Roscommon vs. Letrim Connacht SFC QF, 18th May 2014

Started by Syferus, May 03, 2014, 04:53:07 PM

Shrewdness

Reading today that Senan Kilbride and Cathal Shine were on antibiotics for the past week. That could explain why Kilbride went off after 53 minutes because he didn't seem injured.

Collie Brolly

Cathal Cregg should have been takin off yesterday.He was very poor.Maybe he should be redeployed at 11 with Donie takin midfield off Cathal Shine.The gun had a great game,he could have had 5/6.Improvement needed big time,second half was very slack.Anyone any updates on injuries?

Well we saw off the lesser smelly neighbours in a routine expected victory in a subdued atmosphere to say the least.
Not that many Layths around as they obv expected to get bet and the heavy rain around earlier probably put off lukewarm followers. Still 8,000 out of the 2 Cos. combined population of 90,000 is some going and will be bigger than 6 or 7 of the Leinster games I suspect.
Excellent football from our lads in the first half, dopey oul D3 sh1te in the second as we had it more than sewn up. half a dozen of our lads didn't perform, a couple of mad substitutions, Donie couldn't hit the mouth of the Shannon yesterday, We only played for half the game  - yet won by eight points.
2 points in particular from Senan and Ciarán Murtagh were very special. Good work from our FB line, HB line poor, Midfield hit and miss, Cregg and Donie awful, Senan retired after 25 minutes or so, Stackeen steady and in the right place for the goal, C Murtagh well worth his starting place., D Murtagh excellent when he came on, Enda Smith ok, O'Gara middlin, Nally and Burns ... nice to see them get a run but won't be let near the pitch v Mayowestros (plusabitofSligo now as well).

Agree with Sligonian - that Junior game was bloody awful stuff. :'(

I only caught the part where Tommy Marren was previewing his show on the Breakfast Show on MWR this morning, but €30 for a preliminary match for the stand?? €25 for terrace, no wonder there was a smallish crowd at it. Rossfan said it all, only played for half the game yet won by 8. I think it'll be a while again before Ros only play for half the game...

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 19, 2014, 08:42:55 PM
I think it'll be a while again before Ros only play for half the game...
We only played for 15-20 minutes against ye last year which was half a half....  :-\

Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 08:23:15 PM
Senan retired after 25 minutes or so
His championship average is 3 points per game he knew his game was up after his 3rd point yesterday  ;)

Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 08:23:15 PM
Agree with Sligonian - that Junior game was bloody awful stuff

Thankfully missed it sounded like a shocking game alright TBH hard to have much interest in that competition when our bucks choose not to compete.

€30 for a preliminary match for the stand?? €25 for terrace,
I had me season ticket .... but wasn't it €25 and €20 ????

Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 09:28:53 PM

You could be right. The bit I heard was about a lady who brought her son along and didn't have enough to get in.

Were those feckin' reserved seats for ye posh lads? The ould lad was about to suplex the cocky steward after hearing about this reserved shite.

I see the gold Club Rossie lads have taken over the industrial unit on the county home road.

Quote from: Syferus on May 19, 2014, 09:52:52 PM

Were those feckin' reserved seats for ye posh lads? I see the gold Club Rossie lads have taken over the industrial unit on the county home road.

Nothing's too good for us superfans  8) 8)

Wait till the new Hyde comes along with it's "Platinum Suite" -- they'll have a special pen for me few sheep as well ....

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 18, 2014, 09:10:13 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 09:00:03 PM
Congrats to the Sligo Juniors Sligonian.
no congrats necessary shrewdness, one of worst matches I've ever seen, shocking bad from us, never felt as pissed off after a win, look a lot of people will say ye won there's no pleasing you but 5/6 possible starters against Galway we should be a lot better than that. It was awful stuff. It's a nothing competition, I just look for form and who can potentially play senior and tactics but nothing more. The win is meaningless.

I've heard it was terrible stuff alright from numerous sources. Looking at the pictures of the presentation of the cup and motm award the two recipients look seriously pissed off, not like lads who won a match! Never recall seeing that before.

Tbh I took heart from those photos, the was no hiding the disgust and in fairness to Martyn he did well and Rooney was by far the best player on show, but anyman with an honest bone in his body would not want there name associated with that performance

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 20, 2014, 12:54:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 18, 2014, 09:10:13 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 09:00:03 PM
Congrats to the Sligo Juniors Sligonian.
no congrats necessary shrewdness, one of worst matches I've ever seen, shocking bad from us, never felt as pissed off after a win, look a lot of people will say ye won there's no pleasing you but 5/6 possible starters against Galway we should be a lot better than that. It was awful stuff. It's a nothing competition, I just look for form and who can potentially play senior and tactics but nothing more. The win is meaningless.

I've heard it was terrible stuff alright from numerous sources. Looking at the pictures of the presentation of the cup and motm award the two recipients look seriously pissed off, not like lads who won a match! Never recall seeing that before.

Did they look as pissed off as much as this fella last July?