McKenna Cup Final - Tyrone v Derry

Started by Redhand Santa, February 28, 2011, 06:06:25 PM

Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 07, 2011, 12:14:24 PM
Was out walking the dog, saw the floodlights in the Athletic Grounds, so decided to amble in. A few thoughts on the game.

1. Derry supporter seemed to be outnumbered about 4324 - 1.
22. The dog wasn't overly keen on the game though.

Well, for those 'neutral' observations, I hope we hammer the shite of you on Saturday evening!  ;D

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2011, 12:46:48 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 07, 2011, 12:14:24 PM
Was out walking the dog, saw the floodlights in the Athletic Grounds, so decided to amble in. A few thoughts on the game.

1. Derry supporter seemed to be outnumbered about 4324 - 1.
22. The dog wasn't overly keen on the game though.

Well, for those 'neutral' observations, I hope we hammer the shite of you on Saturday evening!  ;D

This neutral certainly enjoyed the game. I reckon what you hope happens will happen.

Wee Roddy

I know I have got stick for defending my club man on here but I am going to do it again
1. Anyone who complains about Conor Gormley being to slow and yet pick Davy in front of him really is deluded!
2. Ask Justy, which I have, about the vaue of Gormley playing in front of him. They have an understanding that keeps both right
3. Anyone who thinks Gormley has no fitness left in him, try and gets your hands on a copy of the semi final between Carrickmore and Omagh last year to see him blow away supposed fliers in injury time!
4. Anyone who details Ciaran McGinley to a marking job really is away with it
5. Its bloody March lads. Catch a grip!

Final Whistle

Quote from: Wee Roddy on March 08, 2011, 01:49:19 PM
I know I have got stick for defending my club man on here but I am going to do it again
1. Anyone who complains about Conor Gormley being to slow and yet pick Davy in front of him really is deluded!
2. Ask Justy, which I have, about the vaue of Gormley playing in front of him. They have an understanding that keeps both right
3. Anyone who thinks Gormley has no fitness left in him, try and gets your hands on a copy of the semi final between Carrickmore and Omagh last year to see him blow away supposed fliers in injury time!
4. Anyone who details Ciaran McGinley to a marking job really is away with it
5. Its bloody March lads. Catch a grip!

Wee Roddy, spot on. There is no shame in defending your clubmen. They are the guys you grew up alongside or grew up supervising. To not defend them would be a more henious crime. For those who sit back and criticise/pick fault-they obviously have no county representatives in their club or have no affiliation with a club at all.

And

Ciaran McGinley, undoubtably talented but how can i say this.....would not be great for morale.  ;) ;) ;)

nothingbettertobeat

the side has been in decline since 09 we were badly exposed against Cork in Croke Park. Ive been Conor Gormleys biggest fan has stiffled the best forwards in Ireland the past 7 or 8 seasons and will always go down as probabaly go down as one of the best defenders that has eer pulled on the jersey.
Conor Gormley might be best suited to midfield role at this stage ofhis career, ive sat and waited on this Tyrone side to get back on track for a couple of years now, the underperforming all Ireland winners are repeatably been allowed to rest on their laurels and are getting away with it. you's all said the same last season"that Tyrone wont be relegated" "its impossble that Tyrone team will go dwn. well frankly it did. and deserved to go down. Iv been at every game McKenna Cup and league this season and im far from impressed.
we were down right lucky to get out of enniskillen with a win against an ordinary div 4 side, Only for a horrible decision sending off Neil Magee in edendork(which was overturned days later) we would never have beaten Donegal, as for the perfromance against Cavan it beggars belief how a clueless forward line of theirs caused us so much trouble.
Derry rightly beat us first time out in the league much better than their one point win suggests as we were out of the game for long long periods before been destroyed by Donegal live on TV accross the world with many Red hand supporters raising the question are we going to waste another year with the players who are no longer at the level requied to take Tyrone back to the top 2/3 level they were at for a long long time through the so called golden years.
"A champion is someone who gets up when he can't."

Radda bout yeee

Quote from: nothingbettertobeat on March 08, 2011, 11:23:48 AM
I Feel its Time to Give the Young players the chance to impress as much as it pains me to say itConor Gormely and Enda McGinleys days as the first names on the team sheet are over im not saying get rid of them but we have been exposed in recent years with our lack of pace in Croke Park and to have to watch it all over again this season is hard to bare.
Personally id Call up Mattie Donnelly and Ciaran McGinley. both Players have been consistantly good players for their clubs over the past 24 months and have had a vital role in UUJ securing a Sigerson Final birth. I also believe that our Midfield is not good enough we havent anybody like  Brian Dooher who will put his body on the line to win that vital breaking ball.
I Feel our Defence is exposed way too easy we have conceded way too much in the McKenna Cup and league so far and i feel its our only last hope that to Put Both McMahons in the defence to boost it up a bit and also Wait on Phillip Jordan.

