Helmets

Started by theticklemister, July 12, 2012, 10:39:59 PM

Should helmets only be put on before the start of the game?

Aye
6 (66.7%)
Na
3 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 9

lads ye not think it is about time that county hurlers during the parade and when standing for the anthem remove their helmets to let the people have a look at their heros. many people outside the county don't have a clue who these players are. I took a trip to Kilkenny last year after they recaptured Liam and the craic in the town was unbelievable but I only recognised some of the hurling champions as they were kitted in the same shirt / trouser combo.

It would be a great boost for Hurling if youngsters could recognise the players.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

didlyi

Ya its a big pity. Unfortunately the compulsary use of helmets has removed alot of the player charisma that existed in the past. Every effort should be made to put faces with names.

Could each team not wear the same colour helmets, possibly the same colour as their jerseys, rather than the mish mash we see at the moment

well suppose players like the comfort of their own helmet, and does Eoin Larkin not wear the green and red colours because of his club? That might be another reason.

Perhaps they could have a photo of their face on the back of their helmets?

Quote from: theticklemister on July 15, 2012, 07:29:11 PM
well suppose players like the comfort of their own helmet, and does Eoin Larkin not wear the green and red colours because of his club? That might be another reason.

A lot of hurlers wear their club colours on their helmets, at least you've a chance of distinguishing one hurler from the next quickly.

Quote from: theticklemister on July 12, 2012, 10:39:59 PM
lads ye not think it is about time that county hurlers during the parade and when standing for the anthem remove their helmets to let the people have a look at their heros. many people outside the county don't have a clue who these players are. I took a trip to Kilkenny last year after they recaptured Liam and the craic in the town was unbelievable but I only recognised some of the hurling champions as they were kitted in the same shirt / trouser combo.

It would be a great boost for Hurling if youngsters could recognise the players.

We were talking about this in San Francisco last year when we had the hurling all-stars in town.  We had various functions that week but when it came to mingling with the players we hadn't a clue who they were apart from John Mullane and a few others.

In American sports like American football, any time a player's name appears on the screen, they have a graphic that pop up showing what he looks like without the helmet.  I suppose that helps. 

They do have the odd caption on players during the SG but not enough.

Will I take this to Congress then?? If me and my oul Mucker Eamonnca1 are agreeing on the same thing, it has to surly pass without a doubt!!!! :D :D :D :D :D

andoireabu

Quote from: theticklemister on July 12, 2012, 10:39:59 PM

Do people not look at the flag during the anthem? And should the helmet not be off as a sign of respect the same way aul lads take the flat caps off?
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!