Driving Without Insurance

Started by Bud Wiser, August 06, 2011, 09:03:06 AM

In the uk now every car must have insurance even if not driven - similar to tax, unless it is registered off road you arent allowed any gaps.
Continuous Insurance Enforcement is what they are calling it.

turk

Ah no, that smug Mr Dempsey got back in!!

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 07, 2011, 12:01:29 AM
Minister for Transport Noel Dempsey has criticised the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland for delays in paying compensation to victims of road crashes.

The MIBI was set up by the Government and Irish motor insurance companies more than 50 years ago to compensate innocent victims of crashes caused by uninsured and unidentified vehicles.

But Minister Dempsey said it seems the bureau has lost sight of the victims and their families because over the years a number of cases have become embroiled in legal issues.

He said the MIBI needs to pay out in these cases without delay, some of which are between ten and 20-years-old, and two of which involve paraplegics.

To most people it is not necessary to explain that neither Fianna Fail or Mr Dempsey are in Government at this time or are they likely to be in it in the near future. There is no insurance when it comes to being elected as a TD in this country.

However, when Mr Dempsey was in Government he drew attention to the fact that innocent people who were injured by uninsured drivers had to wait for up to twenty years to be compensated.  What he didn't draw attention to was the fact that when an uninsured driver takes away someones livelihood, that someone who most likely cannot afford it, has to go and hire a solicitor and retain them for years to try and sort out the mess.  I see little difference between thuggery and mowing someone down in an uninsured car.

turk

Indeed, and as he was minister at the time he arguably could have done something about it, but sin scéal eile.

QuoteIf I was going to crash and kill someone I wouldn't be too worried about insurance.

I dunno Turk, maybe he did make some changes but all I can remember him giving us was more toll roads.  In any case when you have someone Talking Baloney like above his job would have been fairly hard, I mean, would you know many people who would say that they could go out and  "crash into someone and kill them and not be too worried about insurance". Even if they didn't kill themselves in the process there is no consideration for family funeral expenses,and other obvious costs, particularly if the person they kill is the breadwinner. 

turk

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 08, 2011, 01:04:00 PM
QuoteIf I was going to crash and kill someone I wouldn't be too worried about insurance.

I dunno Turk, maybe he did make some changes but all I can remember him giving us was more toll roads.  In any case when you have someone Talking Baloney like above his job would have been fairly hard, I mean, would you know many people who would say that they could go out and  "crash into someone and kill them and not be too worried about insurance". Even if they didn't kill themselves in the process there is no consideration for family funeral expenses,and other obvious costs, particularly if the person they kill is the breadwinner.

I certainly didn't make that quote above!

Do Irish/UK insurers offer "uninsured motorist coverage", for the event of getting into an accident with an uninsured motorist?

Some do, most don't. Usually it's only with fully comp policies. But again that would only cover the excess. The property damage would have been covered regardless. And it obviously has no effect on PI claims.   

Quote from: turk on August 08, 2011, 01:38:42 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 08, 2011, 01:04:00 PM

I certainly didn't make that quote above!

Sorry Turk, I did not mean that you made that quote, and of course you didn't. The quote was a load of Baloney.  And (not directed at you) when I said that I would choose option (b) as regards the original post I was referring to the general community fabric that I grew up with and assumed was common in the smallest towns and villages in Ireland. In this regard I was referring speciffically to the fact that in the GAA a lot of our common friends are members of the Gardai, from managers of county teams like the Pillar down to great players like John Morley from Mayo etc, etc, etc.   It would not be uncommon, in my time anyway, that one would look out for their towns young lads by asking someone to have a word in a fellas ear.

In that assumption I was wrong and the result was a series of coded messages with copies of the proclamation and links to videos of the Four Green Fields and a few more I did not bother to open from Drici and his likes. I merely asked a question in the original post and it is apparent to me now that I have got my answer in terms of what was posted and sent through PM's. My only wish, and my last statement on this subject is that,  the responses given do not reflect the general consensusof opinion because I still hold my own.

Sorry if you thought the quote was directed as being from you.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 08, 2011, 08:08:40 PM

In that assumption I was wrong and the result was a series of coded messages with copies of the proclamation and links to videos of the Four Green Fields and a few more I did not bother to open

That raised a laugh, the first since the pint before Saturday's game.

Well it goes without saying that, being from Tyrone, the only chance you were going to get any reason to laugh would have come before the game because ye certainly had little to foooking laugh about after it.

turk