GPA Collectors Item = Polo Shirt for sale.

Started by Bud Wiser, October 16, 2009, 12:06:17 PM

Quote from: DuffleKing on October 16, 2009, 12:20:14 PM

I find your personal attacks on brian corcoran and dj carey very uncomfortable reading.

Couldn't care less about the gpa but is this what we're reduced to - asassinating the character of our greatest players - to get a kick?
says the guy who calls the armagh manager a water carrier( and he having won  an all ireland at every grade he played in) ;)

different story if he was coming to play for armagh then

Well as promised here is how it went today, andit was not very well.  Poor ould Bud can only be lifted by Ballboden winning their first double tommorrow.

BW: Good evening Dessie, thanks for giving me this interview.
DF: You have five minutes so go ahead, ask anything you like.
BW: Well I subscribe to gaaboard.com and the lads on there were just saying..
DF: (Stands up, fists clenched) That foooking board, your a member of that,
the ultimate virtual barstool know-all's hangout? And you want me to answer to them?
BW: Calm Down Dessie, look, its just a few questions and I won't delay you.
DF: Well be quick, I have to be in Krakow tonight for a meeting of the EU Athletes
to confirm that I will be an observer in a meeting on Wednesday, October 14 of the
Advisory Group on Legal Issues of the Monitoring Group of the Anti Doping Convention. What is your question?
BW: That was my question ! Why did you not take the de Valera/Michael Collins route and do the bit of work at home first? Like, the lads on gaaboard.com were just wondering why ye joined up with this fella Walter Palmer who came over to meet ye and they are saying that apart from the GPA all the other members of the EU Elite Athletes Association are professionals. Are you breaking with tradition and becoming professional too?
DF: The only thing I'll be breaking (stands up again) is your fooking neck if you mention the gaaboard.com again.
BW: But Walter has his own website http://www.spinbb.net/ because he has his finger in a few pies and his mission statement says that he represents professional basketball teams and other professionals That to me indicates that the GPA are using the European Elite Athletes Association to make an indirect statement that all members of the GPA in terms of current players, they, the players, are professional? Is that not a true reflection of the situation.
DF:  You wouldn't know your reflection if you were standing six inches from a full length mirror ya thick ya, but yes, Walter is doing quite well for himself out of the
players he represents and has about three websites if you really want to know look him up.
BW: On a different topic, someone from your association just lobbed your annual returns into the CRO Office, and... now... I'm not saying this, but it appears
there is a bit of a shortfall and tax and PRSI was owed and of course on account of this the boyos on the, oh, some gaa site I came across, were saying that
the GPA were about as financially secure as a certain soccer team in Cork and that ye were basicly up the creek without a paddle. Is that fair assesment?
DF: I'll tell you this, before I took this job, or if you like, before I took this vocation I was a Pysyciatric Nurse and never ever have I dealt with a patient who was even
1% as much deluded than those who think that the GPA has an agenda that is other than what is clearly stated on our website. There are a few county boards around the country including your own where you might find shortfalls allright.  I'll tell you what, can I ask you a few questions?
BW: Go Ahead.
DF: See the ticket you collected for our gig on the 6th November? How much did you pay for it?
BW: Two Hundred Euro.
DF: Now can you multiply 200 x 2300 which is the number of tickets that will be sold on the night, an increase of 370+ on last year thanks to good people like you.
BW: 200 x 2300... 2 x 23.. that would be 46,000 and I suppose with sponsorship and TV rights and interviews ye will pull in a bit as well?
DF: Its not 46,000 ya thick ya, its almost half a million and enough to keep us in wages and high flying until next year, hopefully.
BW: Just one last question:  Now that you have established the GPA in Europe do you think you will go on and crack America?
DF: Now you are beginning to sound like a failed fookin rock star and this interview is over. Crack America? Crack America, I'll crack your jaw if you don;t get your arse out of here now.  Ah I'm only jokin, see ya on the 6th at the gig.

Cúig huaire

Bud are you sure it isn't a Gay Players Association T-Shirt that you have for sale?  ;)
Donagh, the GAA Board`s Sinn Fein PSNI spokesperson.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on October 16, 2009, 03:22:35 PM

That's fair enough Rois, I understand where you are coming from.  However, I have a few friends in business who are a little bit behind in their PRSI and Tax and the Sheriff arrived on their doors over the last week or so. At 31 December 2008 GPA Management Company owed €41,509 in VAT and €12,362 in PAYE/PRSI.   

If they had creditors it would be one thing but tax and PRSI is different. 

