Mayo 1-13 Westmeath 0-8

Started by Barney, February 27, 2009, 08:16:27 AM

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on March 05, 2009, 02:15:28 PM
Is this game still all-ticket? They're some clowns in the County Board. As a Dublin exile, I'd make match day decisions on the morning, because it's a long damned spin down and back. Charlestown suits Dublin exiles above any other venue, because it's the nearest. But making the game all-ticket means that I have to ask myself why should I drive down to Mayo to see what is a relegation playoff with no assurance in the world that I can even get in to the game once I get to Charlestown? If the Board want to make a game all-ticket, they should choose one that people badly want to see. Shocking.  >:(

Iolar, furboot has a link to clubmayo a few posts back. If you are a member you get into all home league games free even if it's all-ticket.

Quote from: kevmy on March 06, 2009, 01:58:57 PM
According to mayogaablog this is the team to be printed on the programme for Sunday

MAYO (NFL Division 1 v Westmeath, 8/3/2009):  David Clarke; Liam O’Malley, Ger Cafferkey, Donal Vaughan; Peadar Gardiner, Tom Cunniffe, Andy Moran; Tom Parsons, Ronan McGarritty; Barry Kelly, Trevor Mortimer, Alan Dillon; Conor Mortimer, Austin O’Malley, Mark Ronaldson.

No Billy Joe but Cafferkey, Ronaldson, Dillon and Barry Kelly in along with Austie

Very interesting Kevmy. We can take it so that thirteen of that side will start for certain with Dillon and Cafferkey depending on injury. So JOM is going to give Andy Moran a run at wing-back. Tom Parsons survives after a dodgy start to the season but Billy Joe Padden doesn't (unless he replaces Dillon). Barry Kelly is ahead of Ciaran Conroy as the option for wing-forward/midfield behind Harte and that Mark Ronaldson has overtaken Mikey Sweeney (unless he's resting some of the Under 21's but Vaughan starts . . . ). Also Austie is ahead of Barry Regan (unless Regan is injured) as the second choice full-forward, all of which makes the availability of Barry Moran absolutely crucial.

Thanks for the offers of help Muppet and Croí - ya cheeky monkey ya - but I'm fine for ticket, really. I just find it a bit of a nonsense to say a game is all-ticket when it's clearly not. All they're doing is putting work on themselves. It's just messing.

I'll head to Charlestown earlyish to get my ticket. I hope they're not all gone when I get there!! Anyway, I think we should win this game. We simply have to and playing at home should help us and who knows it might get the players into a winning mode of thinking when they play Kerry the following week. It'll interesting to see Andy Moran as a half-back even though he played quite well there according to reports the last day against Donegal if that is where he ends up.

Just had finished a post and then the computer went haywire. A bit like Westmeath today - looked at times like they could do a job but then just fell flat on their faces. Nice win for Mayo, but two average teams playing in difficult conditions. It will be good to get back to Castlebar for the remaining league games. Good to that the score will help our "goal difference" at the end of the group.

So negative and positives for me - first on the plus side:

1. Very solid displays from David Clarke, Barry Kelly and Mark Ronaldson. Clarke had no saves to make but fielded a multitude of chances that were kicked into his hands. Kelly tired but has a physical presence that can add something to the team. Ronaldson has the skill and the brain but sadly his size will make him a starter from the bench come the Summer.

2. Tom Parsons finding a bit of form. He was never going to be dropped on his home patch. I hope this kick starts his year.

3. Trevor Mortimer is getting good game time - improving with every outing. Hard work is never in question. He is very direct and if he passes to somebody other than the brother he can be a good 40 yard man.

On the downside:

1. Alarming how much trouble we were in when Westmeath ran at us in the second half.

2. Ronan McGarrity is struggling - his handling is poor and was completely outfielded. Liam O'Malley is a disaster waiting to happen.

3. No real game plan - just fifteen fellas put out on the turf.

Kerry up next.

Westmeath look doomed. Donegal have failed to win two home games and must be in bother. I think one more win - Dublin and Galway games are realistically the ones we have to target - might save us.

On the plus side some good options still to become available that didn't start today - Howley, Keith Higgins, Aidan Higgins, Heaney, Harte, Dillon, Kilcoyne, Cafferkey and Barry Moran.

So with a bit of hard work on the training ground things might get better.

Agree with most of that Barney.

Kelly s strength and physicality useful but where to play him? Would have liked to have seen him play in midfield with Parsons in a more advanced role. We could have put up a really big score then which could be like an extra point in this division. What Donegal beat Westmeath by could decide whether we stay up or go down.

Think Trevor looks like he could be about to have his best year since 2004. I d like to see him on the wing though. Dont think his passing good enough for a playmaker.

Ronaldson is flying and should be in the team regardless of his height.

