Cooney heralds the attendance of NI Secretary of state at today's AI final !

Started by orangeman, September 19, 2010, 08:14:30 PM

In a post match interview, Christy Cooney could hardly contain himself and couldn't wait to herald the attendance of Northern Ireland secretary of state at today's AI final as being hugely significant and went to great legths to describe how "special" it was to have him in the crowd today. Special my hole !!

I could hardly believe I was listening to this shite. No disrespect to Eoin Owen Patterson or Cooney, but is this really newsworthy ?  Cooney's favourite adjective must be "special" and his constant use of it really dilutes its meaning when you hear it come from him.

On a day when Cork win their 7th AI final, is this really one of the most significant outcomes of today ?.

I always get the feeling that nearly every time Cooney opens his mouth he's speaking to the non-GAA world as opposed to members of the association itself.
In a kind of "Look at how modern and civilized we are!" sort of way.

Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2010, 08:26:43 PM
I always get the feeling that nearly every time Cooney opens his mouth he's speaking to the non-GAA world as opposed to members of the association itself.

Surely this is ""policy" and if it is who decided on our behalf that this should be "policy" ?.

The GAA were and are a fantastic organisation but they've become a business. The annual congress is now a load if shite and they'd be better off just to forget about what has become a farce and should appoint a board of directors and stop pretending that grass roots opinion really matters when it clearly doesn't.

Good man Orangemean... trustyou to find something to complain about  :D

Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2010, 08:26:43 PM

He could be looking to follow his predecessor into the politics?

Orangemac

He'll probably go back to his cushy job at FAS.

There is just something unlikeable about him all right/

Has anyone got round to drilling holes in Sam yet to stop players drinking out of it? Was this not passed at congress.

Heard this interview. Christy describe him as the first Northern Secretary of State to attend an AI Final. However I recall a prominent Tory Minister based in the 6 Counties attending the 1993 Final and raving about it, though I can't recall his name or whether he was Secretary of State at the time.

Quote from: T Fearon on September 19, 2010, 11:22:38 PM
Heard this interview. Christy describe him as the first Northern Secretary of State to attend an AI Final. However I recall a prominent Tory Minister based in the 6 Counties attending the 1993 Final and raving about it, though I can't recall his name or whether he was Secretary of State at the time.

That has to be the most meaningless post of all time because you have no evidence to suggest that Cooney was not correct.

Lady GAA GAA

Orangeman could you ever have this condition of yours looked about at a proper doctors'? you talk the biggest load of shite ever

sheamy

If satan himself was giving as much money to the ulster council as mr patterson's lads are about to he'd get a hogan ticket too. It's nearly as much as a days interest on one of cowen's bonds.

Pity none of the Ulster teams appeared in the Final during Mo Mowlam's time. An All Ireland weekend in Dublin would have been right up her street, and she would have drunk Biffo under the table as well ;D