The ever gracious Paddy Barnes

Started by thejuice, September 07, 2009, 09:22:20 AM

Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 07, 2009, 01:04:24 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 07, 2009, 12:37:14 PM
Could this idiot not feck off and fight for the UK? Thats twice he has let himself and this country down by his spoilt brat antics

This is bang out of order that the mods let this highly provocative and offensive avator remain on the board
Its designed to wind-up nordies I'm sure - but even if he's serious he's well entitled to have the policitial viewpoint of wanting to keep it as a 26 county state. 

Why not just start a wind up 'Nordies' thread as you call them?... actually I'll start one for you so it doesn't have to be thrown into other threads...

Galwaybhoy

I have never seen anything as bad in sport as the judging system in amateur Boxing.  If professional boxing wasn't corrput enough amateur boxing is nearly as bad.  I remember watching the boxing at the Olympics while I was on holidays in 2004 and the scoring system was shocking then and the Eurosport commentators said as much.  It didn't improve much for the last Olympics either and Barnes didn't get one point in that last round there either, its a joke.

botman

Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 07, 2009, 01:28:53 PM
I have never seen anything as bad in sport as the judging system in amateur Boxing.  If professional boxing wasn't corrput enough amateur boxing is nearly as bad.  I remember watching the boxing at the Olympics while I was on holidays in 2004 and the scoring system was shocking then and the Eurosport commentators said as much.  It didn't improve much for the last Olympics either and Barnes didn't get one point in that last round there either, its a joke.

Paddy is still a helmet though.
Keep them at it.

Paddy is a young lad who will need to learn how to accept defeat. On both occasions that he has misbehaved, he got beaten and well beaten. He's not the best boxer in the world and won't ever be unless he learns to deal with a better oppnent in a more positive way. I know boxing coaches who are disgusted with the way he has let his country and sport down.

Quote from: orangeman on September 07, 2009, 01:38:18 PM
Paddy is a young lad who will need to learn how to accept defeat. On both occasions that he has misbehaved, he got beaten and well beaten. He's not the best boxer in the world and won't ever be unless he learns to deal with a better oppnent in a more positive way. I know boxing coaches who are disgusted with the way he has let his country and sport down.
I agree, Boxers have long been admired for their repsectful approach to officialdolm and their opponents. Paddy seems to lack the discipline and probably talent to suceed.  A shame because he will probably turn into a real rocket now in the real world.

Jesus that didn't look straight to me (from my extremely limited knowledge of the scoring system).

Quote from: Drumanee 1 on September 07, 2009, 01:04:00 PM
was it really that bad?Jesus you can see why he might be upset,he absolutely battered your man in the last round and was beat 3 points to 0 :o

So did the ref (bird?) give the Kenyan lad an 8 count in the 3rd round, but that is worth no points??

Quote from: tyssam5 on September 07, 2009, 09:49:09 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on September 07, 2009, 01:04:00 PM
was it really that bad?Jesus you can see why he might be upset,he absolutely battered your man in the last round and was beat 3 points to 0 :o

So did the ref (bird?) give the Kenyan lad an 8 count in the 3rd round, but that is worth no points??

no and neither is  a knock down. you can be knock out by a phantom punch and if the clock saves you the score card can read you were never hit.
he was right to complain . he was all ver the guy ans remember body punches carry  as many points as ones to the head .
a major travesty of justice . maybe it was politic for a kenyan to qualify

dodo

Barnes the scut threw a few punches well after the final bell at the third, Mungai still went over to embrace at the end and wee Paddy threw his arm away. The guy just lets himself down badly in public, hope he matures and puts all these tantrums behind him to maximise on his talents.

He is immature, but feck me he was cheated out of plenty of clear points in 3rd round, he trains his ass off, would anyone be annoyed, I would be and Id react negatively aswell in the frustration of it. Just put yourself in his shoes, its not right. The perpertraitors are the corrupt judges and they are the cause of Paddys reaction. Not him. Give him a break hes a emotional lad.

Capt Pat

What did Paddy do that was so bad. From reading the papers you got the impression that he had mad a complete show of himself. He did react in a bad way but not in the worst possible way as was implied in the papers. Why did he not get any points in the final round? The fact that he may still have lost the fight even with fair jusdging is not a valid one. If 15 of us on the message board went out to play the Kilkenny hurlers tomorrow and we got hockeyed but every time we scored a point or a goal the umpires waved them wide, we would be very pissed off. We would still lose badly in any event but I know each and every one of you would be raging at the behaviour of the umpires. Paddy Barnes has got a lot on the line in these tournaments ,these are not freindly challenge events, this is what he lives his life for and I think the Irish media should have stood behind Paddy Barnes instead of calling him a disgrace.

It is possible that Barnes has been punished here for his reaction at the olympics. The scoring was corrupt at the olympics and corrupt here and this is a lesson that paddy Barnes is learning, birds of a feather stick together. Keep on fighting the good fight Paddy.

hes just a stupid wee smicker with no wit--hes been a runnin joke since the olympics

sayin they can keep the medal, then appearin at the openin of a postage stamp every day smiling in every local paper with the medal hangin round his neck

hes an ejit

he lets belfast people down throughout the country when he gets on the way he does

he told Marty Morrisey on live TV after the semi in the Olympics that "the judges should go away and kill themselves" Marty didnt know where to look

he is a bollix