AFL Trials Gormanstown

Started by Jimmy14, March 03, 2010, 09:49:37 AM

whiskeysteve

Ive had enough of this Nixon c*nt.

He was shite in Star Trek and he was shite in Con Air.
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

The Irish lads do seem to pick up a lot of bad injuries over there and spend a lot of their time out injured. Good opportunity to get to Austrailia although it's completely different to on a holiday. I'm sure it's a tough enough profession and unless you make it big the money doesn't sound to be that brilliant. You still have to consider what your going to do in term's of a career after it to.

Quote from: INDIANA on March 04, 2010, 11:30:46 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 04, 2010, 11:15:46 AM
What right does Gilroy have to stop those players attending that trial?

Is it not similar to you're employer telling you you'll be sacked if you attend an interview for another job? Oh, but wait, they're only amateur, so its even 'worse' than that...

He didn't stop them from attending. He just gave them a choice. Do they want to be AFL players or Dublin footballers. Which he is entitled to do.

Its a tricky one for a gaelic manager, but they have to remember first and foremost they're dealing with amateur players, many of whom dream about becoming professional sportsmen. Do you think this will have changed with the ultimatum? Not a chance. Its just going to breed resentment.

Put yourself in the players shoes for a minute, rather than looking at it selfishly as a fan. And yes, they could be discarded in a year, get injured, etc etc, but I'd say that would be better than spending a lifetime wondering what if.

The reaction to nixon and aussie rules etc is ott. We have to accept that on many levels, we cant compete with a professional sport. What Nixon says with regard to fitness and body strength is largely correct: the simple truth is there are limits on how far gaelic football can progress due to its amateur status.

Rather than vilify aussie rules, which clearly isnt working, players should be let go to these trials, see how they get on, talk to others who went. It is very hard to make it, and perhaps when players hear of others experiences, and see what the craic is for themselves, they'll decide its not for them. By banning something, you'll breed resentment, and probably make it more popular, thats certainly what seems to be happening at the minute. Nixon isnt operating in a vacumn...

has kielt not already turned them down twice?  He's a dental or medical student I think, hardly make much financial sense to head off to oz for a bit of spending money, break a hand and can't practice the auld dentistry again.  He's probably happy enough to be seen there as he's no interest in heading off.
That aside, I have no problem with any lad going, it's a great opportunity for most of them.

Quote from: gerry on March 04, 2010, 07:04:18 PM
Nixon has his say now on newstalk radio

Did they ask him if he has a visa to conduct his 'work' in Ireland?

usa07

Quote from: Family guy on March 03, 2010, 08:04:55 PM
Deion Gallagher and conor mcnabb from tyrone were there
yeah heard Deion Gallagher an Conor Mc Nabb were at the trials Deion was told to attend the gym to build himself up an he mite be considered next year!! I hear Mc Nabb impressed!!

Gilroy believes Ireland can keep players from AFL
Dublin manager Pat Gilroy says the AFL holds risks for players.Dublin manager Pat Gilroy says the AFL holds risks for players.

GAELIC GAMES: DUBLIN SENIOR football manager Pat Gilroy declined to get drawn into any further debate with Australian Rules agent Ricky Nixon yesterday, but was happy to outline his own view of what the drive to recruit GAA players to Australia really amounted too, writes TOM HUMPHRIES

Four Dublin players – James McCarthy, Rory O'Carroll, Cian O'Sullivan and Paddy Andrews – withdrew from Wednesday trial sessions held in Gormanstown, prompting a sharp response from Nixon.

"You can't dictate people's lives. I am led to believe he called his players last night (Tuesday) and threatened that they would not play at the weekend if they came to the trial. I am not going to stop a player from playing county football, it doesn't make a difference to our recruitment – we will still recruit the players. So what he is doing is ridiculous and he is just making a fool of himself."

Gilroy pointed out that nobody had asked permission to attend the trials and nobody was told not to go.

"If fellas went and trained for four hours we couldn't consider them for the weekend when everyone else is resting. We have no college activity and no club activity this week.

"You do what you do with us and make your own decisions after that. I'm not going to lose any sleep over how it is construed."

Gilroy declined to respond directly to Nixon's less temperate comments but was happy to outline his own view of the cottage industry which recruitment has become.

"From here in with regard to this issue and this guy we are just going to let sleeping dogs lie. Personally, I don't know how attractive the thing is anymore. The amount of traffic there is coming back and the opportunities there are in Ireland have begun to tip things, I think.

"Things are changing, especially with the way the GPA have done stuff in terms of scholarships. There is a huge attraction to staying here now while you are in college. If you have a career already then it is an even bigger big risk. I think the whole GPA thing has made staying a lot more attractive.

"A fella with a degree who qualifies will be on the same money very quick as he would have made in Australia, plus he will have a very good sporting career while his own work career is developing."

Gilroy concedes the attractiveness of warm weather and the chance to be a full-time sportsperson but, while Australia will always be sunny, there are no guarantees about the longevity or success of a career Down Under.

Players coming back have several pieces to pick up. Gilroy who won an All-Ireland club football medal two years ago with St Vincent's, feels the ties that bind have been undersold.