Kevin McLoughlin was as impressive as I expected him to be. His man lasted 15 minutes. His support play was exemplary and made a few good attacking runs also and could have nailed a point. Looks like he s been playing at this level all his life. Completely comfortable and aware. If he gets more opportunities and plays like that he ll be starting in the championship - somewhere. Interestingly he seems to play more in the forwards for the club while the county are pigeonholing him as a corner back. He s got the bits to play anywhere. Nice start for him today. They played 2 inside which allowed him to break out of defence at every opportunity from hb line. I was really happy with his display. Reminded me when Nallen started out as an unknown -to -most for U21s in 94. It s stuff like this that makes it all worthwhile for me at this stage . Apparently I and those who thought it worthwhile to go there are in the minority. 1,760 or so souls in attendance is a bit sad really. These kids deserve better, Whatever about the doom and gloom enveloping the team in the last few years, these kids are the present and future now. The days of Jimmy N, Mac, etc and maybe Heaney and Aiden H too are over although some things should nt have happened the way they did.

Dont know what to make of Andy at halfback. Made no attempt to be tight, concentrating instead on reading the game which he did well. Might be more suited to 6. Not convinced with our current 6. Grand going forward but does nt boss the middle at all.

Heard before the game that McGarrity was carrying an injury and it showed. Still did reasonably well and will be better later when he gets the heavy training out of his legs.

Whatever about the team taking shape the personnel are weeding themselves out. Cafferkey, Vaughan, Howley, McLoughlin, Keith Higgins, Gardiner, Moran and Cuniffe look like the front runners for the backs. Like you Barney I m getting a bit worried about O Malley( who would probably have been happier with a career in the half back line anyway- like all of the other front runners I ve listed - all natural half-backs) He was good in Ballina, looked vulnerable today, but might be better in a few months time??? A few of the old guard may return to give more options. Parsons and McGarrity look like they will be there in the Summer while the front 6 I d expect to be Dillon, Harte, Trevor, Conor, Barry Moran and Ronaldson.

Galway look the better bet even now. While we have lots of players with ability our backs as a whole lack size. We dont have the presence of Coyne, Blake, Hanley. They also have the go- to players in Joyce and Meehan. A fit Barry Moran is a must for us and someone at 11 that is composed on the ball and do the right thing. If we get a bit of shape about us and get the selection right we have the players to give the Connacht Championship a good chase anyway. I think management have a lot to work with.

Not sure what the game plan is but most of our good stuff came from lads running off the shoulder. If Moran is injured we re as well off to play 2 inside and run at teams as we dont have another targetman. Eventully A O Sé might give us an alternative. Again today the link between defence and attack broke down - especially when Kelly tired. Meanwhile we had 3 lads idyling on top of each other miles away from the rest with  Conor making the odd frustrated deep run.

Delighted with the result because it means one more win from the four remaining and we should be sound.

Couldn't make the game due to work commitments so good to see synopsis' from Barney and Moysider. I'm delighted Kevin McLoughlin was given a start because I think he's one of the best defensive prospects we have and can play comfortably in the corner or wing (whereas most other players we have put in the corner are natural wing-backs who are somewhat uncomfortable in the corner).

Great to hear Parsons kicking back into form, I was worried about his start to the season but his home ground seems to have brought the best out of him. Hopefully he can keep it going for the challenge of David Moran and Kerry.

I've said about Trevor that all he needs is games and the sharpness will come back. He can look like new born calf with his awkwardness first time out after an absence but he's able to come on considerably and is a huge asset for us. Barry Kelly too, great to hear he has put his hand up. Ronaldson is a class act. Anytime we've played Shrule he's been the harder player to mark than Conor. While Mort the younger might score more, Ronaldson never stops moving and in an intelligent way. Biggest problem is his size (obviously) and also his scoring range but there's a gap at fifteen and if we can have a target man at 14 like Barry Moran, then the likes of him and Conor could be tailor made for the corners. Wouldn't discount Sweeney yet either.

Kilcoyne came back from injury too. He's still a decent option off the bench but I fear this will be the height of it. Also nice to see the two O'Shea's play together for Mayo.

A good result but like Barney I'd still be fierce worried about Kerry below.

over all a very positive day for mayo in that nearly all the newer players looked really up for it . Vaughan ans mcloughlin were excellent in defence . both showing a real appetite for work. and cunniffe show great speed and awreness going forward . the only problem being his absence when West meath were tearing through the centre of defence in the second half. not sure having 3 attacking half backs is feasible in the long term.
Parsons was back to his best and Sweeney and Ronaldson both looked classy . the amount of high ball Sweeney won in the second half was funny with Oshea beside him not getting  sniff. indeed  oshea looks very far from the finished product and probably need 2 years or soon anf to lose about 2 stone.
B kelly looked good but plated as a slogging midfieder rather than as a forward and wil be interesting to see how he fairs when the weather improves.
The state of mayo football is very healthy it just about getting the balance and tactics right. we seem to have many very good all round footballers but too many forwards that dont like scoring and backs that dont like defending

Terry Tate

When was the last time there was two sets of brothers on the same team? Nallens and Morts or connelleys?

From today. Thought Barry Kelly got on alot of ball but didnt do a whole lot with it, so based on that there is no place for him on the team. Similar to Harte but not as good. Parsons looked good today which would make my previous post about him look way off the mark, but he wasnt great. WH were very bad so it ws easy for him to shine. Maybe he is getting better but I am not convinced. McLoughlin was good. Looked Natural, never seemed to be in any real trouble. I dont like the look of Cunnife. He just seems to be happy to play. You never hear him roaring at someone to take up position or organising things like you would expect. It reminds me of someone in school who keeps the head down incase they might be asked a question.

