20+ murdered in US school shooting. Many primary school children among the dead.

Started by Puckoon, December 14, 2012, 06:07:01 PM

The Republican Congressman for Virginia reckons if every school teacher in every school in the US was packing heat they will be able to avert massacres like Newtown.

I had to bow out of a discussion yesterday when it was suggested that I wanted to see more deaths by arguing against the same thing. The actual quote was "Do you think it was fair that the only person armed in that school was the gunman, and not the 6 adults who were killed"?

dec

The first victim, Nancy Lanza, had many guns. That did not stop her becoming the first victim or prevent this tragedy from happening, in fact it contributed to what happened.

Adam Lanza tried to buy a gun a few days before but gun control laws prevented that from happening. However because Connecticut's laws allowed Nancy Lanza to purchase and keep semi automatic weapons at home, Adam Lanza was able to arm himself and kill his victims.

Quote from: Main Street on December 16, 2012, 07:32:52 PM
The part of Gary Younge's article I'd take exception to is this bit, just for the way that it implies that the Democrats are a pro-gun regulation party.

'The trouble is that people feel powerless to do anything about it. The gun lobby has proved sufficiently potent in rallying opposition to virtually all gun control measures that Democrats have all but given up on arguing for it.'

Afaics, the Democrat party and the Republican party have equal culpability in the lack of political will to enforce gun control regulations.

Damn straight. well said main street.

Quote from: Puckoon on December 19, 2012, 07:44:48 PM
I had to bow out of a discussion yesterday when it was suggested that I wanted to see more deaths by arguing against the same thing. The actual quote was "Do you think it was fair that the only person armed in that school was the gunman, and not the 6 adults who were killed"?

Wisconsin is full to bursting with hunters, I just this afternoon fcuked off a friend of 17 years because he is very much pro NRA and owns several semi automatic weapons as well as pistols, rifles and big long fooking knives! he actually told me  that " guns dont kill people.................people kill people"

We will be fine, he is a good lad but he can keep that sort of shite well away from me, those kids were not killed by words, they were killed by automatic gunfire in the hands of a madman who, although mentally challenged, was able to get weapons that killed near 30 people!

the NRA can kiss my arse, they are a shower of bastards.

When I was a nipper, my mammy told me never to play with fire.

I wonder why? Fire is a great thing to play with. Sure whats the worst that can happen?

Quote from: Orior on December 19, 2012, 09:36:44 PM
When I was a nipper, my    mammy told me never to play with fire.

I wonder why? Fire is a great thing to play with. Sure whats the worst that can happen?

Mom???

We call it Ma up in this part of the world

Quote from: stew on December 19, 2012, 09:36:20 PM

Wisconsin is full to bursting with hunters, I just this afternoon fcuked off a friend of 17 years because he is very much pro NRA and owns several semi automatic weapons as well as pistols, rifles and big long fooking knives! he actually told me  that " guns dont kill people.................people kill people"
We will be fine, he is a good lad but he can keep that sort of shite well away from me, those kids were not killed by words, they were killed by automatic gunfire in the hands of a madman who, although mentally challenged, was able to get weapons that killed near 30 people!

the NRA can kiss my arse, they are a shower of b**tards.

That sort of shite really pisses me off. Idiots.

In a lot of ways I really love the US but for all its greatness it gets some apparently simple things horrifically wrong.

Quote from: dec on December 19, 2012, 07:51:52 PM
The first victim, Nancy Lanza, had many guns. That did not stop her becoming the first victim or prevent this tragedy from happening, in fact it contributed to what happened.

Adam Lanza tried to buy a gun a few days before but gun control laws prevented that from happening. However because Connecticut's laws allowed Nancy Lanza to purchase and keep semi automatic weapons at home, Adam Lanza was able to arm himself and kill his victims.

There is that point that gun control laws did say that Adam Lanza was not allowed own a gun, and that guns were not allowed in that school building. Yet Lanza still got around those laws. If gun control laws were stricter would a psycho like him still have found a way to get a gun? It would have been more difficult for sure.

For all the focus on the USA, the easy access to guns, gun culture, massacres, backwardness, extreme right wingers and religious nut cases, it's pale in comparison to what has gone on across Europe, post WW2.

Quote from: theticklemister on December 19, 2012, 09:40:53 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 19, 2012, 09:36:44 PM
When I was a nipper, my    mammy told me never to play with fire.

Mom???

We call it Ma up in this part of the world

How do you know my Mammy?  :(

Quote from: dec on December 19, 2012, 07:51:52 PM

I have an American facebook friend who is an active member of the NRA. They believe that we Europeans are still under the thumb of royalty and government, whereas the USA government will never push them, because they have guns.

Quote from: magpie seanie on December 19, 2012, 10:03:26 PM
Quote from: stew on December 19, 2012, 09:36:20 PM

the NRA can kiss my arse, they are a shower of b**tards.

That sort of shite really pisses me off. Idiots.

In a lot of ways I really love the US but for all its greatness it gets some apparently simple things horrifically wrong.

This is the ultimate con.

I stop them at 'guns don't kill people...' and ask what the official cause of death was?

In the last few day I got a 'spoons made me fat' reply to the above.

I asked 'were spoons the cause of your obesity or the juggernaught of food that the spoon transported to your mouth? Oh and the bullets the gun transported to those children were the cause of death'.

give her dixie

Well done to the protester who just stood up at the NRA press conference with a banner
"NRA killing our kids"

next stop, September 10, for number 4......