Cill Dara v Luimneach

Started by Donnellys Hollow, July 16, 2012, 08:57:27 AM

Quote from: The Burner on July 23, 2012, 10:27:16 AM
Ya no arguments he should have been sent off, the frustration got the better of him but Id never criticise the man He has soldiered with Limerick for year and is probably close to the end now. Im not after some personal gratification by jumping up and down about being a Limerick football supporter just trying to do my bit to raise the profile. I might go a bit overboard at time but most supporters do. I mean Spillane last night on the Sunday game again putting us down "this a team that lost to Clare, and we all saw how bad they were against Cork". Yes Pat we lost to Clare it can happen on a given day , but we are a team who got to an All-Ireland quarter final, have put it up to Cork everytime we have played them over the last few years. We have quality footballers like Johnny McCarthy, Ian Ryan, Pa Ranahan, Seanie Buckley, John O Riordan, Ger Collins, Stephen Kelly. I mean Johnny McCarthy  would get on any team in the country and outside of Munster he has probably never even been heard of.

I wouldn't be Mcgeeney s biggest fan but at least he alluded to some of the above points after the match. There are countys all over Ireland who could learn a lot from the Limerick footballers. They go out every year written off by everyone, being sneered at by people from their own county, Being treated with sheer ignorance by the media. They don't do it for the fame or glamour of it all. Outside of John Galvin and Ian Ryan not many would be recognised on the streets of Limerick, They do it for the love of the jersey and pride in their county. People asking before the game how I thought they'd get on and I wasn't worried. I Knew regardless of it all they would give everything and id walk out of O Moore park proud to be a Limerick football supporter, Ill retire to my shell until next year Dinny but Ill be back again next year championing the cause because someone has to do it. Best of Luck to ye for the rest of the year and keep the faith.

Fair play. The Limerick supporters that were in attendance on Saturday night were excellent and the team did them proud.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 10:33:04 AM
Quote from: The Burner on July 23, 2012, 10:27:16 AM
Ya no arguments he should have been sent off, the frustration got the better of him but Id never criticise the man He has soldiered with Limerick for year and is probably close to the end now. Im not after some personal gratification by jumping up and down about being a Limerick football supporter just trying to do my bit to raise the profile. I might go a bit overboard at time but most supporters do. I mean Spillane last night on the Sunday game again putting us down "this a team that lost to Clare, and we all saw how bad they were against Cork". Yes Pat we lost to Clare it can happen on a given day , but we are a team who got to an All-Ireland quarter final, have put it up to Cork everytime we have played them over the last few years. We have quality footballers like Johnny McCarthy, Ian Ryan, Pa Ranahan, Seanie Buckley, John O Riordan, Ger Collins, Stephen Kelly. I mean Johnny McCarthy  would get on any team in the country and outside of Munster he has probably never even been heard of.

I wouldn't be Mcgeeney s biggest fan but at least he alluded to some of the above points after the match. There are countys all over Ireland who could learn a lot from the Limerick footballers. They go out every year written off by everyone, being sneered at by people from their own county, Being treated with sheer ignorance by the media. They don't do it for the fame or glamour of it all. Outside of John Galvin and Ian Ryan not many would be recognised on the streets of Limerick, They do it for the love of the jersey and pride in their county. People asking before the game how I thought they'd get on and I wasn't worried. I Knew regardless of it all they would give everything and id walk out of O Moore park proud to be a Limerick football supporter, Ill retire to my shell until next year Dinny but Ill be back again next year championing the cause because someone has to do it. Best of Luck to ye for the rest of the year and keep the faith.

Fair play. The Limerick supporters that were in attendance on Saturday night were excellent and the team did them proud.

The final score in normal time reminded me of the Bulgaria v France World cup qualifier game in 1993. The Limerick fella that had possession of the ball must be kicking himself now.

LilySavage

Great comparison re Bulgaria V France! David Ginola the culprit.

Limericks Stephen Lucey ate the Limerick chap who lost possession at fulltime, he knew that was it gone, there and then.

This was simply a brilliant catch on last Saturday