Thought Ronaldson was very good. Deserves to be starting. Very hard worker and knows where the posts are. Sweeney was ok but dont see him as a first 15 type player. I have to disagree with posters opinions on Andy. Thought he played well doing Cuniffes job for him. The only thing I would say about him is that there is no point in him continuning with the 45's. No use. Its normally a fluke when he scores.

Hope Ger is available for Kery because that is the sort of test he needs. After that sort of game you would have a good idea if he was a solution or another also ran.

Quote from: Terry Tate on March 09, 2009, 12:52:48 AM
When was the last time there was two sets of brothers on the same team? Nallens and Morts or connelleys?

I'd say Trevor and Conor Mortimer and Ger and David Brady would have been on the same fifteen at some stage in 2006. And quite possibly in 2007 too. Actually here we goes, with thanks to Willie Joe's great Results archive on mayogaablog.com the last time there was two sets was against Cavan in the 07 qualifiers when Ger Brady came on with David playing and Conor and Trevor also playing. Ger was only on for seven minutes though before DB was taken off!

All-Ireland Qualifiers
ROUND 1: Mayo 1-19 Cavan 3-7 (Castlebar, 7/7/2007). MAYO: D Clarke, A Higgins, L O'Malley, T Howley; P Gardiner, D Kilcullen, T Mortimor (0-1); D Brady, D Heaney (0-1); BJ Padden, P Hanley (0-2), A Dillon (0-5); C Mortimor (0-7), B Moran (1-0), A Moran (0-2). Subs: R McGarritty for Gardiner (26 mins), G Brady (0-1) for Padden (46 mins), J Nallen for D Brady, T Cunniffe for A Higgins (both 53 minutes).

Quote from: Terry Tate on March 09, 2009, 12:52:48 AM

I have to disagree with posters opinions on Andy.

Well the Bradys played recenty enough and what exactly do you disagree about with posters and Andy?

QuoteThought Barry Kelly got on alot of ball but didnt do a whole lot with it, so based on that there is no place for him on the team.

tis is the kind of vapid stuff i can't stand. i know id said he need to be kept an eye on but to write a guy off on the basis of one game? and his first real full game at that beggars belief . do you really expect all players to come out of a factory some where fully formed with nothing to learn?
Kelly could well be part of the overall balance with some of our lighter more aesthetically pleasing players and is definitely worth persevering with . he looks a real workhorse and a the longer he spends with the senior panel the more he will improve. Seamus Oshea  like wise long term he could make a very good foil for parsons .
Based on your logic wed never have seen a second game from James nallen tj kilgallon JAmes horan and countless others.

Well if yesterday confirmed anything it's that we have one of the smallest panels in the country. When we lose bodies, and there was 7 missing yesterday, we've a very light pick. A lot to be asking the young lads to win away games in Division 1 in their first year at senior, especially to seasoned campaigners at this level like Mayo and Derry. Still I thought Kilcloyne did ok in the middle for his first start and looks a good prospect for the future. The fact Duffy was obviously carrying an injury didn't help, need to get him right for the championship this year. Best Westmeath man on view was Doran Harte, the man is a tiger, may not be the most stylish footballer but there's not a dirty ball he won't dive on and he's exactly the type of player Westmeath have been missing down through the years. Natchie is coming back into last years form, may numerous forays forward and didn't get half the ball he should have. Which probably summarises our problems at the moment, the ball into the full forward line, poor is not the word. Defence didn't do too badly overall, didn't get too much protection from out the field and the woeful whistling certainly didn't help our cause. Big shout out to the Mayo Co Board, thanks for not dragging us halfway across Mayo to watch that and Charlestown was probably the ideal venue to hold a game like yesterdays anyway...

Home to a wounded Tyrone next (shudder) and away then to the Kingdom (Christ Almighty). All we can ask is for the lads to put in good performances, keep the score down and not rush anyone back before they're ready. Need to win the Donegal and/or Dublin game to build for the Championship and to settle the team, hopefully we can turn it around in the summer...

kevmy

Was at the match myself and I'd agree in general with most of the comments.

Ronaldson played really well and was involved most of our best moves.

Trevor and Parsons getting back towards form which is good.

McLoughlin impressed and should get more of a chance in the corner. Vaughan again did alright no big mistakes but still not 100% sure about him.

Cunniffe did ok but as mentioned when Glennon came out the field in the 2nd half and ran at him he was in trouble. I'm still of the opinion that Cunniffe is only holding that spot till Howley returns. I just hope he comes back soon.

McGarrity didn't have his best game but he'll hold on to his spot when both him and Parsons are on form they are a good team.

Austie again the same old failings. If he could hold onto half the ball in gets in position to win he'd be a fine player.

Overall we seemed tighter at the back and a bit better going forward but the quality of opposition was mediocre at best. Also would like to see both Cafferkey and Moran back sooner rather than later as they both need games to get better. Hope we can get another win against either Dublin or Tyrone at home.