Sports books/autobiographies

Started by corn02, May 06, 2009, 03:24:14 PM

irunthev

Rod MacQueen's "One Step Ahead" is the best autobiography book I have read in terms of management, while Brad Friedel's "Thinking Outside the Box" is excellent in terms of the mental approach to sport.

Eastern_Pride

O Gara's is surprisingly good despite him being a tawt
Do you think Usain Bolt could replace Thomas Walsh?

Treasurer

Finally got around to "Kings of September" on holidays - good read, but maybe that's just because of where I'm from :)

Celt_Man

i knew there was a thread on this....

I just read Liam Dunne's autobiography recently.... top book I would highly recommended it to any GAA man. 

Dunne strikes me as an honest fecker and he pulls no punches in the book.  He admits to many mistakes in it and gives a good insight into the Wexford psyche pre the 96 All Ireland...
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Reading "Boys Will Be Boys" about the Dallas Cowboys of the early 90's. The author reckons "ego, coke and pussy" brought the team down ! Great read for anyone with an interest in the NFL.

Shazam

Shazam Bang

Quote from: hardstation on February 11, 2011, 11:21:41 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 07, 2009, 12:50:18 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2009, 12:00:46 AM
Mo Bhealach Féin, Seosamh Mac Grianna.

He played right corner back for Rannafast once.

Bh'fhearr i  bhfad liom 'An Druma Mor" ach cibe...I mo thuairmse fein b'e 'Caisleain Oir' an ursceal is fearr thainig as na Rosann...

Agus I mind Joe playin...wasnt half as good as Leo i gCroithli...
Decided last Saturday to give this another go. Finished it tonight and I hate my life. I should have known that the ending wouldn't have changed from the other times I read it. If you want all your hopes and dreams to be flushed down the bog, read this book.

A short synopsis (WITH SPOILERS):
Set in the early 19s, Rannafast, Co. Donegal, a wee lad and a wee girl grow up together as great friends and as children often talked about sailing off together to the castles on the horizon where they would live happily ever after. There is all this other class stuff about life in the Gaeltacht back then (which IMO has been seriously romanticised by Séamas Ó Grianna). With brilliant characters like Cearrbhach Bheití (who hits the teacher and then later a couple of soldiers before escaping in a wee boat), the book is brilliant. Anyway, back to the main bit. So this boy and girl grow up and are starting to get serious when yer man realises he hasn't a bean. He reckons that they can't get married until he goes to Glasgow to make money (but he probably just wants to go to watch Celtic and go into the wee Irish boozers and have good craic). So then he returns to Rannafast with a few quid (and probably a green and white football shirt with 'Ljungberg' on the back).

So, it's all set up, he meets this blade who he has been thinking about the whole time, and her doing the same about him. They're going to live happily ever after...........NOOOO! They meet up, talk about who has died since he left and head on.

Fuar, Fuar.

What a kick in the stones.

Never did like thon Babai Mhairtin hoor.....

Iolann Fionn

Jimí s'againne.....bhail.....níor fhág sé an chisteanach ariamh.

B'fhearr liomsa An Druma Mór.
Is mise Joe Fheidhlimidh Dhomhnaill Phroinsís Dhomhnaill Phádruig Mhóir Mac Grianna

Iolann Fionn

Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2011, 12:29:12 AM
Quote from: Iolann Fionn on February 11, 2011, 11:57:19 PM
Jimí s'againne.....bhail.....níor fhág sé an chisteanach ariamh.

B'fhearr liomsa An Druma Mór.
"Tá sé fíor," arsa an seanduine.

"Is é atá," arsa Séimí, "fíor, fíor."
Ha ha. Thaitin sin liom. Beidh Jimí s'againne ar buille.
Is mise Joe Fheidhlimidh Dhomhnaill Phroinsís Dhomhnaill Phádruig Mhóir Mac Grianna