O'Gara 'started it' as you say by doing what he always does i.e. throwing his weight around.
If so, there are no excuses for that deranged action, provocation does not justify it and definitely not when he was an instigator in the whole scene.
Also it doesn't matter how gutless Meath were in the game, they have every right to highlight the accusation.

There is no allegation regarding sinking his teeth into somebody's leg thus far. This is the type of bullshit we have to put up with it.

Yes, the poor Dubs, people should stick to talking about the three real cases of biting they've been involved in

No they should stick to the one case that's been proven while Mayo should maybe ask for a transfer of a few forwards.

It's four if you count the footage of Philly McMahon having a nip of a Cork forward's shoulder.
eh no it's not. Counting Philly McMahon makes it 2. Going by your assertion any player can make an accusation against another player not turn up to the hearing and that said player is held as guilty due to lack of proof, laughable really!

Quote from: Main Street on July 23, 2014, 01:02:50 PM
Credit to the Meath camp who decided not to pursue this any more than was deemed necessary. And no doubt, a player would hardly want to put himself in the position of testifying against another player.
Meath didnt pursue it when they realised that any investingation would lead to far more Meath suspensions than Dublin suspensions.

Quote from: rrhf on July 23, 2014, 06:02:47 PM
As for the dubs, it appears they get very little stick from the media for the dark arts.  Talk about toeing the line.  I seen enough in the last 10 minutes of last years all ireland final, to believe they are currently the most cynical team in Ireland,,, but by God they play some lovely football too.
10 minutes left in an All Ireland final. Down to 13 fit players and no subs left, and they resort to fouling anytime they get near a Mayoman to hold onto their lead.

Any you say, this is enough evidence for you to conclude they are currently the most cynical team in Ireland   ;D

That's astutue analysis alright.

Johnnybegood

In a game where the free count was 3:1 against, playing a team that did a whole lot worse the year previous. What's good for goose!

Ohtoohtobe

Ah yeah I meant four alleged incidents. Personally I believe O'Gara bit Burke though the severe provocation makes it somewhat understandable. I also believe McBrearty was bitten for the same reason I believe the Gooch was bitten against Tyrone - because I don't believe players would make it up. But fair enough, the evidence is circumstantial at best and nothing has been proven.

criostlinn

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 24, 2014, 10:45:15 AM
In a game where the free count was 3:1 against, playing a team that did a whole lot worse the year previous. What's good for goose!

3:1 free count against. I'm confused how is that justification for resorting to cynical fouling and when you say they were playing a team that did a whole lot worse the previous year. How was it a whole lot worse.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: criostlinn on July 24, 2014, 01:12:29 PM

3:1 free count against. I'm confused how is that justification for resorting to cynical fouling and when you say they were playing a team that did a whole lot worse the previous year. How was it a whole lot worse.
every time Dublin attacked against Mayo when they were ten points down in the 2012 semi final mayo constantly dragged their man down! Cynical tactics no?
The free count in last years final was disproportionate to the actual game! Mayo got a lot of soft frees IMO , they are one of the better teams at hitting the ground under the slightest of contact and good luck to them!

criostlinn

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 24, 2014, 01:53:09 PM

every time Dublin attacked against Mayo when they were ten points down in the 2012 semi final mayo constantly dragged their man down! Cynical tactics no?
The free count in last years final was disproportionate to the actual game! Mayo got a lot of soft frees IMO , they are one of the better teams at hitting the ground under the slightest of contact and good luck to them!

Every time they attacked, really . Ok I know you can use the internet because your posting on this site. Have a look at the game again on Youtube before posting such nonsense. Yes Mayo we're cynical but a whole lot worse then Dublin in last years final. Come on.

