GPS Map Help .

Started by Bud Wiser, November 19, 2009, 11:49:48 AM

Can anyone help me with the following little problem.

If I launch Google Earth and I hover my mouse say over a pub down the road it will give me the Lat & Long. co-ordinates down on the bottom.

Now, if I copy these and insert them here :  http://www.followmegps.com/ I end up in Ethiopia or in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean so what am I getting wrong, is it the two different GPS formats or what.  Someone is after taking the ould Massey Ferguson 20 on me and if I can't get a trace on her before the battery goes flat I'll never see her again.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 19, 2009, 11:49:48 AM
Can anyone help me with the following little problem.

If I launch Google Earth and I hover my mouse say over a pub down the road it will give me the Lat & Long. co-ordinates down on the bottom.

Now, if I copy these and insert them here :  http://www.followmegps.com/ I end up in Ethiopia or in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean so what am I getting wrong, is it the two different GPS formats or what.  Someone is after taking the ould Massey Ferguson 20 on me and if I can't get a trace on her before the battery goes flat I'll never see her again.

First check if you your longitudes and latitudes reversed?

Then see if you putting in Lat/Lon Degrees instead of decimal format?

Thanks very much.  I tried all that.  I end up iun West Germany instead of Ethiopia then.  I even copied the GPS (Degrees, Minutes & Secs) to a decimal converter and still the same.   Surely to jaysus there is a thing somewhere on the internet where you can just enter the co-ordinates in GPS format and it will point you there on a map.

the scenic route

The projected coordinates system on google maps maybe different to the the one used on followmegps, Frustratingly there are anything up to a couple of hundred projected coordinate systems used with Ireland having its own unique one, Googlemaps maybe a case of several of these projected coordinate systems stitched together or just one which is different to followmegps, so that may be where your problem lies
"Underneath that thin veneer of human civilisation, we're all just a bunch of fu*king animals"

I'd say they have the wheels off her now anyway.   I am surprised that with all the technology and internet sites that if I have a know GPS co-ordinate I can't just type it into a form and it will direct me to a location on the map.  O'Neill or someone should know about this.

angermanagement

Try using the minus sign (-) before the longitude.

It works that way on my sat nav.

I got a PM to this and I really appreciate it, thanks.  I am just bringing it back here out in the open in case anyone else can help as well.  Forget about the tractor, that was a joke.

When Im not on gaaboard.com I does be installing CCTV Systems and most now come with viewing over Internet soi right now your boss is probably in Spain watching you browse the threads from his mobile phone. There are hundreds of manufacturers of mobile phones and all have different operating systems but the two most popular are Symbian (Nokia) and Windows Mobile V6 (Samsung) as examples with iPhone coming up the tracks as fast as Eddie Brennan.

Now, to add to a package I am putting together I want GPS tracking which I will explain as follows.  The yoke below is the tracker so you fit a Pay As You Go Sim Card inside her and say for example you stick her under the saddle of the bikes that are rented by Dublin City Council, she will fire back the GPS Coordinates to you when it receives a text message .  So, what I want to do is, instead of yer man in Spain having one phone to ring you on and tell you to get off the GAA Board and back to work, one for looking at you to make sure you do, and one for tracking his daughter in case Laoislad or Hardstation have spotted a chink in his security, I am looking for a website that I can log onto and when I enter the co-ordinates it will transfer them to a map on the phone.

The device fires back the co-ordinates and I want to be able to transfer them into a map location.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 25, 2009, 09:59:19 AM
I got a PM to this and I really appreciate it, thanks.  I am just bringing it back here out in the open in case anyone else can help as well.  Forget about the tractor, that was a joke.

When Im not on gaaboard.com I does be installing CCTV Systems and most now come with viewing over Internet soi right now your boss is probably in Spain watching you browse the threads from his mobile phone. There are hundreds of manufacturers of mobile phones and all have different operating systems but the two most popular are Symbian (Nokia) and Windows Mobile V6 (Samsung) as examples with iPhone coming up the tracks as fast as Eddie Brennan.

Now, to add to a package I am putting together I want GPS tracking which I will explain as follows.  The yoke below is the tracker so you fit a Pay As You Go Sim Card inside her and say for example you stick her under the saddle of the bikes that are rented by Dublin City Council, she will fire back the GPS Coordinates to you when it receives a text message .  So, what I want to do is, instead of yer man in Spain having one phone to ring you on and tell you to get off the GAA Board and back to work, one for looking at you to make sure you do, and one for tracking his daughter in case Laoislad or Hardstation have spotted a chink in his security, I am looking for a website that I can log onto and when I enter the co-ordinates it will transfer them to a map on the phone.

The device fires back the co-ordinates and I want to be able to transfer them into a map location.

I think I can help there bud, I just PM'd you