Bud, I have great respect for you. I would always read what you have to say. Most of the time you are interesting and I know from what others who have met you say, that you are a very decent bloke.

However regarding the GPA you do spout a loud of biased nonsense.
The phrase "a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing" sums you up perfectly.

Every employer in this country will have a PAYE/PRSI liability in their year-end accounts.
Every VAT paying business will have a VAT liability in their accounts.

The GPA's December PAYE/PRSI  liability did not have to be paid until January, therefore they had to have a liability at 31 December.
The GPA's VAT liability for November and for December did not have to be paid until January.

To suggest there is anything untoward in such balances is pure nonsense.

By the way, for the sheriff to be called in, your mates are more than "a little bit behind". There are well behind in their payments and they are accruing interest at a rate of around 10% (non-tax deductible) on those balances, as well as the sheriff's own fees.

The GPA pay no interest or penalties in relation to tax. The GPA pay all their tax liabilities on time and in full. And its not the first time you have suggested otherwise. Maybe you like flirting with libel?

dowling

Wouldn't be an expert on the finances Bud but you definitely captured the GPA tone. Good read.

cornafean

Quote from: Hound on October 18, 2009, 09:40:56 PM

Every employer in this country will have a PAYE/PRSI liability in their year-end accounts.

The GPA's December PAYE/PRSI  liability did not have to be paid until January, therefore they had to have a liability at 31 December.
The GPA's VAT liability for November and for December did not have to be paid until January.

That may be the case but to generate a VAT bill of €41,509 in November & December, you would need to have sales income of at least €193,065 in those 2 months (at a standard VAT rate of 21.5%).

Its hard to imagine how the GPA could generate over €90,000 a month in sales income, unless it is a far bigger operation than it appears to be, especially as the CRO figures indicate that it is losing money hand over fist.
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Quote from: Hound on October 18, 2009, 09:40:56 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on October 16, 2009, 03:22:35 PM

That's fair enough Rois, I understand where you are coming from.  However, I have a few friends in business who are a little bit behind in their PRSI and Tax and the Sheriff arrived on their doors over the last week or so. At 31 December 2008 GPA Management Company owed €41,509 in VAT and €12,362 in PAYE/PRSI.   

If they had creditors it would be one thing but tax and PRSI is different. 

Bud, I have great respect for you. I would always read what you have to say. Most of the time you are interesting and I know from what others who have met you say, that you are a very decent bloke.

However regarding the GPA you do spout a loud of biased nonsense.
The phrase "a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing" sums you up perfectly.

By the way, for the sheriff to be called in, your mates are more than "a little bit behind". There are well behind in their payments and they are accruing interest at a rate of around 10% (non-tax deductible) on those balances, as well as the sheriff's own fees.

The GPA pay no interest or penalties in relation to tax. The GPA pay all their tax liabilities on time and in full. And its not the first time you have suggested otherwise. Maybe you like flirting with libel?
Sounds like a threat to me. You one of Dessie's errand boys?

Quote from: cornafean on October 19, 2009, 09:29:25 AM
That may be the case but to generate a VAT bill of €41,509 in November & December, you would need to have sales income of at least €193,065 in those 2 months (at a standard VAT rate of 21.5%).

Its hard to imagine how the GPA could generate over €90,000 a month in sales income, unless it is a far bigger operation than it appears to be, especially as the CRO figures indicate that it is losing money hand over fist.

I'm not a GPA fan first off, so that's not my agenda in arguing, but in my recent experience the Revenue have been pretty flexible in indirect tax payments in the last year or so - without knowing the ins and outs, you can't say definitively that the €41k bill relates to the last two months of the year only.  These accounts also outline the position at the end of last December, almost ten months ago.  If they hadn't been able to pay to the Revenue's satisfaction, they'd be going through legal action by now to wind up the company.
The auditors have signed off on going concern, therefore they risk legal action if they are not convinced that the company will be in operation for the next 12 months.  Not easy to sign off on that when the Revenue are at the door.

cornafean

Quote from: Rois on October 20, 2009, 08:12:50 AM
in my recent experience the Revenue have been pretty flexible in indirect tax payments in the last year or so - without knowing the ins and outs, you can't say definitively that the €41k bill relates to the last two months of the year only.

That's exactly my point. Its highly unlikely that the €43k VAT bill all relates to the last 2 months of 2008, as Hound implies.
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Michael Schmeichal

Quote from: Bud Wiser on October 17, 2009, 08:19:02 PM
Well as promised here is how it went today, andit was not very well.  Poor ould Bud can only be lifted by Ballboden winning their first double tommorrow.

