Irish Times' 40 greatest Irish albums

Started by GalwayBayBoy, March 13, 2008, 10:24:50 PM

I seen them a  number of times and it was all that banging 'On the One Road' and all that. I knew what I was getting and that was ok. Those songs you mentioned obviously didn't make much impression anywhere... I'd say few have heard of them.

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 30, 2010, 11:57:47 PM
Did i say one of those songs? I don't think i did.
So what, the table thumping ones?

Well strangely i've seen them several times, and those songs, amongst others, continually are sung. And most have featured on each compilation album. Whether you few haven't heard of them doesn't really matter as their albums are consistently successful. All you are doing is making your argument less valid by admitting you don't know the music well.

I know a few ex-prisoners who have no time for them at all. A bit like the equivalent of Paisley during the Troubles whipping it up and giving it all the rhetoric and then going away to count their money. Is their evaluation of them. 

And it doesn't matter which ones Maguire, my point is that most would refer to some WTs song as an example.

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 31, 2010, 12:07:04 AM
And it doesn't matter which ones Maguire, my point is that most would refer to some WTs song as an example.

That's some job that Nally Stand youse have up there. I was in Croke Park dozens of times in the 70s and onwards and only in it once. That was 1977 replay when Armagh beat Roscommon with me Dad and brother. I've been in it  a few times since it came to Carrickmore. You can nearly feel the ghosts in it. My Da has died since and always reminds me of him. Fair play to youse.

Anyway, back to the music...   

And I know many ex prisoners who do like them and saw many at a concert last year. I guess they, unlike you, judge them on their entire music, not the 5% of "table thumping" music. Incidentally, the WT concerts are all seated in rows and have been for several years. Hardly lends itself to rabble rousing table thumping does it

It's nice to have it fox. Despite the new concrete and replacement of the asbestos roof it still does have the feel of the original. New museum opened inside it last year it's worth a visit

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 31, 2010, 12:15:30 AM
And I know many ex prisoners who do like them and saw many at a ancest last year. I guess they, unlike you, judge them on their entire music, not the 5% of "table thumping" music. Incidentally, the WT concerts are all seated in rows and have been for several years. Hardly lends itself to rabble rousing table thumping does it

It is far more than 5%. Listen I like them ok but am not deluded that they are some kind of top Irish group. They are wat they are... a few very good balleds and a lot of table thumping... On the One Road, Sean South, Broad Black Brimmer, Come out you Black 'n Tans... unless they have mellowed recently.   

Aye was very innovative to get that stand. You should get the Wolfe Tones up to play in the summer  8)

Don't worry we had them in te Patrician Hall last year (sold out ;-)). And i'd advise ya to look at the song list of their 25th anniversary album as an example that while ok more than 5% are table thumping, most are not. And not all table thumping songs have to be bad. I just feel that they have achieved more, are more popular, are more well known and are more deserving of a place on that list than certain others on it, unfortunately for the WTs, many people just have it in for them.

They have been singing Oro se do bheatha bhaile and tabhair dom do lamh for years and in 2006 released an album entirely in Irish called as Gaeilge   

Give it a rest hardstation if you don't like them thats grand i don't really give a fcuk. Bit pathetic if u ask me, wondering if they had no songs as gaeilge hoping for a no answer and having another stick to beat them with, and since that backfired the best you can do is talk about whether you like them or not! All that matters is that you are in the minority in Ireland in not liking them.

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 31, 2010, 03:11:11 AM
Give it a rest hardstation if you don't like them thats grand i don't really give a fcuk.
Only you clearly do.

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 31, 2010, 03:11:11 AM
All that matters is that you are in the minority in Ireland in not liking them.
How do you work that one out?