It says in the papers.... What our journos say.

Started by Bud Wiser, June 13, 2010, 12:59:06 PM

Anyone read the half page article in last weeks Herald about the thread "Jonno, for the love of God go NOW"   Great craic altogether with Dinny getting a mention along with the Down lad who stuck his oar into the Armagh thread to say "while he was delighted to see Armagh getting hammered he didn't think they should be that pessimistic !  It was written by Frank Roche who incidentally was one of the few to predict that Louth would beat Kildare - before the game.

Great article on our Laois Manager in todays Indo but for the love and honour of jaysus what is Eamon Sweeney on about on the back page???  I read the first paragraph and a half and that was it.  Couldn't be bothered with the rambling.

Compiled by Frank Roche and Conor McKeon.

CAUTION IS ADVISED ON THE WAY TO THE FORUM

Gaa forums can be great fun but they should also be treated with caution.  They can educate and enlighten and, in almost the same breath, fill your mind with poisonous notions too.

With that caveat out of the way, we couldn't help but go scouring the web for the grassroots-in-cyberspace reaction to calamitous events surrounding the footballers of Mayo, Kildare and Armagh.

You might surmise that being an 'outside boss leaves you more vulnerable to vitriolic attack but being a homegrown 'Messiah in waiting' is not much protection either, especially when the long suffering Mayo disciples are still awaiting the resurrection in year four of your second coming.  "Jonno – for the love of God please go NOW " is the tagline for the Mayo post mortem thread on www.gaaboard.com   You can guess where this particular discussion is heading but, while the tone of several posters is excoriating, there is no shortage of cogent comment either about Mayo's malaise – on the field, on the line and on the board.  " A few people around last night expressed the view that the team should be taken out of the qualifiers – the womens team were taken out for less" concludes a distraught Moysider.  !!!

Hillarious stuff altogether which prompts me to throw in my picture of Knock again!!

The article has even better craic about Lilywhite and Dinny and the Down interloper.

Sorry, I have to type this cause I can't find it to copy and paste and because I can't go to see Laois today shur I might as well.  The article continues...

Over in the Short Grass County, things aren't much better "Proibably shouldnt post on here after the rake of pints I had after enduring that sh*te tonight but here goes!" is the opening salvo from one Lilywhite on www.gaaboard.com "Myself and Dinny have been highlighting how poor the KIldare backs have been all through the league and we made the Louth full forward line look like the second coming of Sean Purcell Mikey Sheehy and Matt Connor...Oh for a Davy Dalton, Sos Dowling or Diego Maher tonight"

There are mixed views of the Armagh cognoscenti on whether their collapse to Monaghan could be blamed on the players, the transitional state of the team, an alleged obsession with bulk over flair, a lack of fight and/or their new boss, Down great Paddy O'Rourke.  Maybe they should listen to a Down interloper who trespassed on their SFC wake to declare that "As much as I enjoyed seeing ye get hammered, I think there is a huge over-reaction on here from the apple-munchers in general..its not as bleak as some of you would make out.

Then again its easy to offer qualified optimism when you aren't even in the qualifiers !!.

END

JMohan

But this is what the journo's and media do ...

Most sit at home and try and write articles from their kitchen table and take whatever insights they can get from the internet.
Again very sad example of the state of the GAA world at the minute but that's how bad it is.

Occasionally you get good journo's like the two boys from the Tribune like McEvoy and Shannon in particular who do some work and get off their horse and go and meet people to interview them and put in some ground work.

The rest throw up thrash each week and then try and milk their money on a book deal or something.

TV isn't much better, but then again would you expect much different from the likes of RTE??
They kept Pat the Plank in the hot seat for years after the numbers fell through the roof on the Late Late and now look who's doing it now - another disaster.
Of course then we have the BBC for our 6 county friends or as our colleague Jerome might call them it Biased Brits Communication who pay the sport lip service anyway. 

It's hard work in todays Irish sporting meja!

Maybe, but Frank Roche does write some excellent articles in the Herald under Roches Point and he is fairly good. As well as that we are always moaning when our board is not mentioned and here we got almost a full page when you throw in the big picture that was with the article and he did mention www.gaaboard.com twice.   

Eamon Carr has name-checked us in The Herald a few times as well.