BW: Good evening Dessie, thanks for giving me this interview.
DF: You have five minutes so go ahead, ask anything you like.
BW: Well I subscribe to gaaboard.com and the lads on there were just saying..
DF: (Stands up, fists clenched) That foooking board, your a member of that,
the ultimate virtual barstool know-all's hangout? And you want me to answer to them?
BW: Calm Down Dessie, look, its just a few questions and I won't delay you.
DF: Well be quick, I have to be in Krakow tonight for a meeting of the EU Athletes
to confirm that I will be an observer in a meeting on Wednesday, October 14 of the
Advisory Group on Legal Issues of the Monitoring Group of the Anti Doping Convention. What is your question?
BW: That was my question ! Why did you not take the de Valera/Michael Collins route and do the bit of work at home first? Like, the lads on gaaboard.com were just wondering why ye joined up with this fella Walter Palmer who came over to meet ye and they are saying that apart from the GPA all the other members of the EU Elite Athletes Association are professionals. Are you breaking with tradition and becoming professional too?
DF: The only thing I'll be breaking (stands up again) is your fooking neck if you mention the gaaboard.com again.
BW: But Walter has his own website http://www.spinbb.net/ because he has his finger in a few pies and his mission statement says that he represents professional basketball teams and other professionals That to me indicates that the GPA are using the European Elite Athletes Association to make an indirect statement that all members of the GPA in terms of current players, they, the players, are professional? Is that not a true reflection of the situation.
DF:  You wouldn't know your reflection if you were standing six inches from a full length mirror ya thick ya, but yes, Walter is doing quite well for himself out of the
players he represents and has about three websites if you really want to know look him up.
BW: On a different topic, someone from your association just lobbed your annual returns into the CRO Office, and... now... I'm not saying this, but it appears
there is a bit of a shortfall and tax and PRSI was owed and of course on account of this the boyos on the, oh, some gaa site I came across, were saying that
the GPA were about as financially secure as a certain soccer team in Cork and that ye were basicly up the creek without a paddle. Is that fair assesment?
DF: I'll tell you this, before I took this job, or if you like, before I took this vocation I was a Pysyciatric Nurse and never ever have I dealt with a patient who was even
1% as much deluded than those who think that the GPA has an agenda that is other than what is clearly stated on our website. There are a few county boards around the country including your own where you might find shortfalls allright.  I'll tell you what, can I ask you a few questions?
BW: Go Ahead.
DF: See the ticket you collected for our gig on the 6th November? How much did you pay for it?
BW: Two Hundred Euro.
DF: Now can you multiply 200 x 2300 which is the number of tickets that will be sold on the night, an increase of 370+ on last year thanks to good people like you.
BW: 200 x 2300... 2 x 23.. that would be 46,000 and I suppose with sponsorship and TV rights and interviews ye will pull in a bit as well?
DF: Its not 46,000 ya thick ya, its almost half a million and enough to keep us in wages and high flying until next year, hopefully.
BW: Just one last question:  Now that you have established the GPA in Europe do you think you will go on and crack America?
DF: Now you are beginning to sound like a failed fookin rock star and this interview is over. Crack America? Crack America, I'll crack your jaw if you don;t get your arse out of here now.  Ah I'm only jokin, see ya on the 6th at the gig.

Is this meant to be funny Bud? If it is don't give up the day job.

QuoteBy the way, for the sheriff to be called in, your mates are more than "a little bit behind". There are well behind in their payments and they are accruing interest at a rate of around 10% (non-tax deductible) on those balances, as well as the sheriff's own fees.

Hound, in fairness you haven't a clue about the companies, not mates, I was talking about wheras I quoted actual figures. In one case, I can absolutely assure you, the figure was less than 30,000. That was why I mentioned the different rules for different taxpayers.  What you are saying is that I am a liar and flirting with libelous statements which would be libel in the real world if you want to go down that road.

Michael Schmeichal,   why don't you take your head back down outa your hole and write something funny for us yourself?  Or better still, if you don't like the thread simply pass on by, but either way, if it annoys you that much, then that makes me happy.

Quotethat is other than what is clearly stated on our website. There are a few county boards around the country including your own where you might find shortfalls allright.

We don't have no county board no more. Last night, Dick Millar, the chairman, the treasurer and the auditor resigned.

I know, keep yer distance.  I even fired a stone at a duck crossing the yard today, could have taken the head clean of the poor devil.