Tír Eoghain V An Mhi Sat 24th March @ 7pm

Started by never kickt a ball, March 18, 2012, 08:47:13 PM

squire_in_navy_slacks

Very disappointing from Meath, some of those lads should hang there heads.................I dont think ye have the right manager there but some of the players need to pull there socks up and show some bloody pride

barelegs

In all seriousness I don't think I've ever seen a worse Meath team. They were, truth be told very lucky only to have been beaten by 10 points. If Kyle Coney's radar been firing perfectly he could have easily had 8 or 9 points himself. As it was he still managed 4. He wasn't the only one but it highlights the point.

The strange thing was a lot of these Meath players were playing in an All Ireland semi final not that long ago. To what extent Meath's performance was down to Meath being poor or Tyrone being that good remains to be seen.

The most noticeable thing tonight was the difference in pace between the two teams. Players like McCrory, McCarron, Harte and McNabb have got an incredible turn of foot and Meath just couldn't live with it. It's what Tyrone have been missing for the last couple of years and it's helping produce some of the best football they've played in ages.

Banty will be gone at the end of the season but the problem runs much deeper than that.
There needs to be a serious clear out of players who just don't seem to have the necessary edge for intercounty football.
Pick young, fast, hard-working players and get someone like Gerry McEntee involved.
Bring the players to the hospital to train if necessary, they can run around the car park.

squire_in_navy_slacks

At least ya have that guy from the movie "KickAss"

Why isn't Mickey Newman on the Meath panel?

Because we already have loads of natural forwards.  :D

bhgmk

Ah lads, it was the longest, most depressing drive home I've had in a long time. Reminded me of the awful day against Limerick when Coyle was at the helm.

Very few posititves to take from that performance, although I thought (in my own totally biased way) that young Tobin did as well as anyone for us.

I guess whatever plan/tactics Banty is trying to impose just isn't working. Don't think it's all his fault but the players can't shoulder all the blame either. 
We looked sluggish. The Tyrone lads had such sharpness by comparison.  Is it the training? is it the tactics? is it that we just don't have the players?

Am really not looking forward to the Louth game, even the Tyrone supporters tonight were saying that Louth gave them a much better game.

How far we've come from the guarded optimism that night in Páirc Tailteann against Kildare  :( :(

3. K Reilly
5. D Tobin
6. B Menton
7. C Lenehan
9. S O'Rourke
10. G Reilly
11. S Kenny
12. S McAnerney
13. P Gilsenan
14. S Bray

The above is the team I would start in the championship.
You'll notice there are a lot of blank spaces.
The players that have been playing in those positions are either too slow, lack commitment or lack the required ability.
I believe the players I've included have heart, ability and a decent bit of pace.
Five new players are needed.
Obviously I'm not deranged enough to think we'll find five new players before the start of the championship.
The players I've named are up to the standard, the rest are not.

bhgmk

If we had 15 players with Gilesnan's attitude we'd be able to hold our heads up high.  Agree with you on the pace, the difference was shocking tonight. Lenehan came on with the right attitude in fairness, was the most impressive of the subs.  Wasn't sure why Walsh was taken off - he's not the problem in mid-field, but meade isn't the answer either.  A walsh/gilsenan combination would be very raw and untested, but might have the hunger to make it work while we're waiting on O'Rourke. I notice you don't include M Burke - would he have a better chance on the wing than in the corner?
And if not Gallagher then who?

I'm not suggesting there are players available that can slot into those positions.
I'm saying I wish there was.
Mickey Burke has a great engine and he'll motor along with the ball but we need corner backs that can defend.
I think a half back line of Tobin, Menton and Lenehan could do a serious job but they need time & a bit of patience.
They're all 21/22 years of age.
We need corner backs, a goalie and a midfielder.

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 25, 2012, 12:02:33 AM
At least ya have that guy from the movie "KickAss"

we can see now that the head wrappings of 96 have been well and truly returned. hardy, banty, o connell, hector,  terry wogan, geraghty your guys took one hell of a beating.

Club Rossa

Meath were fortunate that Tyrone were so wasteful,it could have ended up a 20 point margin and that's no exaggeration.Tyrone defence was very good,Kyle and Stevie were excellent but i would give MOM to Mark Donnelly.He covered every blade of grass and put in a huge shift.

Quote from: everymanaman on March 24, 2012, 09:08:05 PM
Mark Donnelly some game for Tyrone- McNabb never wasted a ball either.

Agreed, very impressed with Mc Nabb's movement and ball distribution - sprayed some beautiful ball inside.

Sea The Stars

Quote from: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 12:05:27 AM
Because we already have loads of natural forwards.  :D

Mickey Newman is incredibly "gifted" but he's similiar to the kind of forwards we have already, e.g. Ward, Reilly, Queeney, Farrell, the O'Rourkes, Joe while he was there. He has fantastic feet and plays with an elegance but I ask the question to those who know him better: Does he work hard enough? I'm not sure Meath are crying out for a player like Newman which I guess is unfortunate for him because he is very good.

Personally, I'd be more in favour of Daragh Smyth (gone from panel?), Mark Collins (inj / gone from panel?), Alan Forde or Damian Carroll (an option at midfield? - yes I would say) starting in the forwards.

I wouldn't find fault with Jinxy's team above. I like his idea of giving the younger players a chance. I'd add in Carroll at midfield, find a place for a 100% fit Mark Collins in HF line. 15 is tough - maybe Alan Forde although I think it'll be a year before he comes into his own. But he is a good prospect.