Plus i feel that Tyrone arent nowhere near fit, there trainers must take some of the blame.
they should book a week of work and be sent to milatary training camp down in Dublin to move them on a bit fitness wise before we end up relegated.
I know Ciaran McGinley is out of position he normally plays half back or half forward but hes the only man that has raw speed that be good enough technically to deal with the fastest forwards about.

PASCAL MCCONNELL

JOE MCMAHON JUSTIN MCMAHON  CIARAN MCGINLEY

DAVY HARTE  RYAN MCMENAMIN PHILLIP JORDAN

NIALL MCKENNA KEVIN HUGHES

MARTIN PENROSE BRIAN MCGUIGAN SEAN CAVANAGH

OWEN MULLIGAN STEVIE ONEILL MATTIE DONNELLY
Does anyone else get the feeling they know who this poster really is!  :D

nothingbettertobeat

Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 08, 2011, 03:28:49 PM
Quote from: nothingbettertobeat on March 08, 2011, 11:23:48 AM
I Feel its Time to Give the Young players the chance to impress as much as it pains me to say itConor Gormely and Enda McGinleys days as the first names on the team sheet are over im not saying get rid of them but we have been exposed in recent years with our lack of pace in Croke Park and to have to watch it all over again this season is hard to bare.
Personally id Call up Mattie Donnelly and Ciaran McGinley. both Players have been consistantly good players for their clubs over the past 24 months and have had a vital role in UUJ securing a Sigerson Final birth. I also believe that our Midfield is not good enough we havent anybody like  Brian Dooher who will put his body on the line to win that vital breaking ball.
I Feel our Defence is exposed way too easy we have conceded way too much in the McKenna Cup and league so far and i feel its our only last hope that to Put Both McMahons in the defence to boost it up a bit and also Wait on Phillip Jordan.

Plus i feel that Tyrone arent nowhere near fit, there trainers must take some of the blame.
they should book a week of work and be sent to milatary training camp down in Dublin to move them on a bit fitness wise before we end up relegated.
I know Ciaran McGinley is out of position he normally plays half back or half forward but hes the only man that has raw speed that be good enough technically to deal with the fastest forwards about.

PASCAL MCCONNELL

JOE MCMAHON JUSTIN MCMAHON  CIARAN MCGINLEY

DAVY HARTE  RYAN MCMENAMIN PHILLIP JORDAN

NIALL MCKENNA KEVIN HUGHES

MARTIN PENROSE BRIAN MCGUIGAN SEAN CAVANAGH

OWEN MULLIGAN STEVIE ONEILL MATTIE DONNELLY
Does anyone else get the feeling they know who this poster really is!  :D

think what you want i dont know the fella you think im on about personally but from what i hear he is full of himself.
im only judging by what ive seen on the football pitch and hes been one of Errigal Ciarans best players the past few seaons and ive seen him in the mckenna cupand the sigerson cup and its remarkable how him and mattie Donnelly arent involved with Tyrone or maybe they will be now that their Sigerson campaign is over.
We dont have RAW PACE with somebody who can actualy play football. i thought PJ Quinn would have cemented his place in the side by now but he been badly exposed recently and if anything hes probabaly went backroads since e first came on the scene.
Damian McCaul is just getting back from two serious knee injuries and hes the best of a very inconsistant bunch of defenders.

Real Talk

Shurely you Tyrone supporters should be very happy with what these players have delivered over a 10 year period.  It is not possible for amateur players to give any more, they have been fantastic but it can't go on for ever

nothingbettertobeat

Quote from: Real Talk on March 08, 2011, 10:37:18 PM
Shurely you Tyrone supporters should be very happy with what these players have delivered over a 10 year period.  It is not possible for amateur players to give any more, they have been fantastic but it can't go on for ever

we are happy surely, over the moon but we will be soon seen as a team of the past unless we start to be more ruthless. disappointing to see the decline so quickly after the successful underage sides that have been produced and none of them been brought through cause of the faith shown in underperforming All Ireland winners the past two seasons

I dont think successfull underage teams necessarily make succesful senior players.
There is a big difference in the two and I think this should be remembered too. I'm no fan of Tyrone, but given the tactician that Harte is and the results he's delivered to Tyrone I'd say he's probably better placed to pick the players that are capable of senior football than most in Tyrone. So perhaps its the case that there are not the glut of good senior players coming through that you would have expected on the back of underage success, as they are not senior standard.