Internet Fraud

Started by redhandluke, September 07, 2008, 09:39:21 PM

A friend of mine is looking to buy a classic car. He has been searching for an E Type Jaguar (sports). 1972/3 design.

He went on to various sites and eventually seen one on Gumtree, 1973 E Type Jaguar (sports) usually these things go for around 15,00 to 20,000 providing they are in good nick.

the Ad has this immaculate conditioned car at a price of £1,850. London, no full address, no telephone number but you can email him. My friend sent email and got bullshit story of how he's always away and he can send the car for an extra £2000 through a ebay account (not Pay-pal).

I told him this is a scam and not to bother. "If its too good to be true" I sent email there for the craic telling him I'm from London and would like to call round check out car. Same bullshit. Do people really fall for these?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2011, 07:25:43 PM
A friend of mine is looking to buy a classic car. He has been searching for an E Type Jaguar (sports). 1972/3 design.

He went on to various sites and eventually seen one on Gumtree, 1973 E Type Jaguar (sports) usually these things go for around 15,00 to 20,000 providing they are in good nick.

the Ad has this immaculate conditioned car at a price of £1,850. London, no full address, no telephone number but you can email him. My friend sent email and got bullshit story of how he's always away and he can send the car for an extra £2000 through a ebay account (not Pay-pal).

I told him this is a scam and not to bother. "If its too good to be true" I sent email there for the craic telling him I'm from London and would like to call round check out car. Same bullshit. Do people really fall for these?
yip, i know someone who got took for a few grand (shipping costs for a car), the car was so cheap that it still seemed like a bargain.

Quote from: redhandluke on March 23, 2010, 09:01:23 PM
As pointed out, I informed the bank that the 25000 was missing the day after it had been transferred and eventually got it back - took over a month though.  Worse thing about it I had to borrow from family to get me through the month as bank would not extend overdraft even on a temp basis.  Very stressful.

Just ensure you take all reasonable pre-cautions such as anti-virus s/w, of the bank could have potential grounds for not paying up!!!  :o

Which bank has a facility to set up a transfer to a foreign account online?

el_cuervo_fc

Has anybody received an email from play.com recently about security issues? 

I've had two since yesterday

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on March 23, 2011, 10:20:15 AM

yes

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on March 23, 2011, 10:20:15 AM

Yep...me too.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-12819330

el_cuervo_fc

Yeah which bank allowed you to setup a payment to a foreign account online?

I would have thought they'd not allow that for security reasons...

Yeah a load of play emails doing the rounds. The more worrying thing about that is they have credit card/debit card details and the like.

Had over £900 swiped from my Halifax account in January past there. Reported it straight away to their fraud dept who said they had to send a letter out to me to sign and send back to give them permission to investigate.

The stupid hoor who stole my money paid for car insurance from a crowd in Dundalk, Oil from a depot in Monasterevin and £400 of goods from an Internet shopping site. Couple of phone calls later I had obtained HER name, full address, telephone number and facebook page. Stupid bitch. Phoned the bank with the info and had my money refunded within days. This blade was from Westport and married to an African man living in Monasterevin. Was very tempted to land at her door with a couple of baseball bats.

I'd be tempted to post up her name to see if any of you Kildare folk know the sc**bag!

Quote from: omagh_gael on March 23, 2011, 04:08:52 PM
Had over £900 swiped from my Halifax account in January past there. Reported it straight away to their fraud dept who said they had to send a letter out to me to sign and send back to give them permission to investigate.

The stupid hoor who stole my money paid for car insurance from a crowd in Dundalk, Oil from a depot in Monasterevin and £400 of goods from an Internet shopping site. Couple of phone calls later I had obtained HER name, full address, telephone number and facebook page. Stupid bitch. Phoned the bank with the info and had my money refunded within days. This blade was from Westport and married to an African man living in Monasterevin. Was very tempted to land at her door with a couple of baseball bats.

I'd be tempted to post up her name to see if any of you Kildare folk know the sc**bag!

How'd they get into your account Gael?