Peter Canavan’s Best Club Points

Started by Hereiam, June 26, 2012, 11:44:37 AM

God14

What about his punch ups with akermanis? or the infamous scrap against Dungannon approx 97? He had a temper on him, but that temper also set him out as a winner. And that unpredicability made him all the more fascinating to watch. Whatever anyone says about Canavan - he was pure entertainment. Anything could and often would happen when he was involved. I used to attend the odd Errigal game simply just to watch the man. A genius, and easily the best footballer I have had the pleasure to watch.

Another thing about Canavan - when he started out in the early 90's his game was built heavily on pace. He was a pure speed merchant. After the bad injuries 96-98 many including myself thought he was finished, as the pace was gone. He struggled for a year or so before reinventing himself. His brain & vision just got shaper & shaper meaning he always seemed to forage a few yards head start over his man.

Quote from: Hardy on June 27, 2012, 11:32:47 PM
Yaboya cville. Finally a touch of realism on this thread.

Funny how the Meath boys can always relate to the Armagh lads
Birds of a feather I suppose.

I wonder what Gooch things of Peter and vice versa
The game has changed a lot in the last 5-10 years so I think its harder now for a talented player to go on such mazy runs and beat several men to score great points.
Gooch though is good under a high ball to outfield his man and turn and drive it to the net. Peter was dependant on others for stuff like that.

Has nobody any memory of the headed goal he scored in the US one year?

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 28, 2012, 01:35:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 27, 2012, 11:32:47 PM
Yaboya cville. Finally a touch of realism on this thread.

Funny how the Meath boys can always relate to the Armagh lads
Birds of a feather I suppose.

I wonder what Gooch things of Peter and vice versa
The game has changed a lot in the last 5-10 years so I think its harder now for a talented player to go on such mazy runs and beat several men to score great points.
Gooch though is good under a high ball to outfield his man and turn and drive it to the net. Peter was dependant on others for stuff like that.

Has nobody any memory of the headed goal he scored in the US one year?

From watching that video Fuzz Canavan caught his fair share of high ball for all the size of him.

The Tyrone lads of the mid 90s affectionately nicknamed  him 'The Ferret' due to the way he was able to dash through defenders like we saw in the video clip !

NaomhBridAbú

Quote from: EagleLord on June 27, 2012, 02:03:34 PM
This 'flick-up' yous are talkin about, i knew i had seen that online somewhere! So I trawled! and think I found it! Or was there more than one? its at 2.56 in the video. Looks like its vs Cavan..

http://youtu.be/iIlsRsMMJUc

Seen a few class things over the years in club football, just a pity that many of the games went uncaptured really. Only really say last 5 years would clubs videoing games have become the norm.

excellent promo clip - much better than the ad campaign for this year
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye