Started by ONeill, February 17, 2009, 10:27:30 PM

Quote from: SidelineKick on February 18, 2009, 11:44:01 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 18, 2009, 11:25:07 AM
Quote from: screenexile on February 18, 2009, 12:36:54 AM
Played against Brolly and there wre no dak ats with him. He's be having a chat with you about University and life in Belfast next thing BANG he'd a point scored before you could tell him what course you were doing.

Ger Reid
Paul Donnelly
Pascal Canavan
Keith Barr
Johnny McGurk
Ciaran McKeever

what kind of football was being taught in your club
We were told NEVER to talk to your opponent, never even acknowledge him once the optional handshake at the start of the match was completed (while shaking the hand, never look at the oponent).
Cant believe you were f**king chatting to brolly (or any player) during a game !
:o

Kildare- Pat flynn/Johnny mcdonald
Kildare/cork - tomkins
Cork - cathalane
Meath - John McEnroe (or was it his brother leo)
Dublin - Paul curran (Fantastic player but unbelieveably dirty - a bit like canavan)
tyrone - I havent got all day to name them...
Shame on you LB, you should always shake hands before a match.
if they offered their hand I'd shake it (but not look at them).
if they didnt , i wouldnt. Whats so bad about that ?

SidelineKick

Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 18, 2009, 12:09:46 PM
Played against Brolly and there wre no dak ats with him. He's be having a chat with you about University and life in Belfast next thing BANG he'd a point scored before you could tell him what course you were doing.

Ger Reid
Paul Donnelly
Pascal Canavan
Keith Barr
Johnny McGurk
Ciaran McKeever

We were told NEVER to talk to your opponent, never even acknowledge him once the optional handshake at the start of the match was completed (while shaking the hand, never look at the oponent).
Cant believe you were f**king chatting to brolly (or any player) during a game !

Kildare/cork - tomkins
Cork - cathalane
Dublin - Paul curran (Fantastic player but unbelieveably dirty - a bit like canavan)

Can't remember which thread but this was discussed before.  This is part of the game. You shake hands with your man showing mutual respect, then its game on. I normally find both players gesture at more or less the same time to shake hands, but if someone took up their position and didn't bother to even shape at it I'd think they were a p***k. Not that I'm sure they'd be bothered.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

mattockranger

Ger Reid
Paul Donnelly
Pascal Canavan
Keith Barr
Johnny McGurk
Ciaran McKeever

Kildare/cork - tomkins
Cork - cathalane

have todisagree there....never seen him pull a dirty stroke watsoever!?
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

Quote from: mattockranger on February 18, 2009, 12:32:49 PM

Ger Reid
Paul Donnelly
Pascal Canavan
Keith Barr
Johnny McGurk
Ciaran McKeever

Kildare/cork - tomkins
Cork - cathalane

thats the common misconception, fantastic player, but couldnt help himself at times.
If you dont rem, ask Finbarr cullen about his broken teeth
curran well known in Dublin club scene for being a tad dirty than his skill should have stopped him needing to be , as he was a hardier hoor than he looked.

Quote from: SidelineKick on February 18, 2009, 12:27:24 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 18, 2009, 12:09:46 PM

Ger Reid
Paul Donnelly
Pascal Canavan
Keith Barr
Johnny McGurk
Ciaran McKeever

Kildare/cork - tomkins
Cork - cathalane

Can't remember which thread but this was discussed before.  This is part of the game. You shake hands with your man showing mutual respect, then its game on. I normally find both players gesture at more or less the same time to shake hands, but if someone took up their position and didn't bother to even shape at it I'd think they were a p***k. Not that I'm sure they'd be bothered.
I dont see it as part of any game, shake hands after alright but before?
anyhw , its not always offered and I did say I wouldnt refuse it. Just not look at the guy.
Plenty of fellas out there would shake your hand then kick you in the head/punch you from behind all game long afterwards. Whats worse ?

SidelineKick

It's obvious which is worse, but by the same token I wouldn't "go easy" on my man simply because I shook his hand.  I think it shows a bit of mutual respect. You wouldn't shake if he didn't offer, does that mean you never offer?

Quote from: SidelineKick on February 18, 2009, 01:03:49 PM
It's obvious which is worse, but by the same token I wouldn't "go easy" on my man simply because I shook his hand.  I think it shows a bit of mutual respect. You wouldn't shake if he didn't offer, does that mean you never offer?
correct I wouldnt (ya never where his hands were last or if he washed them properly !  ;) )
also wouldnt throw the first dirty dig either. Irrespective its not often I wouldnt or didnt shake hands at the end of a game.
Which is when its supposed to be done, not before imo.

SidelineKick

Fair enough! Literally can't remember the last time myself and my man haven't shook hands before the game. I always make a point of shaking hands after with as many as possible (without it looking like you're trying to make friends with the entire team) Thats win, lose or draw.  Would shake hands too if (when) I'm being substituted.

GrandMasterFlash

All of the 1985 Monaghan team...  ::)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 18, 2009, 12:49:15 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on February 18, 2009, 12:32:49 PM

Ger Reid
Paul Donnelly
Pascal Canavan
Keith Barr
Johnny McGurk
Ciaran McKeever

Kildare/cork - tomkins
Cork - cathalane

If you dont rem, ask Finbarr cullen about his broken teeth

Same game incidently as Mickey Whelan's last game in charge of Dublin in his first incarnation.

Quote from: SidelineKick on February 18, 2009, 01:39:07 PM
Fair enough! Literally can't remember the last time myself and my man haven't shook hands before the game. I always make a point of shaking hands after with as many as possible (without it looking like you're trying to make friends with the entire team) Thats win, lose or draw.  Would shake hands too if (when) I'm being substituted.

Why, to congratulate your marker on getting the better of you?

SidelineKick

Yes to congratulate him on getting the better of me  ::)

Same f**king thing as shaking hands after the game only if you're on the bench chances are he'll head off the field and you aren't going to run after him.  So before I go off (whether it be playing shit, last min of the game, giving someone else a run out or injury), I still would shake his hand. So f**king think before you post.  There are more reasons for being taken off than your man getting the better off you. Use your head.

Wind your neck in!!!

I think if a man gets taken off (particularly if he's playing badly) it looks silly to shake hands at that point because the game hasn't finished. Wasn't trying to wind you up, just the way I see it.

SidelineKick

Quote from: thebandit on February 18, 2009, 03:18:54 PM
Wind your neck in!!!

I think if a man gets taken off (particularly if he's playing badly) it looks silly to shake hands at that point because the game hasn't finished. Wasn't trying to wind you up, just the way I see it.

Sorry there bandit, an awful bad mood came over me, I even typed curse words  :-\

Its everybodys preference, I see many people that do it and many that don't.  If he was acting the complete bollix throughout the game it would be a different story, however if it was a good tussle then I don't see the harm in a hand shake.

I've wound my neck in  :-[