Belfast Telegraph

Started by Pangurban, September 10, 2010, 03:22:25 AM

anglocelt39

Quote from: MCMLX on September 10, 2010, 11:20:53 AM
I am surprised that so many "Gaels" actually read the Belfast Telegraph.

Two efforts now, no takers
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

I'm surprised some of ye haven't figured out that you dont have to read
the Tele to have the Catholic church cut down at the knees...sure this
Board is full of it and not a word about it :-\

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 10, 2010, 03:50:06 PM

Would you say that those doing the cutting lack objectivity or facts? 

The church hierarchy is where you should be directing your anger...not those exposing them for the self interested evil immoral so and sos that they are.

The article actually originates in the London Independent.  The Belfast Telegraph just lifts it (as it does with most of its columnists) as it's free. Although the London Independent is no longer owned by O'Reilly (who owns Irish Independent and Tele) there is still an arrangement in place to share columnists (though this is very much a one-way thing - Burchill, Fisk, that **** Myers - as you'd be hard pushed to find anyone in London or Dublin interested in the poor woman's-Daily Mail rantings of Gail Walker) ... in this case (if not many others) it's not some anti-Catholic thing from the Tele

That article is a disgrace no matter where it comes from.

Quote from: theskull1 on September 10, 2010, 04:57:25 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 10, 2010, 03:50:06 PM

Would you say that those doing the cutting lack objectivity or facts? 

The church hierarchy is where you should be directing your anger...not those exposing them for the self interested evil immoral so and sos that they are.
Anger ???  Im not angry....merely highlighting the hypocrisy at the feigned outrage of this reporter when truth be told, some here are no better!

Hurler on the Bitch

Yer wan is a gabshite of the first order. Obviously one of these weemin who suffers from severe ugliness and has to make her mark elsewhere. She does look like ten pounds of shite in a five pounds bag. A couple of years ago she stuck the boot into the Irish in what was a seriously racist attack. However, people like that are controversial for the sake of it. She does not annoy me in the slightest, but I do hope that she dies of a skin eating disorder, coupled with brain cancer and that the hospital runs out of morphine in her last days! And that they leave her body out in the streets where the rats can trail her innards over the pavements. Other than that she is free to say what she wants.

Quote from: red hander on September 10, 2010, 05:36:16 PM
The article actually originates in the London Independent.  The Belfast Telegraph just lifts it (as it does with most of its columnists) as it's free. Although the London Independent is no longer owned by O'Reilly (who owns Irish Independent and Tele) there is still an arrangement in place to share columnists (though this is very much a one-way thing - Burchill, Fisk, that **** Myers - as you'd be hard pushed to find anyone in London or Dublin interested in the poor woman's-Daily Mail rantings of Gail Walker) ... in this case (if not many others) it's not some anti-Catholic thing from the Tele

How to f**k not? So they're not responsible for what they publish, as long as it wasn't one of their reporters that wrote it???

Quote from: haranguerer on September 11, 2010, 09:36:01 AM
Quote from: red hander on September 10, 2010, 05:36:16 PM

How to f**k not? So they're not responsible for what they publish, as long as it wasn't one of their reporters that wrote it???

Maybe I should have added "this time" ... and they basically don't give a shite what they publish from columnists as long as it's free (count how many of their own reporters have a column, a column they would have to pay that reporter extra to provide)... besides, why should the Catholic church be exempt from criticism, they've hardly been paragons of virtue in Ireland, have they?

Why do youse all read it if it upsets you so much?

Myles Na G.

Read Eamonn McCann's article - it appears down the side of Burchill. McCann's a much better writer and journalist than Burchill, but his piece doesn't make any better reading for those who still think that the pope and the Vatican are on the side of the good guys.

Just found this too.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-11260290

Bit low to bring up the Hitler Youth thing.  Clearly she's a horrible warped oul bitch but as whiskeysteve says the article is so bad that it is simply not to be taken seriously- eg reference to Gibson's dad being "of course" a holocaust denier.  Wtf?  You'd really wonder how she's ended up getting paid for writing nonsense like this.