MP3 PLAYERS

Started by Karl Kennedy, December 16, 2009, 04:41:09 PM

Karl Kennedy

Rite guys and girls looking for some help here in relation to MP3 players. I am getting one as a xmas present for sister at xmas.
She doesnt want an ipod which I am happy enough as she doesnt want me to spend that amount on her.

So she wud like a reasonable MP3 player possibly a 2gb or 4gb which can be used in the car to listen to music.

I have an ipod with the itrip to use in the car BUT I am trying to find out is there MP3 players that can do the same AND if so what are the best ones for this purpose?

I have a zen stone which has 2Gb.  And I play it in the car through the the Jack point in the stereo.

The only down side is that I haven't really figured how to use it properly but as I use it on shuffle, it doesn't really matter.

Cheaps as chips and does the business.

Aldi or Lidl Im not sure which are selling a 4gb MP3 player that looks very like a ipod,there was a flyer in the paper today for it

Karl Kennedy

The Jack point? can u specify bit more on that?

Can you not get a wireless fm transmitter for mp3 players? I am not fussed on any of these transmitter things with loads of leads!

Quote from: Karl Kennedy on December 16, 2009, 05:08:09 PM
The Jack point? can u specify bit more on that?

Can you not get a wireless fm transmitter for mp3 players? I am not fussed on any of these transmitter things with loads of leads!

The jack point is a small hole at the front of the stereo.  It looks like the hole you put the earphones of a walkman into.

You can get an fm transmitter but this is another appliance that would need batteries or charging.  If the car stereo doesn't have a jack it will be the only way.  I use an FM transmitter to play all the songs that I have stored on my computer over the radio and it works well.

When buying the mp3 player, tell them that you may be playing it through the car stereo and you need a cable with 2mm (I think) plugs at both ends.

What is the best wee yoke for plugging your ipod into in the car and playing it off the stereo?? theres loads out there but half the time there pieces of shite  ???

Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 18, 2009, 05:52:50 PM
What is the best wee yoke for plugging your ipod into in the car and playing it off the stereo?? theres loads out there but half the time there pieces of shite  ???

As I said before, look and see if you car stereo has a socket on the front into which you could plug in walkman/ipod/mp3 headphones.

If it is then get a cable with a 2mm plug that will fit into the ipod and the car stereo.

On the car stereo you are looking for the Aux mode.  Usually there is a choice of CD/radio/Aux.  Put it in Aux mode and join the ipod as desribed above.  Remember the ipod will have to be playing and it will then play through the car stereo.

Don't know where you might get the cable but it may be along with ipod when you bought it.

Best of luck.

Cheers Denn.
Its not for my car, its the womans and she only got it a month or so ago. I know there is no cassette player in it as I was gonna get her the wee tape yoke one that I have that is good. The fm tuner ones are useless IMO.

Mac hinery

An FM modulaltor thats plugs into the 12v socket allows any USB flash drive to become an mp3 player.  I got one a few years ago for £10, you can get them for 6-7 pounds now.  Great job.

Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 18, 2009, 05:52:50 PM
the best is the aux lead (via the jack point) if your stereo has the fitting for it.  Next best are the cassette yokes, these can be picked up for a fiver in asda, they're pretty good, but there's wires hanging around!
Finally, the itrip type yokes, these are pretty shite, grand in the open country, if you're in the big smoke with piles of fm transmissions about, forget about it.

Don't most car audio head units by now have a usb port on the front which will accept a usb flash drive and load up  mp3 files? 
The cheaper units  may not recognise and load up an mp3 player like iPod connected through the usb port.
In that case usually you will find a mini jack port on the front of the head unit to connect your mp3 player.

What about MP3 players that have a built-in radio?  Any suggestions.

In the past I had an MD player that I played through the jack in the stereo but there was a always a background hiss from the MD player.  Does the same happen with MP3 players attached in the same way?

Quote from: Aerlik on December 19, 2009, 02:22:36 PM
What about MP3 players that have a built-in radio?  Any suggestions.

In the past I had an MD player that I played through the jack in the stereo but there was a always a background hiss from the MD player.  Does the same happen with MP3 players attached in the same way?

MD is a Mini Disk?  Was it the reloving disk you heard causing the hiss?

No moving parts in a MP3 player so I would imagine there would be a hiss. 

Can you not borrow an MP3 player and check?

Malvinas

I used to have an ipod nano and used it with an itrip to listen thoough the fm connection in the car radio.

Of course, once i had the thing loaded with all the music I wanted it froze and died. With the amount of other mp3s about dont really fancy investin in a new apple mp3 product.

The thing is I only really want it for the car and my in car radio has no input jack.

The best thing about what I had before was the itrip which sucked power from the device itself. The alternative in my experience is the cheaper device which plugs into the cigarette lighter and is crap.

Does anyone know of an itrip style device which works for non apple products?

I had heard that there are some new mp3s which have an in built feature which sends a signal to the nearest radio but havnt been able to find any about.

Thanks anybody who can help.
"It was a bit of handbags stuff. I suppose the cameras caught it?"

Just Puck It

Quote from: Malvinas on February 05, 2011, 06:15:47 PM
I used to have an ipod nano and used it with an itrip to listen thoough the fm connection in the car radio.

Of course, once i had the thing loaded with all the music I wanted it froze and died. With the amount of other mp3s about dont really fancy investin in a new apple mp3 product.

The thing is I only really want it for the car and my in car radio has no input jack.

The best thing about what I had before was the itrip which sucked power from the device itself. The alternative in my experience is the cheaper device which plugs into the cigarette lighter and is crap.

Does anyone know of an itrip style device which works for non apple products?

I had heard that there are some new mp3s which have an in built feature which sends a signal to the nearest radio but havnt been able to find any about.

Thanks anybody who can help.

Have a look at this one.  Works just like an itrip but I've found that it's much more reliable as you don't have to tune it to a new frequency as soon as you drive into an area where something is broadcasting in the set frequency and it's also less of a drainer on the battery!

Plugs straight into any mp3 3.5mm headphone jack!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/IOMAX-Car-Cassette-Adapter-Black/dp/B001AZKRQ6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1296937916&sr=8-1