Adrian Logan leaves UTV

Started by king of leon, April 24, 2009, 03:25:28 PM

It is a real pity that 2 of the most prominent GAA journos in the North have been let go.

Look no one is arguing over Adrian's abilities, but after all the ranting about being shafted by UTV he is back working for them!!

There was no other way the media would handle this story, they have handled it with great sensitivity and respect. The same had it been a leading Irish league manager, or a local woman from Straid.

This thread is about Logie leaving UTV, how many posters here would go back a job that treated them so bad and give them an exclusive due to your friendship with someone?

Like I said previously - doing the right thing transcends all that Milty. Logan was and is a very professional man - and a good man by all accounts. You don't come into MH's circle without being a good person - and he did the right thing. To raise any sort of an issue about his previous employment would have been cheap point scoring and the wrong thing to do. He was and is the better man out of the situation.

I'm not trying to score points, Logie was great but was shafted by his employers simple. He said so himself. As for being the better man of course he was.

I would not have went back to UTV and give them that interview, simple.

Logan tells of UTV woes By Rebecca Black
24/04/09

Veteran UTV sports presenter Adrian Logan has claimed he has been "poorly treated" by the station as he begins his last day on the payroll today.

The Dungannon man has been given compulsory redundancy after 24 years with the company.

He spoke out last night after making his final appearance last week.

"UTV have been invited to discussions by my lawyers. Not only have they refused, they have actually ignored the invitation," he said.

"I think I have been poorly treated and it is now in the hands of my lawyers."

Logan, UTV's sports editor, has worked as a journalist at Ulster Television since 1985.

A familiar face to GAA fans, he was one of the founding members of the Ulster GAA Writers Association in 1988.

A UTV spokesman said it was their policy never to comment on individual staff

matters.

there are some things which happen in life, when other things that happened in the past don't matter. This is one of those exceptional cases where you let bygones be bygones even it's only for a week. Fair play Logie, well done

It's like people who retire after a lifetime, your always lookin out for the lads back there. 24 years fits that bill.

Adrian Logan did the right thing here; he did what the Harte family needed him to do.

DirtyDozen12

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on January 13, 2011, 10:28:09 PM
there are some things which happen in life, when other things that happened in the past don't matter. This is one of those exceptional cases where you let bygones be bygones even it's only for a week. Fair play Logie, well done

Well said Hoof Hearted, well said.

the thread should now be closed as you have sumed it up in 2 lines.
Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

Can I ask what Logie is doing now? I always found him a very warm, personable, knowledgeable and engaging presenter. Also he had a great voice for it. He would be excellent down in Montrose. Can't believe he wasn't considered ahead of Des Cahill for the Sunday Game.

seanmacdiarmada

Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2011, 11:24:33 AM
I presume Paul Clark is of of the other religious persuasion. There was something very stiff about his interaction with Logan from the studio.

??? ???  Totally wrong and not relevent, he is a Catholic (not that it matters) and was educated in St. Mary's Christian Brothers' school west Belfast.... ::)

Quote from: seanmacdiarmada on January 14, 2011, 04:41:42 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2011, 11:24:33 AM
I presume Paul Clark is of of the other religious persuasion. There was something very stiff about his interaction with Logan from the studio.

??? ???  Totally wrong and not relevent, he is a Catholic (not that it matters) and was educated in St. Mary's Christian Brothers' school west Belfast.... ::)

Is he not a Fermanagh man?

seanmacdiarmada

No Ziggy, west Belfast, born and bred.

isourboydownyet

Adrian Logan has really shown his class over the last few days,although he has a serious gripe and rightly so against UTV he put that all to one side to report on the tragic event of Michaela McAreaveys death for UTV,it shows the integrity of the man.Some things are more important than personnel discontent.