Kildare and mc Genney bending the rules??

Started by Family guy, December 05, 2009, 12:07:30 AM

I know 2 county football teams who have been training for over a month now for a fact. Not from Connacht by the way!

Winnie Peg

Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 07, 2009, 11:24:38 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 07, 2009, 11:16:03 AM
So you think he was mad keen to play for the club, despite being injured, but only plays for the college because he feels obliged? I doubt that very much. Generally at that age you want to play the whole time: If he did have an injury, the club should have checked him out and told him he wasnt fit to play. Its player welfare that the GAA are supposed to be looking after, everyone knows players will try to play, even when unfit. And that you did this when you played, so '...expect no less from others' is a silly statement: let your young superstar play with an injury now, you potentially ruin his career... ::)

Just from a quick glance at the article for the break above, doesnt that lad still advocate at least 4 sessions a week? And that you can have a bit of craic if you do it with team mates...i.e. co. team mates?  ??? Good break aright, of course the counties are embracing him  ::)
Hes demonstrating exactly what McGurn is worried about, and doesnt seem to realise it.
that is exactly the case - he wanted to play the semi final but said he wasnt going to be allowed to get a rest by the college as they paid him a grant ..i'm paraphrasing, but thats what he said !
I am not over the u21 team but have managed and coached the lad for a few years before this and know him well.
so unfortunately your presumptions are incorrect.
I would expect the club to get him seen to and looked after.
However the point is that colleges seem to force young lads to play even when the shoudnt.
my idea of training over the winter two months is by themselves or with the club once or twice a week - and even then by playing basketball or something similar recreational yet keeps them ticking over etc.

How in the name of God could anyone MAKE someone play iuf they have an injury and is unable to run as a result of it. You are talking nonsense and your evidence is very limited on the word of one boy. I played university football at all levels and it was the best expewrience of my life bar none.

Quote from: Winnie Peg on December 07, 2009, 12:23:27 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 07, 2009, 11:24:38 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 07, 2009, 11:16:03 AM
So you think he was mad keen to play for the club, despite being injured, but only plays for the college because he feels obliged? I doubt that very much. Generally at that age you want to play the whole time: If he did have an injury, the club should have checked him out and told him he wasnt fit to play. Its player welfare that the GAA are supposed to be looking after, everyone knows players will try to play, even when unfit. And that you did this when you played, so '...expect no less from others' is a silly statement: let your young superstar play with an injury now, you potentially ruin his career... ::)

Just from a quick glance at the article for the break above, doesnt that lad still advocate at least 4 sessions a week? And that you can have a bit of craic if you do it with team mates...i.e. co. team mates?  ??? Good break aright, of course the counties are embracing him  ::)
Hes demonstrating exactly what McGurn is worried about, and doesnt seem to realise it.
that is exactly the case - he wanted to play the semi final but said he wasnt going to be allowed to get a rest by the college as they paid him a grant ..i'm paraphrasing, but thats what he said !
I am not over the u21 team but have managed and coached the lad for a few years before this and know him well.
so unfortunately your presumptions are incorrect.
I would expect the club to get him seen to and looked after.
However the point is that colleges seem to force young lads to play even when the shoudnt.
my idea of training over the winter two months is by themselves or with the club once or twice a week - and even then by playing basketball or something similar recreational yet keeps them ticking over etc.

How in the name of God could anyone MAKE someone play iuf they have an injury and is unable to run as a result of it. You are talking nonsense and your evidence is very limited on the word of one boy. I played university football at all levels and it was the best expewrience of my life bar none.
so far its what this lad told me and from a subsequent conversation with an ex Dublin football and ex uni player who ratified what the lad said.

i'll forgive your rashness on this...
i played some of the most enjoyable foball in college myself and even got to (and was beaten) in an all Ireland final.
I Started a fresher team in a college I went to at a later stage as there was none there at the time. so am afraid yer a good bit off the mark in being so pre-judgemental ! :D

Winnie Peg

I just want someone to explain, how you can make someone play/train if he is physically unfit to do so!

My biggest problem with player well being is the number of county players who are having cortisone injections pumped into them on a regular basis to get them through games with absolutely no regard to their future well being!

Quote from: Winnie Peg on December 07, 2009, 01:10:02 PM
I just want someone to explain, how you can make someone play/train if he is physically unfit to do so!
My biggest problem with player well being is the number of county players who are having cortisone injections pumped into them on a regular basis to get them through games with absolutely no regard to their future well being!
I was going to answer for you to look at the bernard flynn thread - but you beat me to it

its not hard to get people to play even when they are inj
in fact its hard to stop them. Maybe not all but a lot of lads I know woul dplay in spite of them not being right.
Colleges wouldnt care as much about a players well being as a club would (should) so as these players are commodities and are only there for a few brief years. Club players obv should be at a local team for 10-15 years !

I know fellas that played after going over on both ankles the week before. They were mightily peed off when taken off at half time despite incapable of 'running' and were hobbling badly (though the player in question had scored 2-2 in that first half and more or less won the game for his club in the first half's perf).
its not ideal but thats what happens from my experience anyhow. I try not to play lads who are inj. The lads still get p***d off when not selected though despite this !

Winnie Peg

I know the statistics are hardly available  the worst offenders are the county managers. In my experience the county manager will field a player despite his physical state and will authorise injections to be given to obtain short term gain with absolutely no regard for the players long term well being. When they are defeated in the championship, they are returned to the club just hanging together withy the county refusing to deliver any more medical assistance and it being left to the club to look after.
All the county manager is concerned about is attempting to justify his large "salary"

Quote from: Winnie Peg on December 07, 2009, 02:35:00 PM
I know the statistics are hardly available  the worst offenders are the county managers. In my experience the county manager will field a player despite his physical state and will authorise injections to be given to obtain short term gain with absolutely no regard for the players long term well being. When they are defeated in the championship, they are returned to the club just hanging together withy the county refusing to deliver any more medical assistance and it being left to the club to look after.
All the county manager is concerned about is attempting to justify his large "salary"
[/quote
yep - though it went on long before managers were getting paid

its a bit crazy to think that a lad who is only half fit would be better than a lad with less talent but fully fit and fast !

ardal

Quote from: Winnie Peg on December 07, 2009, 02:35:00 PM

All fine and well, when the Club/ college/ county player, manager and doctor / hospital are within a stones distance. But who the feck hasn't lied to get  a game?? Yeah, sometimes a player is risked in a winner takes all, near the end of the session, but it's normally a case of letting the player on, rather than stopping him, ie it's his decision he's ready.

One of the papers yesterday says that Kildare are going to be called in for questioning over this trip.

I'd say Mc Geeney is really worried about it !!!  ;)

LilySavage

Quote from: LilySavage on February 02, 2010, 02:22:34 PM
Who really cares when players train?

Christy Cooney by the sounds of it.

Its a completely stupid rule anyway though. What harm was there in Kildare going out to New York and playing a mickey mouse match? The players raised the vast bulk of the money to pay for the trip so I'd say they were entitled to do what they liked when they were out there.

was this "training" on their upper arms and leg muscles from walking up and down fifth avenue with shopping bags?

probably more of a christmas shopping excursion after a tough year

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2010, 05:05:13 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on February 02, 2010, 02:22:34 PM
Who really cares when players train?

Christy Cooney by the sounds of it.

Its a completely stupid rule anyway though. What harm was there in Kildare going out to New York and playing a mickey mouse match? The players raised the vast bulk of the money to pay for the trip so I'd say they were entitled to do what they liked when they were out there.
[/b]
Exactly.