Grand National Predictions - just the big race, Horsy thread for all other races

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, April 10, 2010, 12:46:50 AM

:D :D :D :D :D

fair play a.p.... had an each way

delighted for a.p... great race!

down6061689194

Best money Ive ever lost.

Most mutual respect and admiration for a winner I have seen. Absolutely Marvelous.

I'm still on a high, despite having watched the club play bloody awful in a subsidary league game. My own selections Black Aplachi (2nd e/w @ 14/1) and Vic Venturi (free bet as a result of the fall) did well. But it was the fact the oldest fella picked the Big Fella and both the wife and young lad picked Mc Coys mount, meant that once the three of them jumped the last I could declare to having backed the winner of the National ... Yahoooooo, elbow and all to come. The bet on the winner was only €5 e/w, but when you get 22/1 and the horse goes off at 10/ jf it is particularly sweet. Loving it  :D

CentreHalfBack

New season - new reason

was driving past the bookies in Randlestown, place was packed out into the street with happy punters ready to collect on A.P's win. was pleased as fook when he came through. my wee girl picked the 5th placed horse, i'd got it at 40/1 :(

bcarrier

well done to hoof hearted. The rest of ye are aftertimers  ;).

Happy for AP/ JP / johnjo ....

A technical question:

With King John's Castle not crossing the start line, is he regarded as a non-runner?

If not, have any of the larger bookies done the gesture of giving money back on KJC anyway?

Quote from: Hound on April 12, 2010, 07:18:12 AM
A technical question:

With King John's Castle not crossing the start line, is he regarded as a non-runner?

If not, have any of the larger bookies done the gesture of giving money back on KJC anyway?

If he comes under orders then you have lost your money

Quote from: maddog on April 12, 2010, 08:55:52 AM
Quote from: Hound on April 12, 2010, 07:18:12 AM
A technical question:

If he comes under orders then you have lost your money

I'd be pretty certain VC would give you the stake back in the form of free bet. Given the race and the circumstances I would imagine it is one where Paddy Power is refunding. Your traditional bookmakers like Ladbrokes or small independents will most like stick to the official line and your money is gone!