"The Gallant John Joe"

In the month of November on a cold stormy day

I left my old home and to town made my way

I met with a young man on the road I did go

And he told me the news of the death of John Joe

John Joe O'Reilly has left us behind

He was called by the good Lord to his faithful and kind,

He brought him to Heaven, that proud land to show;

A true son of Breffni is the gallant John Joe.

Brave clann O'Reilly, oh proud is your name

You've reared many sons of great honour and fame

But not even the princes of long long ago

Could compare with our sportsman the Gallant John Joe

His record's a proud one without blemish or stain

Since he played his first football with famed Cornafean

Till he's laid in his cold grave where the wild flowers grow

He led Cavan to victory on that memorable day

In the final against Kerry in New York far away

The next year in Croke Park when our boys beat Mayo

Once again they were led by the gallant John Joe

In each corner of Breifne there's sorrow and pain

Such a true-hearted sportsman we'll ne'er see again

New players may come and old players may go

But we'll ne'er have another like the gallant John Joe.

Shoot for dough, pass for show...

There was a book in our house, i think it was the spirit of the glen, a history of Glen Rovers and in it were the words of a Christy Ring song;

Come gather round me boys tonight and raise your glasses high,
Come Rockies, Barrs and Rovers stars, let welcome hit the sky,
Let bonfires blaze in heroes praise, let Shannon echoes fling,
For homeward bound with hurling crown comes gallant Christy Ring.

So all you hurlers from the Nore, you lads from Corrib's side,
From Garryowen gay and bold with Tipp's own men beside,
You may have hurlers straight and tall who can a caman swing
But whose the name can play the game with Cork's own Christy Ring.

When we were young we read in school in the days of old,
The young Setanta showed his worth with shield and spear of gold,
As hurling hard on royal sward he'd hurling heroes fling,
My soul today, he'd yield the sway if he met Christy Ring.

A heal to faithful Wexford boys, to the Rackards and their team,
Should Cork surrender Ireland's crown may victory on them gleam,
John Kelly's name we hold in fame - of '98 we sing,
But Slaney's plan must find a man to equal Christy Ring.

How oft I've watched him from the Hill move here and there in grace,
In Cork, Killarney, Thurles town or by the Shannon's race,
"Now Cork is bet; the hay is saved!" the thousands wildly sing-
They speak too soon, my sweet garsun, for here comes Christy Ring.

When age has gained this warior brave, when ended is the fight,
And o'er the hearth he hangs at last his stick and trophies bright,
Come counties all both great and small who boast a hurling King,
Can one tonight hold candlelight to Cork's own Christy Ring?.

Anyone ever heard it sung?

ziggy90

Quote from: jamesimcanespy on June 13, 2012, 04:04:31 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 16, 2007, 07:42:52 PM

and for any Clarkesmen
"Theres a special place in parrrrra dise for you wee Iggy Jones"

Where can I find this song, does anyone know? It's called the Ballad of Iggy Jones I think?

Feckin hell, I haven't heard that song for years. I had a cassette tape with that on it and there was also one about Frank McGuigan and another one called The Digs In Birmingham. It was released the year after Dennis Taylor won The WSC and Tyrone were in the AIF. I think was recorded by a band from Coalisland. I'm going to have a dig around for it and if I find it I'll let you know.
Questions that shouldn't be asked shouldn't be answered

NaomhBridAbú

A song for Joe

He's Joe and he's from Dungiven,
And sure jayz he's might crack,
He was once a county man for Derry
and now he's just another hack

With boggly eyes and a slabberey mouth
And a jesture of the hand,
Its bollox he talks ad nauseum
sure theres no better in the land

I'm Brolly, sur, I'm Brolly Sur,
Sure dont you know I'm a son of Frank
I hate Tyrone - sure i hate myself,
Ah sure I'm only full of w**k

He's Joe and he's from Dungiven
and theres an irony in the name
For if was dun-given shitetalk, (see what i did there)
you could mistake him for being sane

he's a barrister and and a pundit,
a learned man of books
once given to blowing kisses
for those slippery goals he took