As for your second point. Ah yes I remember that. Jim Gavin's mantra after the game. I think your a bit out on it thou. Was he not saying poor auld Dublin couldn't play the lovely free flowing football and had to resort to dragging men down at the end, not because they were cynical or anything like that. They were so frustrated by the ref, it's all they could do. But the new version is Mayo were going to ground so handy. Brilliant. Does the bullshit from Dublin have no end.
Listen just be honest about it like Hound ? Dublin were cynical in last years final to finish out the game, same as Mayo in 2012 and same as I'd expect Mayo to have done last year if in the same position. Why the bullshit and blaming everyone else.

Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2014, 11:32:53 AM

Ah yeah I meant four alleged incidents. Personally I believe O'Gara bit Burke though the severe provocation makes it somewhat understandable. I also believe McBrearty was bitten for the same reason I believe the Gooch was bitten against Tyrone - because I don't believe players would make it up. But fair enough, the evidence is circumstantial at best and nothing has been proven.

What I don't get is 'Why?'. Why in the name of Jaysus would you *bite* someone? You don't really hurt them, you look like a little girl to you and your opponent, and you risk being absolutely castigated if it comes out.

The O'Gara incident appears to be a thing of nothing. Finger in mouth, deliberate or accidental bite in a schemozzle is not unusual. But this lark of biting a lads arm, or his shoulder I just don't understand it at all.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: criostlinn on July 24, 2014, 03:12:47 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 24, 2014, 01:53:09 PM

Every time they attacked, really . Ok I know you can use the internet because your posting on this site. Have a look at the game again on Youtube before posting such nonsense. Yes Mayo we're cynical but a whole lot worse then Dublin in last years final. Come on.

As for your second point. Ah yes I remember that. Jim Gavin's mantra after the game. I think your a bit out on it thou. Was he not saying poor auld Dublin couldn't play the lovely free flowing football and had to resort to dragging men down at the end, not because they were cynical or anything like that. They were so frustrated by the ref, it's all they could do. But the new version is Mayo were going to ground so handy. Brilliant. Does the bullshit from Dublin have no end.
Listen just be honest about it like Hound ? Dublin were cynical in last years final to finish out the game, same as Mayo in 2012 and same as I'd expect Mayo to have done last year if in the same position. Why the bullshit and blaming everyone else.
at no point did I point any finger if blame I merely suggested in response to a post that Dublin are the most cynical team in the land by citing their (dublin) actions against a team in last years final similar to the actions of the said team(Mayo) in the years previous semi final . The free count was 3:1 in the final. Mayo dive at the slightest of contact but it doesn't really matter because Dublin are a far superior team than Mayo due to packed lunches , state of the art facilities, professional players, a population advantage and we play all our games at home !
All we need now is a bus!
Ah feck that we should get a jet and Jim could fly it!

criostlinn

Right so. It was similar now. Not way worse like you previously suggested. As for diving comment. I take exception to this but since it's coming from such an idiot I think I'll just ignore.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: criostlinn on July 24, 2014, 04:05:43 PM
Right so. It was similar now. Not way worse like you previously suggested. As for diving comment. I take exception to this but since it's coming from such an idiot I think I'll just ignore.
coming to think of it it was worse! Btw Dublin teams of the past were very good at diving, namely the team of the 00s and if you want to resort to name calling to another with a different viewpoint to your own by all means feel free to ignore!

Ohtoohtobe

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2014, 03:18:38 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2014, 11:32:53 AM

What I don't get is 'Why?'. Why in the name of Jaysus would you *bite* someone? You don't really hurt them, you look like a little girl to you and your opponent, and you risk being absolutely castigated if it comes out.

The O'Gara incident appears to be a thing of nothing. Finger in mouth, deliberate or accidental bite in a schemozzle is not unusual. But this lark of biting a lads arm, or his shoulder I just don't understand it at all.

I wonder that meself. It's probably the last thing it would occur to me to do on a football field. That and spitting, I suppose. I know things are tougher/dirtier at the top level and I've heard horror stories of what players (from all counties) will do/say but what is going through McMahon's head when he does something like this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rh6YQBgD-0A
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rh6YQBgD-0A