Doire v Cill Dara

Started by Donnellys Hollow, July 11, 2010, 06:58:24 PM

McGeeney seems to be a big fan of Flanagan Dinny. I think he sees something of himself in him. I doubt he'll be dropped especially with Chalky and Foley (who would be the two most likely replacements) not getting a run this weekend.

Some interesting opinions on the Local Derry thread!  :o

Insular bunch, near a bit of credit coming from them must really hurt them to lose to Kildare the antitheism of Derry football in their eyes no doubt  :D

In fairness McGeeney is a fan of Chalkie as well, he surprised us a little with O'Connors selection, horese for courses maybe as Flanagan can be a bit lose.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2010, 10:10:21 PM
Insular bunch, near a bit of credit coming from them must really hurt them to lose to Kildare the antitheism of Derry football in their eyes no doubt  :D

The apathy of the Derry public was reflected in their players' performance. I've seen Kildare play some limited teams in my time but I don't think I've ever seen them play a team that looked so disinterested.

whiskeysteve

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2010, 10:10:21 PM

dinny you seem to be interpreting the lack of derry praise for the victors as a bit of an insult towards yous. The fact is if you followed the Derry threads on GAA discussion you would see the lack of input from derry posters all year despite us having the busiest club thread. A lot of folks (rightly or wrongly) just have nothing to say on a team they believe is going nowhere.

Derry county threads may as well have had tumbleweeds blowing through them this year. My point is the lack of reaction on this thread is nothing to do with a misguided arrogance towards kildare (needless to say, that would be laughable) but everything to do with the depression for our county team.

Secondly, our club thread is focused on things from a derry perspective, not kildare. And after the way the team through the towel in in the 2nd half yesterday there are very little positives for us to focus on. Our county team is in a bad way right now. I see you reminded us we have been a shit championship team for years now but we had a fantastic championship record in Celtic park until this year at least. We havent lost a game there by that margin in decades.

Well done to kildare on a fully deserved victory. To make it clear, it was a game that Kildare won as much as Derry lost and yous deserve full credit. Good luck to you for the rest of the championship.
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2010, 09:56:34 PM
Very disappointed with Jimmers as you said thought he would really have pushed on from the Leitrim game but he didn't hide and still worked very hard just didn't happen for him. Roli was Roli always hot and cold, will have a stormer next week no doubt. Flanagan I think is threading water, wouldn't be surprised if was dropped for next week.
cant see why you would blame Sweeney - the lad is not a FF.
As for Flanagan and the balymore lad - not every player of the XV is going to play well each game!

DH - have a re-read of page 4 where I predicted kildare to be favourites and Derry most likely to underperform and thus lose.
Credit to your victory but there is far more in that Derry tank which to me is v disappointing.
Kildare could have left the field after 48 mins and Dery would still not have scored or threatened ! Your shooting practice will be useful for next day out though.

What does deserve credit is the breaking ball winning ability that has obv been drilled into kildare, the hard work ethic from every player including Doyle who should not be killing himself back in his FB line - but he does. Also a great tactic for te game was the FB raiding up the field and apart from scoring a point, provided an outlet for a lot of passes that lead to scores etc

best of luck against monaghan, they are a damn good side and will give you a proper idea of kildares progress this season.

Fair play LB.

Had a great night out with the rest of the tally-ho brigade in the Capital of Culture!  ;)

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2010, 02:33:18 PM
Fair play LB.

Had a great night out with the rest of the tally-ho brigade in the Capital of Culture!  ;)
s**t
forgot to warn yous about that ... !

LilySavage

In fairness to Sweeney , he won the 3 early frees in front of goal when we were behind