"The GAA and the GPA coming together and the entire jobs initiative I think it is starting to tip things back in favour of Ireland. You have a career and have this improving support mechanism coming from the GAA and GPA.

"You can play and you can work on a career which will sustain you for the rest of your life. You train and play in a place and a tradition that you know. You are with the people you grew up with and have the prospect of winning something in that tradition without the upheaval of going to the other end of the world.

"If you go away for a few years and don't make it – and being honest, not many do make it – you come back and you are behind, you have missed out on career opportunities and you have missed out on all the profile that you might have taken advantage of in Ireland. That would just be my view. We have more to offer than we give ourselves credit for."

Good man Pat

Quote from: Declan on March 05, 2010, 08:32:16 AM
Gilroy believes Ireland can keep players from AFL
Dublin manager Pat Gilroy says the AFL holds risks for players.Dublin manager Pat Gilroy says the AFL holds risks for players.

GAELIC GAMES: DUBLIN SENIOR football manager Pat Gilroy declined to get drawn into any further debate with Australian Rules agent Ricky Nixon yesterday, but was happy to outline his own view of what the drive to recruit GAA players to Australia really amounted too, writes TOM HUMPHRIES

Four Dublin players – James McCarthy, Rory O'Carroll, Cian O'Sullivan and Paddy Andrews – withdrew from Wednesday trial sessions held in Gormanstown, prompting a sharp response from Nixon.

"You can't dictate people's lives. I am led to believe he called his players last night (Tuesday) and threatened that they would not play at the weekend if they came to the trial. I am not going to stop a player from playing county football, it doesn't make a difference to our recruitment – we will still recruit the players. So what he is doing is ridiculous and he is just making a fool of himself."

Gilroy pointed out that nobody had asked permission to attend the trials and nobody was told not to go.

"If fellas went and trained for four hours we couldn't consider them for the weekend when everyone else is resting. We have no college activity and no club activity this week.

"You do what you do with us and make your own decisions after that. I'm not going to lose any sleep over how it is construed."

Gilroy declined to respond directly to Nixon's less temperate comments but was happy to outline his own view of the cottage industry which recruitment has become.

"From here in with regard to this issue and this guy we are just going to let sleeping dogs lie. Personally, I don't know how attractive the thing is anymore. The amount of traffic there is coming back and the opportunities there are in Ireland have begun to tip things, I think.

"Things are changing, especially with the way the GPA have done stuff in terms of scholarships. There is a huge attraction to staying here now while you are in college. If you have a career already then it is an even bigger big risk. I think the whole GPA thing has made staying a lot more attractive.

"A fella with a degree who qualifies will be on the same money very quick as he would have made in Australia, plus he will have a very good sporting career while his own work career is developing."

Gilroy concedes the attractiveness of warm weather and the chance to be a full-time sportsperson but, while Australia will always be sunny, there are no guarantees about the longevity or success of a career Down Under.

Players coming back have several pieces to pick up. Gilroy who won an All-Ireland club football medal two years ago with St Vincent's, feels the ties that bind have been undersold.

"The GAA and the GPA coming together and the entire jobs initiative I think it is starting to tip things back in favour of Ireland. You have a career and have this improving support mechanism coming from the GAA and GPA.

"You can play and you can work on a career which will sustain you for the rest of your life. You train and play in a place and a tradition that you know. You are with the people you grew up with and have the prospect of winning something in that tradition without the upheaval of going to the other end of the world.

"If you go away for a few years and don't make it – and being honest, not many do make it – you come back and you are behind, you have missed out on career opportunities and you have missed out on all the profile that you might have taken advantage of in Ireland. That would just be my view. We have more to offer than we give ourselves credit for."

Good man Pat

Was just about to post that myself. Fair play to Gilroy, he makes his case very well. And he didn't stoop to Nixon's level with cheap insults and soundbites. Just concentrated on the positives that are on offer in Ireland over Australia for a young footballer.

Nixon was getting a bit snippy on Newstalk when he was challenged about the Gilroy thing.
The presenter asked him to name his source and he said "I don't have to tell you anything" before saying one of the Dublin players had texted him.
I think he's happy just to have people talking about him to be honest.
Gilroy handled this like a pro in contrast.

The Worker

I hear simon crozier from armagh impressed!

Aghdavoyle

Quote from: The Worker on March 05, 2010, 11:28:23 AM

who is simon crozier?

The Worker

Quote from: Aghdavoyle on March 05, 2010, 12:13:33 PM
Quote from: The Worker on March 05, 2010, 11:28:23 AM

who is simon crozier?

prospect from wolfe tones, derrymacash- same club as the great paddy mo

Quote from: full back on March 04, 2010, 11:52:13 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 04, 2010, 11:42:00 AM
Can't blame the lads for going but it would be awful if Gaelic football were to lose Michael Murphy. It is joy to watch him in action and also Niall McKenna leaping for  ball brings back memories of his sad Eugene doing the same thing. Whatever about Tyrone it would be some loss to Donaghmore after Niall McGinn going to soccer. Hope they are not dragged away.

Such nonsense. FFS no-one is being dragged away to another sport. These lads want to go to play a professional sport so saying players are dragged away is complete sh1te.

Enticed then...  don't be getting your knickers in a twist  :-*