Culchie question

Started by Orior, July 28, 2009, 09:31:25 AM

In order to stop goats or sheep wandering off too far, farmers sometimes tie a rope between the front leg and hind leg of said animal.

I've known this to be called a "langle" but not sure of the spelling. Can anyone advise?

It's a spancil where I and my goats came from.

[Edit]  Just checked - neither word is in the concise OED.
Trivial fact: The concise OED has only six English words that begin with "lang".

The word "spancil" relates to the practice of "spancilling," which was to use a short rope to
tie an animal's left fore-leg to its right hind leg, thereby hobbling the animal and stopping it from wandering
too far.

The mrs sticks it on me after work on a friday

Always used the term langling whenever Granda BC was clipping the sheep

Langle would always have been the term I would known

"Put a langle on that goat our boy, the fcuker will be over in the rocks by the time tomorrow comes if ye dont"

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: Hardy on July 28, 2009, 09:37:13 AM

Trivial fact: The concise OED has only six English words that begin with "lang".

Is one of these "langer"??
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 28, 2009, 10:02:10 AM

:D Sadly, no.  But I should mention that mine is about 30 years old.

Lang syne
Language
Languid
Languish
Languor
Langur (an Asian long-tailed monkey - maybe this is the one they've confused with "langer").

*hands in culchie badge*

Definitely langle.

I've heard it used in the past by women about a particularly horny (usually married) individual....

"Thon boy needs a langle on him".

If you farmers would stop abusing them sheep then they'd stop trying to run away...lol...perverts

Quote from: Hardy on July 28, 2009, 10:09:56 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 28, 2009, 10:02:10 AM

:D Sadly, no.  But I should mention that mine is about 30 years old.

Lang syne
Language
Languid
Languish
Languor
QuoteLangur (an Asian long-tailed monkey - maybe this is the one they've confused with "langer").

Nah; langur is the way it'd be said if you had a thick Cork accent. I think the clever chappies at the OED go tit right. No confusion. I just hope the langurs with the tails asren't upset by any comparisons.

Anyone see the ad at the top of this thread? Horny Goat Weed.... WTF is that??  :D