I wish he was playing nowadays
against Bellew or the Block,
and after any kisses he'd blow,
the shite out of him they'd knock

in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

NaomhBridAbú

Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on June 13, 2012, 04:47:01 PM
A song for Joe

He's Joe and he's from Dungiven,
And sure jayz he's might crack,
He was once a county man for Derry
and now he's just another hack

With boggly eyes and a slabberey mouth
And a jesture of the hand,
Its bollox he talks ad nauseum
sure theres no better in the land

He's Joe and he's from Dungiven
and theres an irony in the name
For if was dun-given shitetalk, (see what i did there)
you could mistake him for being sane

he's a barrister and and a pundit,
a learned man of books
once given to blowing kisses
for those slippery goals he took

I wish he was playing nowadays
against Bellew or the Block,
and after any kisses he'd blow,
the shite out of him they'd knock

all it needs is a tune
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

ziggy90

Quote from: ziggy90 on June 13, 2012, 04:42:25 PM

and for any Clarkesmen

Where can I find this song, does anyone know? It's called the Ballad of Iggy Jones I think?

Feckin hell, I haven't heard that song for years. I had a cassette tape with that on it and there was also one about Frank McGuigan and another one called The Digs In Birmingham. It was released the year after Dennis Taylor won The WSC and Tyrone were in the AIF. I think was recorded by a band from Coalisland. I'm going to have a dig around for it and if I find it I'll let you know.

Pm'd you there james.

jamesimcanespy

Yeah, I got the message Ziggy. I want to revive the song, as far as I remember it was a brilliant folk song, so I'm going to make it my mission to make it famous again!

ziggy90

Quote from: ziggy90 on June 13, 2012, 05:15:04 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 13, 2012, 04:42:25 PM

and for any Clarkesmen

Pm'd you there james.

And again.

Farneylawd2011

Come On Armagh Lyrics. . Preformed By The Band Justice.

I'm an Armagh football fan.
We beat Tyrone in Clones Town
We wal;ked Fermanagh ito the ground,
We were the orange men on the march,
On the 7th of July with our passions running high
For Donegal we were Ulster champs.
Come on Armagh, Come on Armagh.
We're the best team in the land.

With the Sam Maguire at hand,
Joe Kernan is the man
To lead this mighty band.

The semi finals in Croke Park
You could hear the cheers in park ?
When we faced the mighty Dubs.
And to all that football fever
and the goal from Paddy Mckeever
Spurned the orange men on there way.
I'm an Armagh Football Fan.

On to the final we must go,
For the Kerry team to show
Oisin McConville, McEntee,
What a match these lads can be.
And McDonnell can score the goals

To thje men of Orange and White,
It would be a pure delight,
To win the Sam Maguire
And to all you would begrudgers
To the few that still are out there.
I say uh ah up Armagh,uh ah up Armagh

Joe Kernan is the man

One Armagh, there's only one Armagh
One Armagh, there's only one Armagh.
Joe Kernan is the man
I'm an Orange and whited
All excited, Orange and Whited
Armagh football fan.

Quote from: bottom brick on June 13, 2012, 04:37:31 PM
Quote from: Homer on August 24, 2007, 09:01:42 AM
"The Gallant John Joe"

In the month of November on a cold stormy day

I left my old home and to town made my way

I met with a young man on the road I did go

And he told me the news of the death of John Joe

John Joe O'Reilly has left us behind

He was called by the good Lord to his faithful and kind,

He brought him to Heaven, that proud land to show;

Brave clann O'Reilly, oh proud is your name

You've reared many sons of great honour and fame

But not even the princes of long long ago

Could compare with our sportsman the Gallant John Joe

His record's a proud one without blemish or stain

Since he played his first football with famed Cornafean

Till he's laid in his cold grave where the wild flowers grow

He led Cavan to victory on that memorable day

In the final against Kerry in New York far away

The next year in Croke Park when our boys beat Mayo

Once again they were led by the gallant John Joe

In each corner of Breifne there's sorrow and pain

Such a true-hearted sportsman we'll ne'er see again

New players may come and old players may go

But we'll ne'er have another like the gallant John Joe.

Its one of the few old gaa songs that you will come across played by bands with no relationship to cavan.